We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
TonyKins1963
Johannesburg, South Africa

Great value for money and an amazing location!!

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 15 Jan 2020
Wonderful location right on the beach at Ponta do Ouro. Great service from all the staff who were extremely friendly and attentive. The house had amazing views over the sea and we enjoyed evening drinks on the terrace.
Date of stay: January 2020
Room Tip: The electricity supply in the region was a little erratic once or twice, so remember to pack a...
Trip type: Travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
view from the restaurant
R 1 079
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 079
  • Lol.travel
1.1 km from Paraiso do Ouro Resort Budget Accommodation
Free parking
Pool
R 1 202
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 202
1.6 km from Paraiso do Ouro Resort Budget Accommodation
Free parking
Pool
  • Priceline
0.5 km from Paraiso do Ouro Resort Budget Accommodation
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
  • Vio.com
1.1 km from Paraiso do Ouro Resort Budget Accommodation
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
0.2 km from Paraiso do Ouro Resort Budget Accommodation
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Vio.com
  • Expedia.com
0.7 km from Paraiso do Ouro Resort Budget Accommodation
Free Wifi
Free parking
    1.5 km from Paraiso do Ouro Resort Budget Accommodation
    Free parking
    Pool
    Get rewarded with One Key
    • Expedia.com
      R 1 370
    0.6 km from Paraiso do Ouro Resort Budget Accommodation
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    Brand new swimming pool
    Get rewarded with One Key
    • ZenHotels.com
    2.1 km from Paraiso do Ouro Resort Budget Accommodation
    Free parking
    Beachfront
    View more hotels in Ponta do Ouro
    Reviews (192)
    Filter reviews
    192 results
    Traveller rating
    68
    44
    16
    18
    46
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    Traveller rating
    68
    44
    16
    18
    46
    See what travellers are saying:
    Selected filters
    Filter
    Updating list...
    11 - 16 of 192 reviews
    Reviewed 10 January 2020 via mobile

    Filthy, cockroach infested, place falling apart, no dvd player in the room, toilets blocked, manager useless, air con not working, toilets don’t function, breakfast horrendous, wifi sucked, overpriced, no value for money, braai areas not maintained, rooms not cleaned, water smells like blood, 1 pool was literally brown in colour, Has to be the worst holiday experience ever!!!

    Date of stay: January 2020
    Trip type: Travelled with friends
    1  Thank Yasmintilly22
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Paraiso Do Ouro M, Manager at Paraiso do Ouro Resort Budget Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2020

    All I can say is we are really sorry that you did not enjoy your stay like the other 10000 people that visited our Resort last year!! Please next time please book a 5 star resort and pay R 3000 per person per night - not one of the things you have mentioned is true!! Please see below an email from a person the same time!!

    Hi Diane
    We enjoyed our stay immensely last year and would like to know if we can book again for the March school holidays. It will be from 21 March till 29 March 2020. One of the highlights was the lovely breakfast in the mornings.
    Thank you.
    Lucas van der Schyff
    0845004165


    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 22 December 2019

    Shocker of note . Cockroach infested. Really disappointed as the location to the beach and town is great. Breakfast was good no complaints there . Would not recommend more than 1 night and only if desperate. We managed to make two nights .

    Date of stay: December 2019
    Trip type: Travelled with family
    1  Thank Friittelli
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Paraiso Do Ouro M, Manager at Paraiso do Ouro Resort Budget Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2020

    We have a fumigation Program that we follow - and we are really sorry that you had to see some dead Cockroaches when the Cleaners clean the units. Regards

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 10 December 2019

    the place is amazing,perfect place to rest and restart your life! a very nice accommodation in ponta do ouro the attendance is perfect and the oversea view is perfect! its a must go place that I highly recommend.

    Date of stay: February 2019
    11  Thank angelog479
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 27 November 2019

    There is nothing nice to say about this place or the management it is a disgrace falling apart dirty and probably the worst place i have ever stayed in
    The managment is non existent and avoid any contact when they do venture out their house
    Anything they have to say has to be doubted and any compliments on the place are doubtful to say the least. I am happy to supply proof and photos of this disgusting place

    Room tip: Don't go there
    Date of stay: November 2019
      • Service
    1  Thank MichaelB13530
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Paraiso Do Ouro M, Manager at Paraiso do Ouro Resort Budget Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2020

    All I can say is we are really sorry that you did not enjoy your stay like the other 10000 people that visited our Resort last year!! Please next time please book a 5 star resort and pay R 3000 per person per night - not one of the things you have mentioned is true!! Please see below an email from a person the same time!!

    Hi Diane
    We enjoyed our stay immensely last year and would like to know if we can book again for the March school holidays. It will be from 21 March till 29 March 2020. One of the highlights was the lovely breakfast in the mornings.
    Thank you.
    Lucas van der Schyff
    0845004165

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 27 June 2019

    Room negatives:
    -curtain hook was broken but we made a plan to close the curtain by folding it on the rail.
    -reception did not give the aircon remote had to go back to ask for one.
    -shower door took some effort to open an close, the wheels were broken off the rail.
    -tap was leaking had to turn it tight to stop the dripping.
    -the mattress plastic cover was not removed so u slept with plastic under ur sheets
    -our bottom neighbors were loud an they were many ,we made louder sounds than them to get them to quiet down.
    -our room was on the second floor on the corner by the restaurant, the loud music travels into the room if there is a party and the kids were switching on the jumping castle at 7am an u could hear the loud motor in the room
    -We requested an extra blanket twice as it can be cold in June at night, this was never provided, we settled for using the single blankets on the bunk beds.
    Room positives:
    -We were right opposite the restaurant on the corner, we basically had the perfect balcony view to the ocean.
    -the balcony made good pics at sunset.
    -we could catch the restaurant wifi from the room.
    -the shower pressure is lovely
    -you can change the shower head settings
    -the aircon does really help during the day
    Food negatives:
    -We ordered the full chicken it was lovely, the next day we ordered the same an got boiled chicken that was put on the grill after, the whole presentation an taste of the chicken was different, that was disappointing that the food is not always the same in certain cases.
    Food positives:
    -French breakfast is a winner.
    -The peri peri they serve is very tasty.
    -The breakfast bake beans is lovely, wish they gave more though.

    Would I stay there again, probably not but you are right on the beach, the view is lovely. I'm sure you get better value by staying in the houses if u a big group or can afford it. I enjoyed my stay the place served its purpose to fill my stomach an allow rest at night. Ponta is a beautiful place an u should spend more of ur time enjoying the beach and activities and use the resort only for sleeping.

    Date of stay: June 2019
    • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Service
    3  Thank 473adinj
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    View more reviews