We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
vascocelos virg... h

Holiday relax

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 08 May 2015via mobile
Great, i joined a very excellent weekend,that i never had before, thanks in special the restaurant staff for having looked after me very well, and i hope to see you soon, also thanks for the management of paraiso do Ouro resort for the excellent service i had in general
Date of stay: May 2015
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
JohanvJ, Owner at Paraiso do Ouro Resort Budget Accommodation, responded to this review
Responded 07 May 2016
Thank you so much for your kind review - We really try our best for every Guest and can not wait to host you again for a holiday with us - Regards Johan
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
view from the restaurant
R 566
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    R 566
  • Agoda.com
1.1 km from Paraiso do Ouro Resort Budget Accommodation
Free parking
Pool
R 1 351
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • eDreams
1.6 km from Paraiso do Ouro Resort Budget Accommodation
Free parking
Pool
  • Priceline
0.5 km from Paraiso do Ouro Resort Budget Accommodation
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
  • Vio.com
1.1 km from Paraiso do Ouro Resort Budget Accommodation
Cafe Del Mar Ponta do Ouro
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Expedia.com
0.4 km from Paraiso do Ouro Resort Budget Accommodation
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 258
  • Agoda.com
0.6 km from Paraiso do Ouro Resort Budget Accommodation
Free Wifi
Free parking
    1.5 km from Paraiso do Ouro Resort Budget Accommodation
    Free parking
    Pool
    Brand new swimming pool
    Get rewarded with One Key
    • Expedia.com
      R 828
    • ZenHotels.com
    2.1 km from Paraiso do Ouro Resort Budget Accommodation
    Free parking
    Beachfront
    your room at Nkanhe
    Get rewarded with One Key
    • eDreams
    • Expedia.com
      R 1 268
    • Vio.com
    0.9 km from Paraiso do Ouro Resort Budget Accommodation
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    View more hotels in Ponta do Ouro
    Reviews (192)
    Filter reviews
    192 results
    Traveller rating
    68
    44
    16
    18
    46
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    Traveller rating
    68
    44
    16
    18
    46
    See what travellers are saying:
    Selected filters
    Filter
    Updating list...
    175 - 180 of 192 reviews
    Reviewed 7 May 2015

    Having stayed at Ponta for the past 5 years always at the Resort Mare E sol,,,,this was my first visit to Paraiso and definateley my LAST!!!!!

    We arrived for the weekend and what was promised by the owners via telephone soon vanished.....you are ALLOWED at the border to take in 1 bottle spirit per person. So there we were +- 24 people with all this alcohol for our party but we were not allowed to have it on the deck for our big birthday bash. IF THE OWNERS TOLD US NOT TO BRING ALCOHOL AS IT WAS NOT ALLOWED ON THEIR DECK WE WOULD NOT HAVE BROUGHT IT TO PARAISO..... although we we were assured by the owners of Paraiso that we could take the bottles onto the Deck via telephone just so they could get our booking.

    We probably spent R4500 rands on alcohol the first night and R8000 on supper the next night.....terrible food and the prawns were like shrimps.

    Please eat elswhere like Coco Rico etc.

    The rooms were smelling of dampness as the shower water leaks onto the carpets, the resort structure is unstable and the rooms are panelled with cheap board ....you can hear your neighbours snoring.

    Toilets are disgusting with water from the gutters...the color of the water is always brown. The toilet paper goes to shreds when you use it.

    NOT RECOMMENDED.

    SEE PICS FOR PROOF OF BROKEN CUPBOARDS, TOILET PAPER AND WATER (I flushed so you can see the colour of the water - read all the other travellers reviews on the water as well)

    PLEASE READ ALL THE OTHER REVIEWS TO MAKE UP YOUR MIND.

    Date of stay: May 2015
    • Trip type: Travelled with family
      • Value
      • Rooms
      • Service
    6  Thank nevillenaidoo
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Paraiso Do Ouro M, Manager at Paraiso do Ouro Resort Budget Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2015

    Thank-you for your review. I would firstly like to mention that PARAISO DO OURO RESORT DOES NOT ALLOW ANY OWN ALCOHOL ON THE PREMISES as we have a fully stocked Bar & Cocktail Bar as part of the services of the Resort. WINES not stocked; a corkage fee of R30 is levied per bottle (as discussed telephonically) and this was not settled. We had to Clean up some of the Rooms as there were alcohol stains on the carpets left by your group, which was not disclosed to us. The water in Ponta (Borehole) has a high concentration of IRON (FE) and this gives it the brown colour. The locals have no problem drinking this water, though we don't recommend our guests to do so. It is perfectly safe to shower with and we have bottled water in stock in the Bar/ Restaurant area. As do all other Resorts in Ponta. All our rooms are equipped with a 3 door cupboard and as per your photo I do not see any breakages, nor did you report this to our Reception. Warm Regards

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 4 May 2015

    This was my first trip to Ponta. It was a family vacay for 27 people for my dads 60th birthday. Over the phone and via mail Johan promises the world. However when time to deliver his attitude and arogancy is disgusting. We booked 12 rooms and expected to have good service with this money made off us.

    We discussed that I could bring alcohol and pay a corkage as we are a big group however the day we arrived he refused and stated was not true. The very next day people arrive of his race and drunk their own drinks on his property.

    The room size was average however the maintenance of them is disgusting an unhygienic should he have his hotel on SA he would of been fined. Rooms are not cleaned properly, carpets are not vacuumed, not all rooms have mosquito nets like promised and most of all hot water was a very big issue. One of the rooms had a damp smell but yet not resolved. The hotel is built cheaply and not maintained at all. The water comes out brown from the taps and shower which is due to their poor drainage and structure. Some rooms lights went off through out the night and only came on in the morning. We were told we could hire bath towels, every time we went to get towels they never had towels. Surely if you a hotel with 55 suites there should be enough towels for your guests. Bathrooms have no window or extractor fan which is very unhygienic.

    Johan is a very rude man and does not know how to be hospitable. We had my dads birthday party on his premises, the decor was done smart however the food ordered was awful. The queen prawns were super tiny you could barely peel them. We refused to support them and ate most nights at coco Rico which was amazing- their queen prawns was queen prawns. They hosted us well and did not rip us off.
    Upon visiting other places and asking about accomodation places we were informed timeously never to book at This place again and that they rip off people and are too greedy. We most definitely won't be going back to Paraiso but will be going to Ponta and staying with the resorts we have received excellent hospitability from.

    Johan needs to realize nothing was done for free we paid to stay their and we paid for the food. The hotel is on an excellent piece of land but the arrogance and greed for money is not going to grow your business. It was a great disappointment for the price we paid and what we received, however we have learnt and I recommend Coco Ricco or the beach house chalets on the beach will be a much better option.

    Breakfast is included however is done poorly and the wait is for hours. Better of eating elsewhere.

    The entire family has a very bad perception of Paraiso and Johan more so due to his attitude, paraiso should not be anyone's option to stay at.

    Room tip: Sea views but room may smell due to poor cleansiness
    Date of stay: May 2015
    • Trip type: Travelled solo
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Service
    5  Thank tenesha2015
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Paraiso Do Ouro M, Owner at Paraiso do Ouro Resort Budget Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2015

    Dear Tenesha. I take great offense to your defamatory and racist remarks. We were fully booked (56 Suites) or the same period and the only complaint we received was from your group. The greatest issue that you/your group had was the fact that you were not allowed to bring your own alcohol. Even though you may purchase bountiful amounts of alcohol in SA, it doesn’t permit you to take it to your local Restaurant and consume it. I would like to remind you that there is no mention of the fact that we provided you with the Venue (free of charge), we kept your personal purchase of prawns in our frigdes (free of charge – though we do charge to clean them – this you were not happy with), I personally set up all your decorations (free of charge) we provided you with 3 bottles of champagne (free of charge), we gave you complimentary gifts (free of charge), we had to do a huge clean-up due to all the party poppers you set off (free of charge). The waitress for the evening received a R30 tip from your group. Our rooms are standard with a double bed as well as a bunk-bed, though we went over and above changing the configuration of the Rooms to better suite your group. We had to recolate guests who complained to us regarding the noise and partying late at night by your group. We do have towels for hire @R150.00 fully refundable deposit, this due to the fact that towels go missing. We have 400 towels in stock. We do inform all our guests that they need to leave their keys at reception so that we can clean your rooms as we don’t keep spare keys – this is for the safety of your belongings. A major clean-up had to be made after your group departed...the damp smell was from someone who had left a sopping wet towel on the carpet and bedding. This to say that in all honesty the major issue was the alcohol as well as the Prawns (that we did not clean them for you free of charge). We will definitely continue to strive to provide a service to our guests and as with your group, we extend our services above and beyond. Warm Regards

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 26 March 2015

    the owner / manager was helpful over email and phone and one of the most polite, however, the place doesn't cater well for solo traveller, especially those who travel by public means.

    The pizza place inside serves really good pizza and the place directly by the beach is one of the top selling points. Not much to say other than that. A bit overprice for what is offered.

    Date of stay: March 2015
    Trip type: Travelled solo
    2  Thank Felisita
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    JohanvJ, Owner at Paraiso do Ouro Resort Budget Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2016

    Thank you for your review - I have recently taken over the Resort and assure you that major changes have been done to It. All rooms bathrooms have been tiled - New 20 year guarantee mattresses have been bought for all the rooms and is fitted. New Management have been employed - New Air-conditioners have been bought and fitted to replace the old ones. Swimming Pool have been built - New parking Area is currently been constructed and Lawn have been order for the Resort and will be delivered within the next 4 Weeks. We assure you that lots of effort went it to Resort and we know that even though the Resort's Accommodation is Basic it offers you now: Non- Self Catering, Air-Conditioned, with Mosquitoes Nets, 60l Fridge, Own Bath Room, 6 Channel Fixed Satellite TV. All Menu's have been redone. Safe and Clean Accommodation right on the Beach with new hands on Management. We will welcome you coming to stay now with us and experience the difference!! RIGHT ON THE BEACH FRONT!!

    Regards Johan

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 11 February 2015

    Paraiso Do Oura is ideally located right on the beach with awesome views of the ocean from the rooms and deck. The bar is pretty awesome with lots of activities and the rooms are air-conditioned... BUT that's about where the awesome ends.

    One of my biggest issues with this place is that there is no way to get to your room without getting sand on your feet - this has a rustic charm which wears away very quickly. Rooms are only serviced when you arrive so if you stay for 5 nights like we did, your room gets covered in sand no matter how hard you try to keep it out.

    The ensuite bathroom has no windows, the water is brown (not suitable for drinking) and every now and then you get a smell from the drains. The building sways when the wind blows and you hear every single footstep made on the second floor. They definitely have a lot of general maintenance to do.

    The food at the pizza bar is nice but ridiculously expensive. The included breakfast is nice but in general, the service isn't great.

    It really is such a shame as the place has potential. The truth is, unless Mozambique was fully booked out, I wouldn't stay here again.

    Room tip: Rooms on the end of the building have better views and experience less traffic and are quieter because of it.
    Date of stay: December 2014
    • Trip type: Travelled with friends
      • Value
      • Location
      • Service
    6  Thank Gareth F
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    JohanvJ, Owner at Paraiso do Ouro Resort Budget Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2016

    Thank you for your review - I have recently taken over the Resort and assure you that major changes have been done to It. All rooms bathrooms have been tiled - New 20 year guarantee mattresses have been bought for all the rooms and is fitted. New Management have been employed - New Air-conditioners have been bought and fitted to replace the old ones. Swimming Pool have been built - New parking Area is currently been constructed and Lawn have been order for the Resort and will be delivered within the next 4 Weeks. We assure you that lots of effort went it to Resort and we know that even though the Resort's Accommodation is Basic it offers you now: Non- Self Catering, Air-Conditioned, with Mosquitoes Nets, 60l Fridge, Own Bath Room, 6 Channel Fixed Satellite TV. All Menu's have been redone. Safe and Clean Accommodation right on the Beach with new hands on Management. We will welcome you coming to stay now with us and experience the difference!! RIGHT ON THE BEACH FRONT!!

    Regards Johan

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 3 February 2015

    I was not impressed with this resort. We stayed for 3 nights and firstly I did not feel safe in this building. I am no engineer or builder but it did not feel very sturdy. Also, If there were to be a fire breaking out, I'm not sure that everyone would be able to get out alive as I could not see enough suitable fire escapes for quick exit and the whole building is wood so it would quickly go up in flames. The drains stank so badly that we had to leave the plug in the sink and block the shower drain when it wasn't being used as the smell of sewerage was unbearable. I did not feel that this was a value for money stay at all. The food was also expensive. Service was ok. On the positive side, there was aircon in the room and the setting was very good.
    I would not stay here again.

    Date of stay: December 2014
    • Trip type: Travelled with friends
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Service
    6  Thank Jeanne F
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    JohanvJ, Owner at Paraiso do Ouro Resort Budget Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2016

    Thank you for your review - I have recently taken over the Resort and assure you that major changes have been done to It. All rooms bathrooms have been tiled - New 20 year guarantee mattresses have been bought for all the rooms and is fitted. New Management have been employed - New Air-conditioners have been bought and fitted to replace the old ones. Swimming Pool have been built - New parking Area is currently been constructed and Lawn have been order for the Resort and will be delivered within the next 4 Weeks. We assure you that lots of effort went it to Resort and we know that even though the Resort's Accommodation is Basic it offers you now: Non- Self Catering, Air-Conditioned, with Mosquitoes Nets, 60l Fridge, Own Bath Room, 6 Channel Fixed Satellite TV. All Menu's have been redone. Safe and Clean Accommodation right on the Beach with new hands on Management. We will welcome you coming to stay now with us and experience the difference!! RIGHT ON THE BEACH FRONT!!

    Regards Johan

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    View more reviews