We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Yogeshn
Durban, South Africa

Great .. .. .. But

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 11 Jan 2015
This was my first visit to Ponta do Oura and thus the entire experience was new to me. This is by no means a bad review, but I do feel I need to provide some information for the first-timers [like I was] so that people have a realistic view.
Arrival:
Kosi Border was not a major issue and we were done in under 30 min. The drive to the city and resort was only complete loose sand and thus a 4x4 is a must - don't let anyone tell you otherwise. The roads are unmarked, you just drive right from the border and all road options lead to Ponta. Check-in was effortless, just make sure you have enough cash for the key and towel deposits [the resort does not offer towels in the rooms, it needs to be picked up when you check-in for which you pay R150 each]. Ask for as many as you want as they do not get changed over the stay.
Rooms:
I would describe them as basic. Our room had a double bed with bunk beds to the one side. There are cupboards in the rooms with a fridge and kettle. There is enough space though and a mosquito net that separates the 'living area' and the bed. The bathroom has just a shower. Do note that there is no window in the bathroom and that the door of the bathroom does not completely close - thus if you're sharing this might be an issue. Due to you being at the beach and that there is carpet in the room there always feels like there is sand on the floor. Even though the rooms are basic, I have never had such a good sleep in while! I do suggest a room on the top floor.
Resort:
The food was good while we were there. There is a braai area, so if you want to have your own braai its possible. The deck is quite nice with some loungers and picnic type wooden benches set up. Its completely covered which is nice especially when it gets windy.
Overall:
It was a good trip. It seems like Paraiso is one of the better places to stay in this remote town plus its right on the beach, just be prepared for basic.
Date of stay: January 2015
Trip type: Travelled with friends
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
JohanvJ, Owner at Paraiso do Ouro Resort Budget Accommodation, responded to this review
Responded 07 May 2016
Thank you so much for your kind review - We really try our best for every Guest and can not wait to host you again for a holiday with us - Regards Johan
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
R 1 736
R 1 229
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 238
  • Hotels.com
    R 1 237
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 1 736
0.4 km from Paraiso do Ouro Resort Budget Accommodation
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 1 148
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
0.2 km from Paraiso do Ouro Resort Budget Accommodation
R 1 918
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
0.5 km from Paraiso do Ouro Resort Budget Accommodation
R 1 540
R 1 208
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
    R 1 540
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 208
1.6 km from Paraiso do Ouro Resort Budget Accommodation
Free parking
Pool
view from the restaurant
R 640
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    R 640
  • Lol.travel
1.1 km from Paraiso do Ouro Resort Budget Accommodation
Free parking
Pool
R 1 303
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    R 1 303
  • Vio.com
    R 1 301
1.1 km from Paraiso do Ouro Resort Budget Accommodation
R 2 473
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    R 2 473
0.9 km from Paraiso do Ouro Resort Budget Accommodation
Brand new swimming pool
R 920
Fully refundable
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
    R 920
  • ZenHotels.com
2.1 km from Paraiso do Ouro Resort Budget Accommodation
Free parking
Beachfront
R 1 700
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    R 1 700
  • Vio.com
    R 1 703
  • eDreams
    R 1 700
0.6 km from Paraiso do Ouro Resort Budget Accommodation
Free Wifi
Beachfront
  • Agoda.com
    R 476
  • Priceline
0.6 km from Paraiso do Ouro Resort Budget Accommodation
View more hotels in Ponta do Ouro
Reviews (192)
Filter reviews
192 results
Traveller rating
68
44
16
18
46
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
68
44
16
18
46
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
182 - 187 of 192 reviews
Reviewed 11 January 2015

Unlike other reviewers, very disappointed with Paraiso.

At the outset, I will say that it does cater very well for a section of the travelling public. So, if you are on a very tight budget, enjoy '80's music played at high volume from morning till night (or even on one occasion, competing music blaring from a bakkie all evening whilst some guests took advantage of the braai area), paper thin walls, shoddy rooms (see pictures), rudimentary plumbing and loud quad bikes being driven around all evening - this is the place for you!

The website boasts ocean views from all rooms - technically correct unless you happen to be in corner rooms in which case, only by standing at the door and straining to see over the bar area. And before any criticism arrives, yes - I have stayed in a number of other places in Ponta and the surrounding area and have even made allowance for 'Africa'. In the end, I checked out early to find some RnR of the non-alcoholic kind.

On the positive side, the staff were very helpful and always smiling - even when faced with infrastructure problems not of their own making.

In summary, for a particular clientele, this will suit well - just don't be taken in by everything the website promises.

Room tip: Second floor directly facing the ocean are probably better than most
Date of stay: January 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DTCambridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
JohanvJ, Owner at Paraiso do Ouro Resort Budget Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2016

Thank you for your review - I have recently taken over the Resort and assure you that major changes have been done to It. All rooms bathrooms have been tiled - New 20 year guarantee mattresses have been bought for all the rooms and is fitted. New Management have been employed - New Air-conditioners have been bought and fitted to replace the old ones. Swimming Pool have been built - New parking Area is currently been constructed and Lawn have been order for the Resort and will be delivered within the next 4 Weeks. We assure you that lots of effort went it to Resort and we know that even though the Resort's Accommodation is Basic it offers you now: Non- Self Catering, Air-Conditioned, with Mosquitoes Nets, 60l Fridge, Own Bath Room, 6 Channel Fixed Satellite TV. All Menu's have been redone. Safe and Clean Accommodation right on the Beach with new hands on Management. We will welcome you coming to stay now with us and experience the difference!! RIGHT ON THE BEACH FRONT!!

Regards Johan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2015

We left for Paraiso do Ouro the week before Christmas. The wait at border post took about 30 minutes getting in which wasn't too bad. The roads are easier than expected and we were very pleased with our Honda CRV. The beaches at Paraiso do Ouro are stunning, blue turquoise water and pristine white sands. The beach is huge and we could always find a quiet spot. The water temperature is around 25 degrees, perfect swimming temperature. The accommodation at Paraiso is a little rustic which is to be expected. The room is not very large but adequate. You have to request your room to be cleaned which is a little different. Apart from that the breakfasts were good if a little boring. Did not eat there very often as there are so many other interesting restaurants around. Coco Rico next door has an amazing prawn special. We took a drive to the 360 degree restaurant which has lovely views. The R&Rs served everywhere are great, try Fernando's Bar for a different experience. On return to SA we were stuck for 2 hours on the SA side of the border post. There were only 2 people working and they lumped the returning people with the people going out so the queues were huge. That was the only downside of our awesome holiday. Will definitely be going back.

Room tip: Try a high level room at the end of the passage.
Date of stay: December 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Gillian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
JohanvJ, Owner at Paraiso do Ouro Resort Budget Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2016

Thank you so much for your kind review - We really try our best for every Guest and can not wait to host you again for a holiday with us - Regards Johan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2014

My sister and myself did a road trip to Mozambique. We were treated by blue seas and RnR's .... Gas is one of the owners and will go out of his way to make your stay as memorable as humanly possible!
Great value for money! Service is slow and I have seen reviews on toilets / showers not working but we never experienced this. Keep in mind it is Africa and if you want to experience it in is raw form you need to take the bad with the beauty!!! Will def visit again!!!!

Date of stay: October 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank meaghana2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
JohanvJ, Owner at Paraiso do Ouro Resort Budget Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2016

Thank you so much for your kind review - We really try our best for every Guest and can not wait to host you again for a holiday with us - Regards Johan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2014

We were a group of 13 with family and friends for a 60th birthday. Gus set up the NEW barbeque area and made a fire for us and they served us there. They even gave us a guard so that other people did not worry us. Gus gave us the best attention at all times and made sure everything was perfect.
We went on the dolphin swim as well. Gus arranged everything. Great weekend, far to short. Great service, thanks Gus

Room tip: Second floor to get a nice sea view
Date of stay: October 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank jossvw
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
JohanvJ, Owner at Paraiso do Ouro Resort Budget Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2016

Thank you so much for your kind review - We really try our best for every Guest and can not wait to host you again for a holiday with us - Regards Johan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2014

The first thing that attracted me to this place was how idyllic the scenery was,then how near it was to drive to from South Africa.It felt as if the city just melted into the distance and the perfect beach scene from the movies came into view.The owner welcomed us like old friends and before long we had settled into the tropical rhythm.The rooms were spartan with just a kettle and tiny t.v,but who needs to be indoors when there's a beach to laze on and the local drinks (especially the Sparletta and local rum to sample?[Get yourself a few bottles to take back:it's very good and very hard to find!])The food was ok-ish but the staff didn't seem to realize we couldn't be indefinitely be held at bay with drinks:it felt like we had ordered the day before and were still waiting.If you're not in the mood to get flustered with the staff,hop across the road: there's another pub-like atmosphere and other places are within walking distance.In the way of markets and shopping,it's a little bit too rustic for some,but don't be afraid to get souvenirs like the locally made hand-carved wooden artworks and the locally made sarongs and such.People are very friendly and don't worry if you don't speak Portuguese:everyone speaks English and it's more like Durban than Maputo.Try out the nightlife at Florestina's:there's always a party after sundown.Don't bother with hair-dryers and too much fancy makeup, rather take along a pop-up tent and enjoy the sunshine and soothing waves.

Room tip: We had the very last room facing the sea.It's almost as if you have the whole sea-view to yourself and very little interference from other guests
Date of stay: April 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank southernseeker2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
JohanvJ, Owner at Paraiso do Ouro Resort Budget Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2016

Thank you so much for your kind review - We really try our best for every Guest and can not wait to host you again for a holiday with us - Regards Johan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews