We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
southernseeker2014
Johannesburg, South Africa

Perfect romantic getaway

3.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 08 Oct 2014
The first thing that attracted me to this place was how idyllic the scenery was,then how near it was to drive to from South Africa.It felt as if the city just melted into the distance and the perfect beach scene from the movies came into view.The owner welcomed us like old friends and before long we had settled into the tropical rhythm.The rooms were spartan with just a kettle and tiny t.v,but who needs to be indoors when there's a beach to laze on and the local drinks (especially the Sparletta and local rum to sample?[Get yourself a few bottles to take back:it's very good and very hard to find!])The food was ok-ish but the staff didn't seem to realize we couldn't be indefinitely be held at bay with drinks:it felt like we had ordered the day before and were still waiting.If you're not in the mood to get flustered with the staff,hop across the road: there's another pub-like atmosphere and other places are within walking distance.In the way of markets and shopping,it's a little bit too rustic for some,but don't be afraid to get souvenirs like the locally made hand-carved wooden artworks and the locally made sarongs and such.People are very friendly and don't worry if you don't speak Portuguese:everyone speaks English and it's more like Durban than Maputo.Try out the nightlife at Florestina's:there's always a party after sundown.Don't bother with hair-dryers and too much fancy makeup, rather take along a pop-up tent and enjoy the sunshine and soothing waves.
Date of stay: April 2014
Room Tip: We had the very last room facing the sea.It's almost as if you have the whole sea-view to...
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
JohanvJ, Owner at Paraiso do Ouro Resort Budget Accommodation, responded to this review
Responded 07 May 2016
Thank you so much for your kind review - We really try our best for every Guest and can not wait to host you again for a holiday with us - Regards Johan
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
R 1 736
R 1 238
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
0.4 km from Paraiso do Ouro Resort Budget Accommodation
Free Wifi
Free parking
view from the restaurant
R 640
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Tripadvisor
    R 640
  • Hotels.com
  • Lol.travel
1.1 km from Paraiso do Ouro Resort Budget Accommodation
Free parking
Pool
R 1 540
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    R 1 540
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 208
  • Vio.com
    R 1 538
1.6 km from Paraiso do Ouro Resort Budget Accommodation
Free parking
Pool
R 2 473
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    R 2 473
0.9 km from Paraiso do Ouro Resort Budget Accommodation
  • Priceline
0.5 km from Paraiso do Ouro Resort Budget Accommodation
Cafe Del Mar Ponta do Ouro
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Expedia.com
0.4 km from Paraiso do Ouro Resort Budget Accommodation
  • Priceline
  • Vio.com
1.1 km from Paraiso do Ouro Resort Budget Accommodation
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Vio.com
  • Expedia.com
0.7 km from Paraiso do Ouro Resort Budget Accommodation
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 393
0.6 km from Paraiso do Ouro Resort Budget Accommodation
Free Wifi
Free parking
Brand new swimming pool
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Expedia.com
    R 920
  • ZenHotels.com
2.1 km from Paraiso do Ouro Resort Budget Accommodation
Free parking
Beachfront
View more hotels in Ponta do Ouro
Reviews (192)
Filter reviews
192 results
Traveller rating
68
44
16
18
46
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
68
44
16
18
46
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
187 - 192 of 192 reviews
Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

7 of us stayed at this resort over June and July for 7 nights. The owners and very friendly, however staff are completely apathetic. Of the 5 rooms we stayed in, 1 did not have hot water for the entire stay (despite 2 requests to reception to have it fixed), 1 had a toilet and shower that did not work (which was rectified by moving rooms), 1 had a sliding door that could not be opened and 1 an aircon that didn't work. In short the place is falling apart. We stayed on a full board package (breakfast and dinner included) which I would not recommend as food took roughly 1 hour to arrive once ordered and was stone cold. I would much rather suggest eating at Neptune's, Mango or Florestina's. For scuba diving I'd recommend Simply scuba as Petal and Mrs B were very helpful and accommodating to our group.

Date of stay: July 2014
Trip type: Travelled with friends
6  Thank matthewwS5409NQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Johan v, Owner at Paraiso do Ouro Resort Budget Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

We have taken note of this review and have put the following processes in place:
1) Designed a Training Course for all the Staff to Improve on Customer Services and Expose them to the different Cultures and Expectations.
2) Suite Check-List - With New Management to inspect these on a Daily Basis.
3) Bought New Geysers Electric ones to Complement the Solar ones previously Fitted.
4) Set Standards for the Kitchen Staff to improve Meal Delivery Times to Guests

We are sure that these steps and actions will rectify the issues raised and once again we assure our Prospective Guest that we are committed - take every issue raised serious and act on these with out delay!! Best Regards Johan & Gus " Proud Owners of Paraiso do Ouro!!"

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

On the long weekend 25 to 29 April 2014 friends of us and we went to Ponta do Ouro and stayed in the Paraiso do Ouro. QWe rented 6 units which had air conditioner, shower, wash basin, toilet, double bed, kettle, cups and utensils per unit. The inside veranda offered a great opportunity for late afternoon snacks and drinks with a beautiful view over the beach and ocean. Daily housekeeping comes around for cleaning the units. The onsite restaurant and pub, Galeao, offers good food and drinks at affordable prices. There is a jumping castle for the kids to enjoy and stunning views of the ocean from the deck of the pub. Every evening there is entertainment and a party. There is also ample parking space and facilities to wash your boat or jet ski after a day in the ocean.

Room tip: Second floor rooms offers a better sea view than 1st floor rooms
Date of stay: April 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank RSA1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
JohanvJ, Owner at Paraiso do Ouro Resort Budget Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2016

Thank you so much for your kind review - We really try our best for every Guest and can not wait to host you again for a holiday with us - Regards Johan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2023 via mobile
Google Translation

Date of stay: September 2023
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 23 March 2023
Google Translation

Room tip: Nao se hospedem neste local.
Date of stay: November 2022
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 13 September 2022
Google Translation

Room tip: Escolher outro hotel
Date of stay: September 2022
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews