We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
_rinettevdw
Welkom, South Africa

Good value for money

Review of Ntsuty Lodge
4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 13 Feb 2019
We stayed there a number of times out of peak season. It was always a positive experience.Lush trees bring nice shade. Near the beach and although no sea view, you can hear the ocean. The interior is not luxurious but functional and clean. Friendly staff and night watchman. Nice wooden decks and barbeques. Real good value for money.
Date of stay: November 2018
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
view from the restaurant
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 631
  • Agoda.com
0.2 km from Ntsuty Lodge
Free parking
Pool
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 1 444
  • Hotels.com
0.7 km from Ntsuty Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
0.8 km from Ntsuty Lodge
Free parking
Pool
  • Priceline
0.5 km from Ntsuty Lodge
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 1 205
  • Vio.com
0.9 km from Ntsuty Lodge
Free parking
Pool
    0.6 km from Ntsuty Lodge
    Free parking
    Pool
    Cafe Del Mar Ponta do Ouro
    Get rewarded with One Key
    • Hotels.com
    0.6 km from Ntsuty Lodge
    • Priceline
    • Agoda.com
    • Vio.com
    1.9 km from Ntsuty Lodge
    Get rewarded with One Key
    • Hotels.com
    • Vio.com
    0.2 km from Ntsuty Lodge
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    Brand new swimming pool
    Get rewarded with One Key
    • Hotels.com
    • ZenHotels.com
    3.0 km from Ntsuty Lodge
    Free parking
    Beachfront
    View more hotels in Ponta do Ouro
    Reviews (13)
    Filter reviews
    13 results
    Traveller rating
    4
    4
    2
    0
    3
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    Traveller rating
    4
    4
    2
    0
    3
    See what travellers are saying:
    Selected filters
    Filter
    Updating list...
    3 - 8 of 13 reviews
    Reviewed 1 August 2018 via mobile

    The units are lovely but we will NEVER stay here again.

    We had 7 nights from hell with an incessantly barking dog in the property next door. No sleep.

    The property owner was completely uncooperative even though they were aware of the problem and the resort’s manager was not sufficiently empowered to do something about it.

    It spoiled our holiday. I definitely do not recommend staying here.

    Date of stay: July 2018
    Trip type: Travelled with family
    2  Thank DeonB248
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 7 May 2018

    We were a group of 12 people staying in 3 of the houses ( 6 adult & 6 children).
    On arrival the manager (Moses) and other staff was very friendly and helpful. They helped us to unpack our vehicles and carry everything to our chalets.
    The house itself is very basic, but it has everything you need considering that you mostly only sleep there.
    A couple of things that need attention:
    1. On the website it says that bath towels are supplied - they are not! Apparently the previous owners did supply bath towels, but not the new owners.
    2. On the website it says that there are mosquito nets over the maid bedroom bed - there are hooks above the bed, but no net.
    3. The bedside lights could not be used because they have two point plug fitting and there was no two point plug adapter to plug it into.
    4. We had a water problem twice - had to ask the manager to fill the water tanks so we could shower.
    5. The tumble dryer in the office was not working which was a bit of an issue because of the towel problem. But they had no issue to wash our towels for us.
    Aside from these minor issues (which are easy to sort out) we had a great stay. And would definitely recommend it to friends.

    Date of stay: April 2018
    1  Thank Francesca W
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 19 February 2018

    Ntsuty Lodge is located in a beautifully kept little man made forest approximately 300 meters from the main beach area.
    The staff are fantastic! Super polite, very friendly and most helpful.
    Stunning little wooden pathways that wind through the jungle gardens link all the chalets to the car-park, swimming pool area, beach access gate and reception area.
    It is simply beautiful.
    Sadly the unit we were allocated is in much need of a revamp and some new furnishings.
    The staff try their best to keep showers and toilet seats, stoves etc super clean but with age these items simply become impossible to clean properly.
    The kitchen was reasonably well equipped with crockery, cutlery and the necessary cooking apparatus but once again some of these items have long past their sell by date.
    Soft furnishings are in dire need of replacement and really do look and feel a bit dirty.
    The unit itself is raised quite high above the ground allowing for pretty views over the forested gardens.
    The braai area is located under the deck and sadly didn't have any grid on it to allow for cooking.
    Sitting on the little deck is very pleasant and peaceful.
    Many birds can be seen in the foliage of the trees and frogs are heard croaking in the undergrowth.
    The property also has its own colony of feral cats which are very entertaining to watch.
    Our air conditioning unit was in desperate need of re gassing as it did not cool the air within the unit adequately.
    But having said all this if you are prepared to "rough it" you will love it!!!
    Look past all the faults at the lodge and you are guaranteed to have a wonderful time in this quaint little town!!!

    Room tip: Ask for a unit that is raised up on stilts!
    Date of stay: January 2018
    • Trip type: Travelled with friends
      • Value
      • Rooms
      • Service
    1  Thank Greg K
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 22 January 2018

    We have stayed here and had a great time. Nice chalets with all the basics, short walk down to the beach. Both of the bedrooms had aircons and mosquito nets over the beds. We thought it was good value for money.

    Date of stay: April 2017
    Trip type: Travelled with friends
    2  Thank JustinR_ZA
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 13 November 2017

    What an awesome unforgettable life changing experience!! Well done to Susan aka Sonja (private joke), Stephans aka Duppie and the rest of the resort team.

    We arrived at the Kosi Bay border post just after we sms'd Susan as requested of our arrival at the border post. We were still in the queue at the Mozambique side when Duppie arrived and greeted us. Helped with our bags where we were on our way to the lodge. This was our first time in Ponta do Ouro, Mozambique.

    On the way there he showed us the different routes on how to get to Ponta do Ouro as he joked that all the dirt roads led to Ponta. You just have to decide do you want to rough it out over the dunes 4x4 style or like quickest road.

    It was very interesting how the locals will fill up the sand holes in the roads with their garbage bags. It is then compacted by the vehicles creating a smooth ride, the closest they get to a decent road as it is all sea sand.

    As it was our first visit he spared no effort in first showing us the local places i.e. the pharmacy, Butchery, the best place to buy any liquor related products and the market where we could walk through all day long. The best places for Pizza, burgers and of course seafood.

    At the lodge we were greeted by Susan and Moses the lodge right hand man. They assisted us in getting our luggage in the rooms.

    The units consist of an open lounge kitchen area with a 1 bedroom and on suite bathroom consisting of a shower and toilet.

    What impressed us immediately was that the air-conditioned unit was recently upgraded with a fresh coat of paint with new linen. Not just any linen but Volpes. The mattress in the main bedroom felt like it was brand new. The unit was clean and well organized with a sleeper couch in the open area creating sleeping space for another 2 people.

    The glass bowls filled with a sea theme next to the main bed was hand made by Susan’s daughter Rochelle (13). The detail was amazing.

    This is not just another lodge but a family owned one that takes pride in how they visitors experience Ponta do Ouro.

    We needed to be online and let the family know that we arrived safely but in our haste we did not activate roaming. No Problem as Moses assisted us in sourcing us a local sim card with 1 GB of data. As the day went on we made use of his expertise in sourcing us some R&R (Rum & Rasberry) as we just traveled 750km and did not see our way in walking to the market yet.

    We asked for some activities assistance in the area as we came with an open mind and wanted to experience Ponta in all its glory. We were advised to go and swim with the dolphins making use of “The Dolphin Centre”. All I can say is WOW!! It is a life changing experience.

    The rain did hamper our outside activities a bit but we used the time to pub crawl and experience the local cuisine.

    The time spent here will never be enough even if you spend a whole month here. Well done to the Susan, Duppie and the team at Ntsuty lodge in achieving service excellence.

    Regards,
    Daleen & Andries Bester

    Date of stay: November 2017
    • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank AndriesB87
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    View more reviews