We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
MAXIMVS M

Very relaxed and great vibe!

Review of The Waves Lodge
4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 14 Apr 2018
A nice lodge with good value. Adequate self-catering units very well equipped with AC.

Very friendly and helpful staff.

The pool is clean and well looked after - the kids loved it! Great to unwind after a day at the beach!

The restaurant/bar (Melting Pot), is also very good!

Recommended!
Date of stay: April 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
R 1 735
R 1 229
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 236
  • Hotels.com
    R 1 236
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 1 735
0.2 km from The Waves Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 1 918
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
0.0 km from The Waves Lodge
view from the restaurant
R 639
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
    R 639
  • Tripadvisor
    R 639
  • Lol.travel
0.7 km from The Waves Lodge
Free parking
Pool
R 1 540
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    R 1 542
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 208
  • Hotels.com
    R 1 208
1.1 km from The Waves Lodge
Free parking
Pool
R 1 148
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
0.4 km from The Waves Lodge
R 573
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    R 573
  • Agoda.com
    R 476
0.4 km from The Waves Lodge
R 2 473
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    R 2 477
0.3 km from The Waves Lodge
R 1 303
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    R 1 304
  • Vio.com
    R 1 301
1.5 km from The Waves Lodge
Brand new swimming pool
R 920
Fully refundable
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
    R 920
  • ZenHotels.com
2.6 km from The Waves Lodge
Free parking
Beachfront
R 1 700
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    R 1 703
  • Vio.com
    R 1 703
  • eDreams
    R 1 700
1.0 km from The Waves Lodge
Free Wifi
Beachfront
View more hotels in Ponta do Ouro
Reviews (15)
Filter reviews
15 results
Traveller rating
7
4
3
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
7
4
3
0
1
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 15 reviews
Reviewed 8 March 2018

There are a lot of places to stay in this 'wild west' town of Ponta do Ouro, and this is a good choice. The family rooms are fine. Very few guests in February at all - but it was also raining a lot, so the same handfull of guests would congregate at Love Cafe in the evenings.
The things to improve would to accept credit cards - the one bank in town could not change money (a problem that day, apparently, waiting one hour to find out), and the ATM can only dispense about 80$, so we had to make a lot of withdrawals just to pay the hotel bill.
The wifi did not work. (actually, we did not fine anywhere in town where it worked - the locals use a sim card)
The associated restaurant was not open for dinner in the evening (why? low season?)
The children loved the small pool.

Date of stay: February 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank futtrup
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 6 August 2017 via mobile

Pretty ok. Clean Nice atmosphere and ambience. Unit we stayed in shower was blocked. Set group was below average. Pub food was great. Run water through pipes first because was brown. Take own drinking water.

Date of stay: June 2017
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank bclivep
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 24 June 2017 via mobile

Having stayed previously at several of the lodges in the area this is a pretty good choice and well priced. Its not fancy but each unit is clean and spacious beds are comfortable and rooms have air-conditioning and satellite tv (dstv). Large fridge in the unit an basic equipped kitchen.

Its a 10 minute walk to the beach and has a restaurant on site.

Lunchtime meals were great. Only downfall was in the evenings the pub area is packed and noisy over the weekends

Date of stay: June 2017
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Lorna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 3 May 2017 via mobile

Stayed in a family unit, staff was quite helpful and friendly

It's a bit of a walk to the beach, so about 10 min, but it's fine..

Unit comes with an Aircon and wifi is cheap (R16 at the melting pot restaurant).. units also gets serviced everyday which is pretty cool as well..

Only reason why I did not give 5 stars was that there was unscheduled parties at the melting pot both Friday and Saturday night that went until pass 12, where as the sign states the melting pot closes at about 8... but I believe it was once off events.

Date of stay: April 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Mykey123
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 3 May 2017

괜찮은 가격, 깔끔한 방, 에어컨도 구비되어 있고, 실내 화장실도 있음. 수영장과 훌륭한 레스토랑이 붙어 있어서 이용하기 편리했음.

Good price, very clean room with air condition en suite bathroom, Also it has small swimming pool with a great restaurant attached.

Date of stay: May 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank taeyoungweskim
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews