We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Leon J
Ezulwini, Eswatini (Swaziland)

Mar e Sol House # 20

Review of Mar E Sol
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 06 Sept 2018via mobile
I have been coming regularly to Ponta do Ouro for 50 years. Pre Independence and Post War. So I have seen a lot here

Mar e Sol is one of best places you can find to stay in Ponta. The units I have stayed at were always finished and furnished to a high standard. Most units have sea view and location is just above best swimming beach area. Above the dive camp. Just it’s a climb up the hill; if you not fit before, you will be afterwards

I saw negative post on House # 20, and I’ve just checked today 6.9.2018. I can’t understand what the beef is all about. The place was clean. Everything worked. Fully and comfortable fitted to a very high standard. Fridge, microwave, washing machine, dryer, dstv, air conditioned. Just as it looks on the website. Great value for money.

We will most certainly be returning.
Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
R 1 707
R 1 232
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 232
0.8 km from Mar E Sol
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 1 213
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 213
0.9 km from Mar E Sol
Free parking
Pool
R 1 230
R 1 120
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 120
  • Lol.travel
0.9 km from Mar E Sol
Free parking
Pool
view from the restaurant
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Vio.com
  • Agoda.com
0.3 km from Mar E Sol
Free parking
Pool
  • Priceline
0.6 km from Mar E Sol
    0.7 km from Mar E Sol
    Free parking
    Pool
    Cafe Del Mar Ponta do Ouro
    Get rewarded with One Key
    • Expedia.com
    0.7 km from Mar E Sol
    • Priceline
    • Vio.com
    1.9 km from Mar E Sol
    Get rewarded with One Key
    • Expedia.com
      R 1 188
    0.3 km from Mar E Sol
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    Brand new swimming pool
    Get rewarded with One Key
    • Expedia.com
      R 924
    • ZenHotels.com
    3.0 km from Mar E Sol
    Free parking
    Beachfront
    View more hotels in Ponta do Ouro
    Reviews (29)
    Filter reviews
    29 results
    Traveller rating
    7
    7
    5
    3
    7
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    Traveller rating
    7
    7
    5
    3
    7
    See what travellers are saying:
    Selected filters
    Filter
    Updating list...
    10 - 15 of 29 reviews
    Reviewed 26 February 2018

    Mar E Sol, unit 20, was the worst experience we have had in the 4 years we have now lived in MOZ (and we have been many places!).
    The unit is advertised for 9 people but there is not enough dinning chairs for 9, not enough glasses, cultery, plates etc. and there were only beddings for 8.
    The braii did not work and even though the manager promised to fix it within half an hour we didn´t see him until the next morning. The house is generally in a bad condition. Door handles fell of, lights was not working, it was dripping from the ceilings, there was a bad smell in the house as if it is never ventilated and there is cockroaches everywhere.
    We ended up leaving after 1,5 day, - it was simply not worth staying! The manager at Mar E Sol was not to much help!
    The owner of the house does not recognize any of the issues that we have raised and the booking agent, Lee-Ann Wagner from African Safarien, either. We are definitely never going back to Mar E Sol again.

    Date of stay: February 2018
    • Trip type: Travelled with family
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Service
    5  Thank metteu77
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 2 September 2017 via mobile

    I think its one of the best accommodations on Ponta Island. There are 10 sleepers. Definitely value for money. Its self catering so ideal for a group of friends. Its a walking distance to the beach and to the restaurants and bars! There's a beach view too. If its too windy the wooden structures can shake a bit though.

    Date of stay: June 2017
    Trip type: Travelled with friends
    Thank YourHighnessLeo
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 11 July 2017 via mobile

    We stayed at chalet no 23. Great daily service and good location. Close to the beach. Awesome view too. We had a great holiday as a crowd and would definitely recommend it to people. Monkeys were a menace ... but hey this is Africa.

    Date of stay: July 2017
    Trip type: Travelled with friends
    Thank SANDRAD6911
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 24 March 2017

    What a hole. Nothing worked.
    The air cons were broken or were so loud sleep was not comfortable.
    Broken sewage pipe on the side of the house.
    The management team knew about all the problems and did very little to rectify them.
    The fridges were not working and a chest freezer was supplied as an alternative.
    Don't stay there

    Room tip: Don't stay in no 11
    Date of stay: March 2017
    • Trip type: Travelled with family
      • Value
      • Sleep Quality
      • Service
    4  Thank Peterd6625
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 9 February 2017

    Our second holiday in Unit 6 in Mar e Sol was as wonderful as our first stay there last year.
    A beautiful house with everything you need! The view from the terrace ist breathtaking!
    Such a nice place to have a Barbecue in the evening!
    The service was excellent.
    We definitely come back!
    Cheers Gudrun

    Date of stay: January 2017
    • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
      • Location
      • Rooms
      • Service
    2  Thank Haispot
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    View more reviews