We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
W0r1d_Tv1182

Unpleasant Surprise

Review of Nkanhe Lodge
1.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 05 Jan 2020via mobile
Despite the previous reviews about this property, we decided to give Nkanhe a chance. In desperate need of a break away, we booked for 2 nights hoping this was going to be a trip to re-energize. It seems we expected far too much.

Firstly, there is only 1 sign to guide you to its location and it took us going around in circles 4 times before finding it (after calling for help with directions). Now, there are two location placers for this lodge. It’s is actually opposite the informal market (opposite Fernando’s) turning off the main road towards an informal settlement. The lodge name does not appear anywhere but next to the pool which you only see once you’ve entered the property.

Upon arrival, it felt like we where entering through the “back door”. The washing line was full of linen and there was (who we assumed to be) staff lunch. Check in happens at the bar, passed the pool. Before checking in, we asked to see the rooms first as we where already having doubts. The receptionist / bar man, possibly realizing we where already not keen, gave a little sigh / snigger / laugh at the request but obliged.

We walked through a narrow passage to where the rooms are. Linen and clothing was strewn across the garden shrubs, a mattress was standing in the corridor (torn and dirty), an old exercise bike and furniture was pushed into another corner and it seemed like one room was undergoing deep cleaning as all the (worn) furniture was standing in the corridor.

The gentleman opened the room door and before putting a foot inside he realized that the room was in fact occupied and promptly closed it again. Not sure how with a manual key system he managed it, but not a good sign.

Back at the bar and after a quick deliberation we decided to cancel our reservation and look for something else instead. We told the receptionist / bar man that the photos online do not look like the lodge, to which he just smiled and repeated our statement back to us.

So, even before staying we realized this place was not up to standard and they are very obviously not what they claim to be.

Give it a miss, not worth it.
Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
view from the restaurant
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Lol.travel
  • Vio.com
0.2 km from Nkanhe Lodge
Free parking
Pool
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 2 156
  • Booking.com
0.7 km from Nkanhe Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
  • Booking.com
0.7 km from Nkanhe Lodge
Free parking
Pool
  • Priceline
0.5 km from Nkanhe Lodge
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 1 213
  • Lol.travel
0.9 km from Nkanhe Lodge
Free parking
Pool
    0.6 km from Nkanhe Lodge
    Free parking
    Pool
    Cafe Del Mar Ponta do Ouro
    Get rewarded with One Key
    • Hotels.com
    0.6 km from Nkanhe Lodge
    • Priceline
    • Vio.com
    • Agoda.com
    1.9 km from Nkanhe Lodge
    Get rewarded with One Key
    • Hotels.com
    • Vio.com
    0.2 km from Nkanhe Lodge
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    Brand new swimming pool
    Get rewarded with One Key
    • Hotels.com
    • ZenHotels.com
    3.0 km from Nkanhe Lodge
    Free parking
    Beachfront
    View more hotels in Ponta do Ouro
    Reviews (8)
    Filter reviews
    8 results
    Traveller rating
    2
    1
    0
    0
    5
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    Traveller rating
    2
    1
    0
    0
    5
    See what travellers are saying:
    Selected filters
    Filter
    Updating list...
    2 - 7 of 8 reviews
    Reviewed 17 December 2019

    When we arrived the pool was green and dirty.
    Watermelon standing on the bar for arrival snack was full of flies.The rooms were dirty and run down.
    No safe parking.Room to small to store 2 crates of diving equipment.Fotos on the website do not match the lodge at all.
    Wifi was not workin and staff do not understand english.
    All of this was conveyed to the owner Jose and he just shrugged and deducted the full amout from my account.
    We had to find new and safer accommodation.

    It is situated in the rural area across the local marketand shebeens.

    Dont be fooled by pictures,we were and lost alot of money.

    Room tip: Different lodge or hotel
    Date of stay: December 2019
      • Location
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank Stoffel C
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 14 October 2019 via mobile

    It was a fantastic experience to be at N'kanhe for my birthday. Right from the get go it was magical. The owners are so kind, down to earth and very enthusiastic about improving the Lodge with some creative ideas and colorful designs. Definitely a place to stay

    Date of stay: October 2019
    Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    Thank pilaz38
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 3 July 2019 via mobile

    Terrible place. I’ve slept on more comfortable concrete than the rock hard beds. The handyman does his best but cannot speak English. The rooms are very basic. Not much inside. The taps are loose. We didn’t have any water on the second day. Nobody was there when we left. We didn’t have breakfast either, not that the breakfast was any good anyway. There was music playing nearby the whole night. Possibly the worst place I’ve stayed in.

    Date of stay: July 2019
    Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    Thank William D
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 22 December 2018 via mobile

    We unexpectedly found ourselves on route to Ponta without accommodation in peak season. Nkanha lodge saved the day by providing us with 2 air conditioned rooms and on suite shower toilet.
    Lovely lounge areas, braai facilities and close to markets.Swimming pool is beautifully maintained, communal kitchen available. The price is very reasonable.
    Our hosts were very friendly and hands on.
    A modest but up and coming venue

    Date of stay: December 2018
    Trip type: Travelled with family
    Thank DivineNicky
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 19 August 2018 via mobile

    Lovely guesthouse and would stay there again. The grounds are beautiful with a big pool and outdoor seating area with a TV. There was also a big kitchen which was well equipped and available for us to use at any time.

    The room was a good size and clean, as was the bathroom and had a warm shower. The bed was comfy. The room also had a fridge/freezer which was useful. The only thing missing was a mosquito net, but it was very easy to put our own one up (we were also there during winter, so it’s possible mosquito nets are put up in the Summer).

    The staff are lovely, as are the family who own the place - extremely welcoming and friendly. We enjoyed socialising with them.

    The lodge is in a great location, a 3-5minute walk from where the chappas stop by the market, and 10 minutes to the beach.

    Thanks for a great stay!

    Date of stay: July 2018
    Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    1  Thank 149elainei
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    José S, Gestor at Nkanhe Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2018

    Dear Mrs. Elaine,
    Thank you for being with us at Nkanhe lodge we are glad you enjoyed, there is always things to improve and the mosquito nets is one of them, we guarantee to have improvements by the next time you come back.

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    View more reviews