We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Professional operation, nice accomodation”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pulau Mabul
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Scuba Junkie Mabul Beach Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 June 2017

SCUBA Junkies is a professional and capable operation, if you're looking to dive in Sipidan. Although you have to buy a package, I found my four day, three night package quite reasonably priced and worth the cost. SCUBA Junkies has a sustainable philosophy, focused on improving the environment around the area. While this is somewhat difficult to believe given the amount of trash on the beach and on some of the reefs near to Mabul, their overall attitude does seem to believe itself to be one of environmental sustainability. Additionally, in comparison with other dive operations on the island, they are much more attentive to the environment, to protecting the precious animal and plant species, and to generating a long-term sustainable operation.

Regarding our actual stay, we stayed in one of the air-con rooms and highly recommend it. The room was tremendously comfortable, with a private bathroom, fan, and air-con. After a long day of diving, it was nice to retire to a private room and relax in the cool.

Food was good and plentiful. As a vegetarian I never went hungry. There is typically a grain (bread, rice, pasta) as well as some meat dish (and a vegetarian counterpart with potatoes, tofu, or other vegetables), as well as vegetable dish. There was usually fruit. Cake, tea, and coffee were available throughout the day. Wifi and related facilities were good, as well. I was traveling, but still had work to do, and was able to send emails and communicate effectively with my colleagues.

To the diving specifically, while everyone comes to dive at Sipidan, the dives around Mabul were also very enjoyable. There are some good created environments, as well as generally pleasant coral environments. Macro diving is particularly good in some locations. Sipidan hardly needs comment, given its reputation.

All of our DMs were phenomenal. They were patient, attentive, thoughtful, and great at spotting animals and plants. The well defined hand signals ensured that everyone understood what we were looking at. I had an issue on one dive and our DM patiently and calmly dealt with it, even though I was a bit panicked. I would recommend SCUBA Junkies purely based on the skills and attitudes of the DMs.

I would go back to SCUBA Junkies without hesitation and recommend it to anyone considering a trip to Sipidan or Mabul, generally. They're professionalism can sometimes be brisk, but really speaks to the capacity, excellent, and organization of the operation that they run.

Room Tip: air con rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank A J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (586)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

31 - 35 of 586 reviews

Reviewed 3 June 2017

Long long overdue review. Dived here back in August 2016 and it was a great experience. I'll keep it brief so the key points:

- Diving: wonderful, varied diving around Mabul and Kapalai (great macro) and of course, Sipadan (pelagic heaven). All the divemasters were very professional, friendly and knowledgeable. Despite there being a lot of divers due to the size of the operation it still felt personable which is a credit to everyone who works there.

No issues with equipment and never any confusion, always knew where I was going, who I was diving with well in advance.

- Accomodation: Resort is clean and beautiful, stayed in the dorm which was spacious enough.

- Food: pretty banging to be honest. Varied and tasty and always with plenty of options. Buffet style which was perfect for my backpacker self. Gorged.


Overall best thing I can say about it is that I've already decided to return.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rsavill89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2017 via mobile

7 years ago got my open water here, came back to check again and found even better service! Great rooms, dive shop is big, but efficient, guides are awesome and gear is well maintained. Food could be better. A place to stay and dive if you want to visi Sipadan.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled solo
Thank KPOVILAUSKAS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2017 via mobile

Can't speak highly enough about Scuba Junkie - we did their 4 day / 3 night package and would gladly have stayed longer if we could! The accommodation is great, the food is delicious (and in plentiful supply) and the staff are incredibly helpful and organised. Every thing is taken care of for you - all you really have to do is show up and dive! Must give a special mention to Amanda behind reception who made sure everything ran as smoothly as possible for us and a big shout out must also go to Kai who was our guide for most of the week. He was brilliant, great fun, always smiling and also a thorough professional in what he did when diving. The four dive day on Sipidan is of course the highlight of the trip but we were also taken to a different dive site on each of our other 9 dives and none of them disappointed - seeing everything from aggressive titan triggerfish to huge green turtles, tiny nudi branches, a tornado of trevally and a 2m long sea snake...all before we ever reached Sipidan! What I liked about Scuba Junkie was their dedication to the maintenance of this special place - they run educational programmes with the local fishing villages, have a turtle hatchery and run a fantastic programme where local youths get sponsored to progress all the way to dive masters. These dive masters in training accompany the dive masters each day and as a result in our group of four divers we had a fully qualified dive master at the front and a dive master apprentice at the rear. Very reassuring on the off-chance that anything were to go awry. Thanks to Scuba Junkie for making our trip so memorable and a special thanks for allowing me to see (and swim with) sharks in the open ocean --- an experience and a feeling I won't forget!

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Ian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2017 via mobile

The transfer to the island was well organized on the way back we had a delay, but it was still ok, cause our flight wasnt leaving till 9pm. Our stay on the island was phenomenal. The diving was really professional and they made groups of only 3 people and the divemaster which was great. We felt enormously safe all the time. and they where so flexibel in adding dives and changing plans. The staff was great, the food was really good and our bungalow was simply amazing. We'd highly recommend staying there while exploring Mabul. It is pricy but its worth every penny. the only thing they can improve is the cleanness of the bathrooms in the commen areas, they wherent great.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Jenny Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pulau Mabul
0 km away
Sipadan Inn 2
Sipadan Inn 2
#2 of 7 in Semporna
76 reviews
25,9 km away
Seafest Hotel
Seafest Hotel
#1 of 7 in Semporna
279 reviews
26 km away
Sipadan Inn
Sipadan Inn
#3 of 7 in Semporna
154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 km away
City Inn Semporna
City Inn Semporna
#5 of 7 in Semporna
31 reviews
0,3 km away
Arung Hayat Sea Adventures
Arung Hayat Sea Adventures
#10 of 11 in Pulau Mabul
76 reviews
0,4 km away
Spheredivers Scuba & Leisure
Spheredivers Scuba & Leisure
#11 of 11 in Pulau Mabul
3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scuba Junkie Mabul Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scuba Junkie Mabul Beach Resort

Address: Mabul Island, Pulau Mabul, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > Semporna District > Pulau Mabul
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Speciality Lodging in Pulau Mabul
Price Range: R395 - R710 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 24

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing