We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Scuba Junkie Mabul Beach Resort
Nearby Hotels
US$50
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (630)
Filter reviews
630 results
Traveller rating
414
163
33
11
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
414
163
33
11
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsscuba junkiedive sitesmabul beach resortfishturtle hatcherymarine conservationwell oiled machinefun divesbuffet stylevip roomgreen turtlesgreat diveclean upsbig thankslocal communitydevil raysmy advanced open water
Filter
Updating list...
77 - 82 of 630 reviews
Reviewed 15 May 2017 via mobile

We absolutely loved our stay here. Only hated leaving. The staff is so incredibly profession and is there to answer any and all questions you have. Gear was in good condition though I think they should have smaller sizes for fins. I have my own at home but have been traveling for sometime and was unable to bring for my size 5 foot. The instructors/guides were really informative and I always felt comfortable in there hands. Sipidan was spectacular and we loved our guide Dion. I was also pleasantly surprised by the dives in mabul and kapali not knowing what to expect. Our guides Nas and Kat were really great as well. The rooms were nice, meals yummy, and everything was comfortable and extremely organized. Great value for the money!

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Danielle D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2017

To start I want to thank everyone at SJ for a wonderful experience. 4 days diving on Mabul, Kapali, Mataking and Mantabuan Island was incredible.
Thanks to every awesome DM I had on my fun dive, incredible guys and all good blokes. Not to forget my good friend in the equipment room sorting me out with his own dive socks and a bigger pair of fins as i got some blisters after the first few days.
The accomodation was OK, but being rennovated soon. Had some good sleep which was good. The resturant next door was awesome too with some great dinners, pretty cheap too.

The only problem was Semporna itself. Mainly the locals attitude to the environment. There was a horrible stench of rotting rubbish, from the jetty into the town. climbing over refuse everwhere. Luckily when inside it was fine. The amount of plastic around on the pavement and in the sea is heartbreaking. While going out on the boat, every journey, the engine had to be reversed to get plastic out of the propellers. Even on Mabul, the locals have littered the sea with plastic bottles and wrappers. On most dives we saw some stunning marine life, many graceful turtles. Therefore when ever i saw any litter in the ocean i had to take it out. A few coke / sprite cans and a few plastic bags, which the turtles have been know to choke on and die. Hopefully the littering is cleared up and stopped, sooner rather than later, but it is hard when children with their parents as young as 5 or 6 throw finished coke cans into the ocean while speeding along on their boat. Dont let that put you off some stunning dives you'll never forget.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled solo
Thank Gus S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2017

My husband & I came here on our honeymoon - it was beautiful!

I took my open water here - my instructor (Kid) was amazing, very patient and a great teacher, i felt totally safe at all times. my husband did a refresher & underwater photography course. In fact all the dive masters here are excellent! and they all really seem to care about conserving the area too.

The diving was amazing - like swimming in an aquarium!!

Thanks all,

Sophie & Archie Sullivan

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sophieellesullivan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2017 via mobile

We fun dived 5 days and stayed around 7 days at the resort.

I must say the organization of the whole is very well done from booking to bringing you back at the airport. All instructors we had were excellent in showing us things under the water, friendly and professional.

Sipadan is a must see. It was amazing - we got to see on our (very lucky ) day there one hammerhead shark, leopard shark and loads of white and black tip reef sharks.
Without forgetting the scool of jacks, barracuda and bumphead parrotfishes. The hundreads of turtles... I found the northern side site with the drastic underwater scenery very unusal and beautiful. It is well worth planning your trip there in advance to make sure you have a permit !! Our guides were excellent on that day in choosing the right spots and navigating through some mild currents. We had the most of our day thanks to them.

Diving in Mabul was good. But after 4 days of slooping reef with sandy patches, each briefing started to feel a little boring. I wished there were pinnacles / currents or other terrains to explore. This being said - amazing visibility, very easy lazy dives and still plenty of things to see. The night dive is highly recommended to do.

The bungalows in themselves are in good shape, large and comfortable. I loved the hammock - few bits and pieces could be renovated ( locks in the bathroom and a little loose faucets ).

The improvement could be made for the food variety and choices every day.

Otherwise we had a great stay and I will warmly recommend scuba junkie or consider their sister's resorts in indonesia for future dive travels.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank sarahflokl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2017

I have mixed feelings on our trip to Mabul island and staying in the lodge. First of all the diving staff has been really really great and it is a very efficient and well organized organization. On the dives the are really busy with showing tall the fish and turtles. The groups are small and not many people will go on the boat so you have more than enough space! Between the dives you are coming back to the island (so also nice if your companion is just snorkeling and you want to have lunch together). They don't charge you extra for a refreshment course (which was really great and extensive). So only great words for the diving staff.

On the other hand i really wished i was better informed and helped to get a permit for the Sepidan island. I was not aware that you needed a permit, i also got the feeling they did not care about this and it would have appreciated it if they just could call a different school for me. So a bit disappointed in that .... because it is so big and efficient it feels a bit like a factory : you have to eat on a certain time and the all walk around with a thousand clipboards (but that could be me).

The houses itself are beautiful, spacious, quiet, hammock , garden, etc. really great value for money but is also right next to the fishing village :

Supposely this should be one of the best diving spots, but there is a lot of littering. i was really shocked. On the beach and in the water there is a lot of garbage (plastics; diapers; building material). The resort informs about the different initiatives they do to help the local population but i am wondering they and as guests we can do even more.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elvira H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews