We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Had an awesome time”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pulau Mabul
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Scuba Junkie Mabul Beach Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 May 2017

Stayed here for 8 Days and had a wonderful time.

I booked about 5 months in advance and the process was very simple. communication from the office staff was great and we traded several emails back and forth to sort out the details. I had to call once to clarify a few things (as it was easier to chat than email) and the staff were very friendly and very easy to deal with.

On the island I splashed out and got a VIP room, it was comfortable, came with an aircon and was right at the front of the resort with a pretty nice wrap around balcony. Had a couple of small issues with the room that when i raised it with the office staff they were fixed up straight away.

The dive gear they have isn't new, and all have signs of being well used. I did get a SPG that was leaking, so when we got back I raised it and it was changed over straight away. But things like this is to be expected when each bit of equipment is doing 3-4 dives per day, and being used by tourists,who often treat rental gear pretty badly, you cant expect it to be perfect. But it worked and it was still safe to use.

The Sea Gypsey village next door never posed a problem, although it was disturbing to see such a large amount or rubbish in the water around the village, SJ did host a clean up crew from Semporna on one of the days and they did an amazing job, however the next day it was all back again. Discussing this with some of the staff they are frustrated with it, but there isn't a lot they can do as its all about changing the attitudes of the villagers, which is a very big uphill battle.

Food is quite repetitive and there is a lot of chicken, so the nights that beef is served is a big thrill, but the food is plentiful and tasty and is often served with plenty of vegetables (which isn't common in Malaysia) Some variety in the menu would be good, but at the same time they are cooking for a lot of people and may of them are only around for a few days.

Amanda and Cat in the office are wonderful and accommodating. Had the pleasure of diving with them both (although maybe I was being watched) which obviously enhanced the relationship, but they were both very friendly and approachable. They were easy to talk to and were only to happy to help out or action requests and get things done. But its all about how you treat them. If your'e nice to them they will be nice back.

Dive masters and crew were all friendly, knowledgeable and great to be around, plus they have amazing eyes under water, spotting the smallest things from very far away.

Yeah the prices may be a little high when they are compared to other Malaysian places, but I really think it represents really good value, especially when you factor in your'e getting 3 main meals plus morning and afternoon tea, 3 dives per day, all equipment rental and boat transfers.

All in all a wonderful experience and one that I would recommend to everyone.

Room Tip: Splash out and pay for a room with Air Con. You wont regret it
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank imgettingannoyed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (579)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

31 - 35 of 579 reviews

Reviewed 15 May 2017 via mobile

We absolutely loved our stay here. Only hated leaving. The staff is so incredibly profession and is there to answer any and all questions you have. Gear was in good condition though I think they should have smaller sizes for fins. I have my own at home but have been traveling for sometime and was unable to bring for my size 5 foot. The instructors/guides were really informative and I always felt comfortable in there hands. Sipidan was spectacular and we loved our guide Dion. I was also pleasantly surprised by the dives in mabul and kapali not knowing what to expect. Our guides Nas and Kat were really great as well. The rooms were nice, meals yummy, and everything was comfortable and extremely organized. Great value for the money!

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Danielle D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2017

To start I want to thank everyone at SJ for a wonderful experience. 4 days diving on Mabul, Kapali, Mataking and Mantabuan Island was incredible.
Thanks to every awesome DM I had on my fun dive, incredible guys and all good blokes. Not to forget my good friend in the equipment room sorting me out with his own dive socks and a bigger pair of fins as i got some blisters after the first few days.
The accomodation was OK, but being rennovated soon. Had some good sleep which was good. The resturant next door was awesome too with some great dinners, pretty cheap too.

The only problem was Semporna itself. Mainly the locals attitude to the environment. There was a horrible stench of rotting rubbish, from the jetty into the town. climbing over refuse everwhere. Luckily when inside it was fine. The amount of plastic around on the pavement and in the sea is heartbreaking. While going out on the boat, every journey, the engine had to be reversed to get plastic out of the propellers. Even on Mabul, the locals have littered the sea with plastic bottles and wrappers. On most dives we saw some stunning marine life, many graceful turtles. Therefore when ever i saw any litter in the ocean i had to take it out. A few coke / sprite cans and a few plastic bags, which the turtles have been know to choke on and die. Hopefully the littering is cleared up and stopped, sooner rather than later, but it is hard when children with their parents as young as 5 or 6 throw finished coke cans into the ocean while speeding along on their boat. Dont let that put you off some stunning dives you'll never forget.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled solo
Thank Gus S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2017

My husband & I came here on our honeymoon - it was beautiful!

I took my open water here - my instructor (Kid) was amazing, very patient and a great teacher, i felt totally safe at all times. my husband did a refresher & underwater photography course. In fact all the dive masters here are excellent! and they all really seem to care about conserving the area too.

The diving was amazing - like swimming in an aquarium!!

Thanks all,

Sophie & Archie Sullivan

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sophieellesullivan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2017 via mobile

We fun dived 5 days and stayed around 7 days at the resort.

I must say the organization of the whole is very well done from booking to bringing you back at the airport. All instructors we had were excellent in showing us things under the water, friendly and professional.

Sipadan is a must see. It was amazing - we got to see on our (very lucky ) day there one hammerhead shark, leopard shark and loads of white and black tip reef sharks.
Without forgetting the scool of jacks, barracuda and bumphead parrotfishes. The hundreads of turtles... I found the northern side site with the drastic underwater scenery very unusal and beautiful. It is well worth planning your trip there in advance to make sure you have a permit !! Our guides were excellent on that day in choosing the right spots and navigating through some mild currents. We had the most of our day thanks to them.

Diving in Mabul was good. But after 4 days of slooping reef with sandy patches, each briefing started to feel a little boring. I wished there were pinnacles / currents or other terrains to explore. This being said - amazing visibility, very easy lazy dives and still plenty of things to see. The night dive is highly recommended to do.

The bungalows in themselves are in good shape, large and comfortable. I loved the hammock - few bits and pieces could be renovated ( locks in the bathroom and a little loose faucets ).

The improvement could be made for the food variety and choices every day.

Otherwise we had a great stay and I will warmly recommend scuba junkie or consider their sister's resorts in indonesia for future dive travels.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank sarahflokl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pulau Mabul
25.9 km away
Seafest Hotel
Seafest Hotel
#1 of 7 in Semporna
274 reviews
23.5 km away
Sipadan Inn 2
Sipadan Inn 2
#2 of 7 in Semporna
75 reviews
0.3 km away
Arung Hayat Sea Adventures
Arung Hayat Sea Adventures
#9 of 10 in Pulau Mabul
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Seahorse Sipadan Scuba Lodge
0.4 km away
Spheredivers Scuba & Leisure
Spheredivers Scuba & Leisure
#10 of 10 in Pulau Mabul
3 reviews
23.0 km away
Scuba Tiger Semporna Holiday Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scuba Junkie Mabul Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scuba Junkie Mabul Beach Resort

Address: Mabul Island, Pulau Mabul, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > Semporna District > Pulau Mabul
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Speciality Lodging in Pulau Mabul
Price Range: R597 - R664 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 24

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing