We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Different experience - Highly recommended”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Shepherd's Crook

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
20 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Shepherds hut -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Framlingham, Suffolk, East Anglia, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 20 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Hazza85
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Different experience - Highly recommended ”
Reviewed 7 November 2015 for a stay in October 2015

We were looking for a break away with a difference and this was definitely it! The crook is small but perfectly formed. It has everything you could need and with underfloor heating it was so cosy for an October stay. There is a well uplaced bird table out in the garden at the back of the crook and you can watch the birds through the window.The ensuite was perfect, no trudging across the field to go to the loo! The owner is very helpful and answered our questions about the crook and surrounding area, giving us tips on where to eat. There is plenty to do in Framlingham and there are leaflets in the crook to give you some inspiration. We loved our time here and will definitely will be returning.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Nov 2015
So glad you had a lovely time and enjoyed the bird table as even in the winter months there is always something to look at. We would be delighted to welcome you back anytime.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cheriamou...
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful haven for a countryside retreat!”
Reviewed 12 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Richard and Becky were fantastically supportive during our stay and have kitted this hut out with everything you could possible need; from the fire pit and BBQ to the in-hut games, all these little touches made it the perfect countryside retreat.

Delicious local hamper and wonderful recommendations for things to do, we'll definitely be coming back to Shepherd's Crook (and telling all of our friends!)

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Nov 2015
thank you for your kind words. So glad you had a great time and we look forward to welcoming you back anytime.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KiwipomLo...
London
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Charming and unconventional”
Reviewed 8 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015

We felt lucky to find this accommodation for a 2-night stay at short notice to be able to attend the Aldeburgh music festival.
Don't be put off by the rustic external appearance, although for us it was part of its charm.
It has all the facilities you need for a relaxing break, and what is provided is of good quality.
It offers tranquillity and privacy - we particularly enjoyed sitting outside using the table and chairs with a view over fields in the evening; and also in our pyjamas for breakfast.
Richard and Becky are very friendly and helpful, and went out of their way to ensure we had a comfortable stay.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loveland1...
2 reviews
“Peaceful, beautiful bliss”
Reviewed 26 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Shepherd's Crook is absolutely beautiful. The hut is gorgeous, the surroundings are peaceful, and the owners warm, friendly and helpful. The hut itself has everything you would need and more - everything last thing has been thought of - including a crummy breakfast and wine and chocolate!! We especially enjoyed hot chocolate round the firepit in the evenings. We can't recommend it high enough!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The hut itself
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aheytrave...
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A spring night's dreamy sleep”
Reviewed 19 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015
2
people found this review helpful

We came Friday night in spring and Beccy and Richard were so hospitable that the next day they let us leave our bikes en site and over night.
We arrived when it was cold outside but the underfloor heating In the hut and fully working shower took the chills away as did the generous welcome pack with a bottle of prosecco!
The hut itself is such a great use of space,brilliantly designed with cupboards , kitchen, full en suite - it's luxurious, comfy, romantic and there are enough sheep to count to send you to sleep!
It's set amidst a beautiful coppice, with lavender plants, wild flowers and a view through to the next field where rabbits gambol in the morning sun and the friendly pheasants play. Beccy and Richard were the perfect hosts. They were undeterred by our lactose intolerant pescatarian predelictions (aka we're a pain for brekkie) they made sure v kindly we had brunch ingredients which fully accommodated our needs (with some extras) which we cooked in the hut easily in the more than adequate kitchen, whilst leaving the doors and windows open to enjoy the tranquility and pretty sunny and secluded spot the hut is set-in. The whole set-up is magical and nearby there are great bike rides, walks, a 12th century castle and the famous aldeburgh festival and shops at snape maltings. I would deffo recommend this cleverly converted hut and its kindly hosts, I just wish we'd been able to stay longer! We'll be back! A&R x

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$127
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing