We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Glorious Spot”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Willow Cottage

Pretty 15 century cottage set in the heart of the countryside
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Pretty 15 century cottage set in the heart of the countryside
Patio area overlooking the garden and French doors into the lounge Approach to the cottage good secure garden
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
36 reviews
Pretty 15 century cottage set in the heart of the countryside
Patio area overlooking the garden and French doors into the lounge
Approach to the cottage good secure garden
View from the field back over the garden
Cosy lounge with wood burner
Lounge with French doors out to the patio
Fireplace with wood burner
Well equipped kitchen
Dining Room with seating for 6
Hall from the kitchen to the dining room
Really useful utility /boot room/pantry
Stair case ,typical Suffolk cottage style winding up to the bedrooms
Pretty bedroom with a king size iron bed
En suite bathroom
Double bed in the second bedroom
Dressing table in main bedroom
View from the kitchen window and patio
Set in a lovely large garden meadows extending to 2 acres
Walk to the lake across the meadow adjacent to the cottage full of butterflies in the summer
Fabulous lake ideal for a relaxing afternoon,stocked with pike, rudd, tench and perch
Characterful Dining room
A happy fisherman
Happy fisherman !
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Framlingham, Suffolk, East Anglia, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 36 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Sueandden...
Cambridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Glorious Spot”
Reviewed 19 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

For once we picked a good week weather wise, although I don't think it would have made any difference.

Had an absolutely fabulous week, the cottage was perfect and central to so many wonderful locations.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Country surroundings and lots of outdoor space
Liked least: cannot say there was anything we disliked
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Lauren H
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Beautiful cottage and gardens, 5 min drive to pubs, shops, etc”
Reviewed 21 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Willow Cottage is situated on a quiet lane, opposite a riding school, and there are 2 chalets for hire on the same premises. The outside of the cottage is lovely - you feel back in 1700s England straightaway! And there are lovely gardens with a table and chairs for 4, BBQ, etc and you can walk through the field to a lake at the end (take fishing stuff if you're keen). Inside the cottage are 2 lovely double bedrooms (1 ensuite), along with a decent sized kitchen, shower room, lounge and dining room downstairs. We really enjoyed relaxing on the feather sofas in the lounge (where a 5th person could sleep) watching the Olympics surrounded by the lovely beams in the room! Penny was quick to respond to questions and allowed us to take our 2 cats, which was necessary last minute. There was also a lovely homemade Victoria Sponge awaiting our arrival! The only thing I'd suggest is that the check out time is made clearer.. we raced around at about 10.30am packing when Penny knocked on the door - we hadn't seen any reference to a checkout time so had assumed around midday was OK, as that seems to often be the case at other places. We would have got ready much earlier if we'd known! Anyway, it was a great place for a few nights and we'll consider it again in future if in the area. We recommend the Dennington Queen for lovely pub food, including 2 courses for £10 on weekday lunchtimes - 5 minutes in the car.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brutus404
Hertford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“A peaceful escape”
Reviewed 19 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

A very cosy cottage with lots of character (oak beams, sloping floors etc.), in peaceful surroundings, but handy for the attractive town of Framlingham and some good village pubs. Our visitors included owls and hares! Very well equipped with all we needed, and with some nice touches such as cake and fresh flowers on arrival. The only downside is the need for tall people to keep their heads well down for the low beams, doorways etc., and it would probably not be suitable for small children or for elderly or disabled people, but it was great as a peaceful week's escape for the two of us, and we would certainly recommend it.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MrCEssex1
Essex, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Wonderful cottage with character ”
Reviewed 1 June 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Stayed here recently. Perfect venue for exploring some lovely spots in Suffolk such as Aldeburgh, South Wold and Framlingham.
The cottage has everything needed for a weekend away. Lots of character and charm. You will soon get used to the wonky floors above. Those above 6 ft will need to remember to duck when moving around the cottage but don't let that out you off. Make sure you walk as far as the small lake beyond the garden. Will definitely be back. And thanks for the cake. A lovely gesture and a very nice welcome.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing