We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
The Angel Inn(Stoke by Nayland)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 03/08
US$157
US$153
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 04/08
US$265
Hotels.com
View Deal
Stoke by Nayland Hotel, Golf & Spa(Leavenheath)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 03/08
Book now, pay at stay
US$265
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 02/08
US$190
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Marquis(Layham)
Free cancellation until 28/07
US$216
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Holiday Inn Express Colchester(Dedham)(Great Value!)
US$56
HIExpress.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$63/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Free cancellation until 01/08
Book now, pay at stay
US$445
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$77
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Poplars Farmhouse B&B(Stoke by Nayland)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (573)
Filter reviews
573 results
Traveller rating
381
120
44
25
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
381
120
44
25
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe pubsteakwell stocked mini barhaddockan extensive wine listwalk in showerby the glassunderfloor heatingboutique hotelbooked a tablegreat mealcooked to perfectionexcellent foodtwo coursesconstable countrypoached eggssaturday evening
Filter
Updating list...
27 - 32 of 573 reviews
Reviewed 2 April 2018

We were only here for a snack but found the mix of restaraunt tables and snug, comfortable seating area in the bar to be one of the nicest lay-outs that we have been to. We had a mixed platter of meats which was very nice, except, one slice of bread between two was a bit mean and we had to purchase a further trio of bread. The meals looked nice and we hope to try them out in the future.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2018 via mobile

Very comfortable bar area, friendly staff. Lovely restaurant, great food, one of the best meals I have had in a while. a little on the expensive side but you certainly get what you pay for. Cant wait to return

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Downba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2018 via mobile

Out for a country walk on a very wet day and called in here for a drink and ended up staying for lunch. Some nice real ales on tap and excellent wine. The staff were friendly, extremely professional and very attentive. The lunch menu was varied with something for everybody and the popularity of the place was demonstrated by the fact on a wet Wednesday at 1pm it was packed. Really good experience.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Rob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2018

Great Hotel, and lovely restaurant. I visited recently for a medium size family birthday meal, the restaurant was full, but the service was great , and the food perfectly cooked. Everyone enjoyed the range of dishes, but the Venison was heavenly , perfectly cooked and great quality. Really good menu and well delivered. Thoroughly recommended.

Room Tip: Best rooms look over the fields, almost all of them do ! the upstairs rooms obviously better.
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gary D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2018

We have been coming to The Crown for 10 years now. Never had a bad experience or left feeling short changed. The staff are so friendly they feel like family and the food is always exceptional.

A couple of years ago I was diagnosed as coeliac and around the same time The Crown adapted their menu to accommodate a gluten free diet. I should also mention that I don't eat meat, massively narrowing down my choice of dishes in most restaurants. Thanks to the fish of the day menu and vegetarian choices there is always something I can enjoy at The Crown, and they are always happy to modify a dish if needs be.

In short, I can't think of a single reason not to visit this restaurant. Even the breakfasts are amazing. Be sure to add The Crown as a destination venue on your sat nav.

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wendy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews