We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Crown, Stoke By Nayland
Nearby Hotels
US$213
Travelocity
View Deal
Stoke by Nayland Hotel, Golf & Spa(Leavenheath)(Great Value!)
US$226
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$206
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Marquis(Layham)
US$141
US$134
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Holiday Inn Express Colchester(Dedham)(Great Value!)
US$60
US$56
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$62
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Globe Hotel(Colchester)
US$82
US$79
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Riverside Hotel(Colchester)
US$84
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (549)
Filter reviews
550 results
Traveller rating
367
114
42
24
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
367
114
42
24
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe pubsteakwell stocked mini barhaddockan extensive wine listwalk in showerby the glassunderfloor heatingboutique hotelstandard roomfirst classbooked a tablegreat mealexcellent foodcooked to perfectiontwo coursesconstable country
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 550 reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We were only here for a snack but found the mix of restaraunt tables and snug, comfortable seating area in the bar to be one of the nicest lay-outs that we have been to. We had a mixed platter of meats which was very nice, except, one slice of bread between two was a bit mean and we had to purchase a further trio of bread. The meals looked nice and we hope to try them out in the future.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Very comfortable bar area, friendly staff. Lovely restaurant, great food, one of the best meals I have had in a while. a little on the expensive side but you certainly get what you pay for. Cant wait to return

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Downba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Out for a country walk on a very wet day and called in here for a drink and ended up staying for lunch. Some nice real ales on tap and excellent wine. The staff were friendly, extremely professional and very attentive. The lunch menu was varied with something for everybody and the popularity of the place was demonstrated by the fact on a wet Wednesday at 1pm it was packed. Really good experience.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Rob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Great Hotel, and lovely restaurant. I visited recently for a medium size family birthday meal, the restaurant was full, but the service was great , and the food perfectly cooked. Everyone enjoyed the range of dishes, but the Venison was heavenly , perfectly cooked and great quality. Really good menu and well delivered. Thoroughly recommended.

Room Tip: Best rooms look over the fields, almost all of them do ! the upstairs rooms obviously better.
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gary D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We have been coming to The Crown for 10 years now. Never had a bad experience or left feeling short changed. The staff are so friendly they feel like family and the food is always exceptional.

A couple of years ago I was diagnosed as coeliac and around the same time The Crown adapted their menu to accommodate a gluten free diet. I should also mention that I don't eat meat, massively narrowing down my choice of dishes in most restaurants. Thanks to the fish of the day menu and vegetarian choices there is always something I can enjoy at The Crown, and they are always happy to modify a dish if needs be.

In short, I can't think of a single reason not to visit this restaurant. Even the breakfasts are amazing. Be sure to add The Crown as a destination venue on your sat nav.

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wendy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews