We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Pure Bliss”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Red Bay Getaway

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Front side of house (facing water front)
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
23 reviews
Front side of house (facing water front)
Sunroom/living room/window with water view
Kitchen and dining area with view of the water
2 bedrooms upstairs (2 queen sized beds)
Downstairs washroom
Pathway to water
Sunsets are spectacular
What a view!
Dock at public beach down the road
Only in Canada :)
Bring your water toys
Great water for playing and exploring
Sorry but paddle board not included
Dock at public beach
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Sauble Beach, Bruce County, Ontario

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 23 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
George A
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Extremely Disappointing”
Reviewed 10 July 2016 for a stay in June 2016
2
people found this review helpful

What was suppose to be the highlight of our "tour of Canada" vacation turned out to be nothing but a major disappointment.

The pictures are very enticing on TripAdvisor but do not come close to the reality of this place.

We rented it for two nights but only stayed one day. This place was filthy. Dead bugs everywhere, cobwebs throughout the kitchen, broken trim, faulty doorknob, food on the patio furniture; I can go on and on. It took my spouse and myself over an hour to clean the place just to make it acceptable.

The owner of the rental mentioned that the property manager wasn't able to clean the place before we arrived. That's completely acceptable except for the fact that cobwebs this size don't appear in just a day.

The owner offered us a kind gesture and was willing to send us some of the money we put down for the rental. Unfortunately, after two weeks of waiting and multiple excuses, his kind gesture was just an empty promise.

The only thing this place has going for it is it's location.

I don't like leaving negative reviews but the owner failed to deliver what was presented on TripAdvisor and I would like to warn others when dealing with this owner.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location
Liked least: The way the owner treated me.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Jul 2016
We are sorry to hear that Red Bay Getaway did not meet your standards.
As you know, we pass savings onto our guests and keep prices reasonable by not employing professional, deep cleaning, services after each tenant. Most of our guests understand this and happily abide by our exit arrangements and leave the cottage in a hospitable state. Also, despite our efforts to manage the environment sympathetically (admittedly, we don't use overly environmentally toxic pest control measures) - wildlife and insects are a reality of life on the lake, in cottage country.
Perhaps, in the future, you might be more comfortable in a BnB and/or hotel rather than a whole cottage on the waterfront? You may find the level of comfort and service more to your liking. There are several in the area and I would be happy to provide you with a referral should you decide to visit our wonderful community again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarolineD...
London, Canada
1 review
“Pure Bliss”
Reviewed 28 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

Our family just returned from our vacation at Red Bay Getaway, we are amazed at how beautiful and enjoyable our stay there was. The property was more than you could ever ask for. Anything and everything you would need for a fantastic vacation is there for you, it provided enough privacy to fully relax and close enough to travel local for a great family day out!!! Our family truly loved it and will certainly be planning on going back again in the future, we recommend this location to anyone who is looking for a great place to stay near the water!!!!!

Thank you again to the amazing owner who ensured our stay was excellent.




Caroline and Family

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view on the water in the evening, the sunsets are just gorgeous!!!!!!!!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Jul 2016
Caroline, thanks for all your kinds words. We're so happy that you had such a good time. Please do keep us in mind in your future travel plans.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ingibaby1...
Port Colborne, Canada
1 review
“Awesome!”
Reviewed 3 January 2016 for a stay in December 2015

We had a beautiful relaxing stay at red bay. Everything is there that you need. A beautiful view of the lake and a minutes walk to a children's park with the beach. If u have kids it's a perfect spot. The cottage is very roomy and bright and it has great zen. We didn't want to leave! Want to return in September! Ingrid and Joseph Crowe ~ port colborne, ontario

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Views and cottage
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Jan 2016
Ingrid, you guys were AWESOME tenants. We would most definitely welcome you and your family back at any time. Please do come again as we love tenants like you :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chantal L
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“All the amenities and a sunset view!”
Reviewed 19 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

Wow. What a fantastic trip we had. We had every kind of weather and were able to enjoy the cottage to the fullest. The kitchen is so fully stocked that we found things that we didn't even think of and were able to use them. Thankfully the Apple T.V. saved the day for us watching a very important baseball game and we loved how close we were to Sauble Falls and Wiarton. We had no idea that there was heat in the smaller house and were cold in there so maybe add that to the list of instructions on the fridge. It was so nice and bright and perfect for 2 couples and our two dogs. We were able to see the maintenance man on the day we left so we pointed out a couple of things to him that needed looking at (burnt out light) and he was happy with the cleanliness of the cottage and how we left things. We will be back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The sunset view and access to the beach/trail.
Liked least: The neighbour and his chainsaw (although it wasn't too early)
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Oct 2015
Thanks for your kinds words. Stay in touch and hopefully we cross paths in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Candygurl...
Barrie, Canada
1 review
“Relaxing getaway with all the extras!”
Reviewed 23 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

My spouse and I were aw-struck by the immediate feeling we got when we entered the cottage. The view to the water from the dining room table was beautiful. Even with a day of drizzle on our weekend, we still enjoyed the peacefulness and tranquility of this getaway. Neighbors walking their dogs were friendly and didn't treat us as 'renters'. There is no doubt that the sunsets are stunning over the water. We of course took the opportunity to take pictures and immediately posted them on facebook where our friends became jealous of us. My spouse also wrote on his status after getting back for an hour to our home that he was 'ready to go back to the peacefulness and sounds of the waves'. We will definitely be going back!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Being close to the water.
Liked least: Only problem we had was following directions to start the satellite tv. lol
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Sep 2015
That's great to hear...despite the weather not cooperating. You guys would be most welcome back any time :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing