We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Truly perfect!”
other travellers have booked this property
The Old School
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Old School
Converted Primary School The Old School
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
23 reviews
The Old School
Converted Primary School
The Old School
Sitting Area with Open Fire
Spiral Staircase
Kitchen Area
Master with Kingsize bed and en suite bathroom
Double with Double bed with en suite bathroom
Double with 2 single beds plus en suite
The back garden and view
View from back garden
View from the back garden
Local Visitor
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Brechin, Angus, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 23 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Venture54...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Truly perfect!”
Reviewed 8 May 2018 for a stay in May 2018
1
person found this review helpful

This beautifully converted school house surpassed our expectations. The combination of a traditional building set within pretty and peaceful countryside along with a most comfortable and contemporary interior ensured we had a very enjoyable short holiday. Our group made full use of all the facilities including the secluded and lovely garden. We dragged ourselves away from the house to hill walk in Glen Prossan in the Angus Glens, and to cycle on the quiet roads around the area as well as further afield on the coastal path between Arbroath and Broughty Ferry. So much to see and do in this lovely and unspoilt region. Our thanks to Nick and Fiona for warm welcome and delicious coffee cake which we readily devoured !
We look forward to further visits in the not too distant future .

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 May 2018
We were delighted that you had such a good stay and would very much like to see you all again at some stage in the future. We were glad that the weather was OK for your walking and cycling.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oscar d
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“PERFECT COTTAGE!!”
Reviewed 6 August 2017 for a stay in July 2017

The photos can't show you how spectacular is the house at all. Tastiest cake once you start the stay.

Really comfortable, clean, large and well-furnished.

We'll visit again!

Thank you

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 May 2018
Thank you very much for your review, would love to see you all again at some time in the near future, you were great guests.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard M
1 review
“Great cottage”
Reviewed 6 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Nick - thanks for your welcome, the fresh cake, the garden games and the sunshine. What a wonderful cottage that suited our every need. Thanks again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Jul 2017
We were delighted that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you back one day, in the mean time enjoy part two of your holiday.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dang20152...
Regina, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Hidden little gem”
Reviewed 1 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

We were all impressed at this cottage. The photos on the website do not do it justice. It is well laid out. We were greeted by Fiona and shown around. She also brought over a coffee cake as part of the welcome.

The location is quiet and off the beaten path.

The spiral staircase is nice and the rooms are well laid out. There is a nice patio and access to a BBQ.

Just a great place to unwind.

Next time we are in the area we will book again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Jul 2017
It was a great pleasure to have you all to stay and we were delighted that you enjoyed your time at the Old School, we both hope that you enjoy the rest of your trip in Scotland.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Myra W
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Delightful and spacious home from home”
Reviewed 3 June 2017 for a stay in May 2017

The Old School is far enough off the A90 to be peaceful, but close enough to be only minutes from Brechin. There is roomy parking on the self-contained site. The conversion of the little school to a 3-bedroom, 3 en-suite, with large living area, is quite spectacular. It's modern, clean and comfortable and cleverly designed, with lots of extras and a very 'Australian' style - 4th toilet in a cloakroom by the front door, separate laundry, lots of lighting options, games and books, garden table and chairs. The spiral staircase has shallow steps and wasn't any kind of problem for us. The kitchen is fully equipped, with more than the basic minimum. I can't speak too highly of this lovely house. We also appreciated the lovely welcome from Nick and Fiona on our arrival, and the cake and fresh flowers. I can think of nothing that would have improved our stay in any way. It was a treat.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Jun 2017
Myra, Thank you very much for your review we are very glad that you enjoyed your stay at the Old school and hope that we will see you again at some stage in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing