We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Mind your head.............”
Halfway Cottage, with Off Road Parking
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Halfway Cottage, with Off Road Parking
Halfway - Sitting Room Area with Coal Effect Gas Fire Halfway - Dining Area with access to the Garden
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
32 reviews
Halfway Cottage, with Off Road Parking
Halfway - Sitting Room Area with Coal Effect Gas Fire
Halfway - Dining Area with access to the Garden
Halfway - Dining Kitchen looking onto the South Facing Garden
Halfway - Bedroom with King Size Bed & En Suite Bathroom
Halfway - Twin Room
Halfway - Twin Room with En Suite Shower Room
Twin Room En Suite Shower Room
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Nettleham, Lincoln, Lincolnshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 32 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Winco47
Poole - on the sunshine coast!
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
“Mind your head.............”
Reviewed 9 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Well first of all this review is for Corner Cottage. I see that Halfway Cottage is also reviewed on this same site, so do be careful that you know which cottage you are looking at.

This old stone cottage has been renovated to a high standard and has all, and indeed more, than is needed for a holiday let. It is very clean and all the facilities are in good order. We found the cottage to be very quiet even though it is situated at a crossroads in the village. The village is lovely, very pretty houses and gardens and not a scrap of litter in sight. It has a range of shops and pubs within walking distance so you are not far from supplies. Lincoln of course is not far away and has all the usual big supermarkets. There is a Waitrose Superstore to the north of the city, which is probably the nearest. So all in all the cottage deserves its Gold Award.

However nothing is perfect and I would like to draw your attention to the following points which will apply to you if you, like myself, are six feet or more tall.

Tall folk need to be very careful inside the cottage. The doors are very low, about six feet and some less. There is also a beam across the kitchen dining area which again is very low at around six feet. I collected quite a few bruises on my head!

You should also be aware that the 'cottagey' stairs up to the bedrooms are quite steep and the treads are not very deep. There is also a potential trip hazard on the landing as there is a small half-step between the bedrooms.

There is also a very sharp cupboard corner downstairs in the porch. We covered it with a plastic bottle cap until we got used to it.

So altogether, with the very uneven and sloping floors upstairs and low doors one needs to take real care when moving around until you get used to it. Those younger than myself would no doubt catch on a little quicker!

Again, if you are tall then you will find it difficult to use the mirror over the bathroom sink, as it is very low, due to the sloping ceiling. I think the addition of a shaving mirror on a flexible mount would solve this. Also in the bathroom there is no anti-slip mat in the shower and it can be slippery as the shower tray is not anti-slip.

It should also be noted that the outdoor sitting area (which is a lovely sun-trap) is outside the front door, facing the crossroads so there is no privacy. There is no back garden.

There is a garage for the car right on the road next to the cottage. Our normal sized saloon fitted in, but an estate or 4x4 may be too large. Something to check on if necessary. The up and over garage door when opened is very low as are the door tracks, the ends of which are very sharp metal. The door was too low for us to be able to open the hatchback more than a short way with the car in the garage. The road outside can be busy at peak times so great care is needed to get the car in and out.

However, apart from the points I have raised, which mainly affect tall people, we felt the cottage was a very nice place to stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: The very low ceilings and beams
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Jun 2015
Thank you for your review of Corner Cottage, I was pleased that you had found the cottage to be clean and of a high standard. It's good to know what our guests think of our properties, this helps us to meet and hopefully exceed visitors expectations.

As far as the character of the property is concerned - it is after all "a cottage", one of the oldest properties in the village, and
had you mentioned when booking Corner Cottage that you were 6' 2" tall I would have had the opportunity to suggest that Halfway would have been more suitable

As an aside, I was somewhat surprised that your trip-advisor review was so very different from what you had written in the cottage visitors book!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sally A
Lostwithiel
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Home from home”
Reviewed 29 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We booked this cottage in order to spend time with relatives in nearby Dunholme, and picked it solely for its location, but what a lucky find! Enquiry was dealt with promptly and straight forwardly and access was no problem, even though we were very vague about arrival times.

The cottage is absolutely delightful - true picture book and very well positioned in a picturesque village with all necessary amenities - but the best bit was the very tangible comfort. Absolutely anything we needed was there, where we expected to find it in clean, tidy drawers and cupboards. For example, even though the cottage only sleeps four, all the cutlery and crockery was provided in double quantity so we were never waiting for the dishwasher, and were easily able to offer return hospitality to our relatives.

The furniture, furnishings and fittings were all fresh and clean and the linen was attractive and of very good quality. We really did feel at home and are not surprised the cottage has a current gold award from the English Tourist Board.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The need not to have to improvise, which we have always found in other self catering lets.
Liked least: No downstairs loo and steep stairs
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diane K
St Helens
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Another great stay”
Reviewed 17 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

Another visit to corner cottage and again it did not disappoint! Bathroom has been totally re-done since our last visit and is gorgeous. It is becoming like a home from home for us and our little boy loves the trips to the local park everyday - can't wait to back again in 5/6 weeks!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
office035
Perth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Best place to stay in Lincolnshire”
Reviewed 8 March 2015 for a stay in February 2015

My wife and I and son stayed here 27 Feb to 5 March 2015 and found Halfway to be absolutely excellent in every way, from the large comfortable lounge and dining/sun lounge, the kitchen with everything you would need, to the bedrooms and en suites. The secluded garden and large off-road parking area complemented the property. Halfway is situated in a village with every facility and is very convenient for trips into Lincoln or any of the surrounding towns, villages or country districts. It is well served by a bus service which stops near the entrance to the drive. It evidences the great enthusiasm the owners have for the property and every effort was made to ensure our stay was enjoyable and comfortable. I would fully recommend this property to anyone and would hope to be able to stay again when next in Lincoln. 10/10 in every way.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, all facilities in Halfway, relaxing and 5 star facilities.
Liked least: Nothing.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annette H
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
1 review
“Super Cottage and great location.”
Reviewed 15 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

Spent an enjoyable week at Halfway. The cottage is the best self catering accommodation we have ever had. It has everything you need. Its like home from home. It has been awarded a Gold award so that speaks for itself. Nettleham is a lovely village with everything you need, and the centre is only a few minutes walking distance. The 3 Pubs also serve very good food. It has a good bus service to Lincoln which has so much to see. There are several National Trust Properties in the surrounding area which are well worth a visit.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing