We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (413)
Filter reviews
413 results
Traveller rating
147
200
45
15
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
147
200
45
15
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews indoor pool japanese restaurant kaiseki dinner onsen facilities package spring baths
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 413 reviews
Reviewed 1 July 2017

Check-in and general service was friendly and prompt. It is a huge hotel, so there are many tour groups and guests. The room is huge and clean. Besides two beds, there is a couch, coffee table and a balcony. The bathroom even provides cleansing milk, facial wash etc.

The location is a bit inconvenient, it is on top of a hill. About 10 minutes walk to the nearest public bus stop. We made the mistake of not getting the room plus dinner deal. There are only 2 restaurants in the hotel, one Japanese, one international buffet. The Japanese restaurant doesn't accept walk-in, and the dinner buffet cost 6,000 yen per person. Luckily, we brought some bread and instant noodles. So please bring cup noodles and other foods, just in case! Alternatively, have dinner in the town area and take a cab back to the hotel.

The hotel has an indoor swimming pool, Jacuzzi and hot baths. I liked the outdoor bath, it is surrounded by trees. Very serene environment. After the hot bath, you can enjoy chilled cassis drink, green tea etc, at the waiting area.

Breakfast was sumptuous. Plenty of Japanese and western choices. The food tastes fresh and good too. But the breakfast buffet is very crowded, so be prepared to wait in line for the hot dishes. It was a nice stay in general.

Room Tip: High floor, facing the sea.
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank SeahCS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
コガノイベイホテル予約担当者, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Shirahama Coganoi Resort&Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2017

Thank you very much for coming to our Shirahama Coganoi Resort & Spa this time.
All of our rooms are ocean view and the view is wonderful. We can overlook Tanabe Bay in the day time, and illuminations light up in the evening.
The public bath also makes us relax, and you can have an experience of extraordinary space.
Please relax in the living lounge where 3 kinds of drink were prepared after taking a bath.
Our buffet-style meal has abundant menus.
We are looking forward to see you again.

Yuna Furukubo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2017 via mobile

Came here for 1 night with family. Check in was excellent. Smooth and the hotel took care of luggage as we wanted to explore the area first.

Onsen was beautiful! In summer time they opened up the dividing wall between the indoor and outdoor pools and thus allowed the air to flow in, increasing the spatial feel of the onsen. Water was nice and silky. Amenities were adequate though I was surprised at the lack of toothbrush and toothpaste.

Kaiseki dinner was excellent with a variety of local produce presented delicately and specially curated to bring forth a seamless presentation of taste and sight. Highlight was the wagyu beef hotpot. Had to give up two slices to son because it was just so tender and delicious.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
Thank haroldgoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
コガノイベイホテル予約担当者, オペレーション部 at Shirahama Coganoi Resort&Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2017

Thank you for staying in our Shirahama Coganoi Resort & Spa.
I'm happy to hear that you enjoyed our meals and Onsen very much. Did you enjoy our Japanese meals?
When coming to Wakayama next time, please visit our hotel.
We're looking forward to seeing you all again.

Operating Department Misa Miyai

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2017

Stayed 1 night with my husband & parent. The rooms were very spacious with nice view of the bay. Buffet breakfast & dinner were fantastic. At last, I would like to thanks & high regards for two staffs of the service team, Front desk agent-高木 was pretty helpful, and also he can speak fluent English so the check in procedure was smooth. Annie is very nice person who provided a lot of information to me. I must definitely to stay this resort again in the nearly future.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ciss21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
コガノイベイホテル予約担当者, Operating Department at Shirahama Coganoi Resort&Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2017

Thank you very much for coming to our Shirahama Coganoi Resort & Spa.
We're glad that he could be helpful to you, and you could have a good time.
The view from the room is also one of the pride of our hotel. You can see the illumination at night as well.
We're looking forward to seeing you all next time.

Operating Department Yuna Furukubo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2017

The hotel itself is old but they have renovations last year, so the restaurant, onsen, indoor swimming pool, resting area and some rooms are look new. Room is clean & spacious with a nice balcony overlooking the sea. They have illuminations at night and are special and nice. We spent the whole afternoon at the indoor swimming pool and it was fun. We had buffet dinner and breakfast, food are mostly delicious but time for eating is only about one hour, it is too short to enjoy the food.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Syyb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
コガノイベイホテル予約担当者, オペレーション部 at Shirahama Coganoi Resort&Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2017

Thank you very much for your stay in our Shirahama Coganoi Resort & Spa. I am pleased to hear that you have had a very relaxing time at our hotel.
However, I'm sorry that the mealtime was too short to satisfy you.
If you have a chance to visit Shirahama next time, please come to the Shirahama Coganoi Resort & Spa.
We are looking forward to see you again.

Operating Department Misa Miyai

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2017 via mobile

I was extremely satisfied with our stay at this hotel. The food at the buffet was very good, with a great variety. The Onsen which was recently remodeled was extremely good, both outside and inside. I have never used such a deep outside bath before. Room was perhaps a little dated but very clean with no problems. We were on the 7th floor that had a nice view of the bay. It also has a heated pool and jacuzzi which is great for families. I have lived in Japan for 9 years and I can tell you that the onsen water here is awesome, it leaves your skin very healthy and smooth afterwards. Solid 4 stars, no problems at all with fantastic amenities.

Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank rosscokyoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
コガノイベイホテル予約担当者, Operation Department at Shirahama Coganoi Resort&Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2017

Thank you very much for your stay in our Shirahama Coganoi Resort & Spa. I am pleased to hear that you could be very satisfied with your stay at the hotel.
An outdoor bath in this hotel is very deep and the depth is 120cm. The innovative design bath tub is gaining a good reputation from many customers.
Please come again when you visit Shirahama. We're looking forward to see you again.

Operation Department Misa Miyai

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews