We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (164)
Filter reviews
164 results
Traveller rating
51
78
24
5
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
51
78
24
5
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bit dated female guests room facilities nice beach the hotel staff japanese style room shirahama beach onsen hotel sleeping luggage floor station balcony towels dinner taxi yukata
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 164 reviews
Reviewed 23 August 2016

They have normal Japanese style rooms on lower floor, which the amenities and toilet facilities are not very good. I would recommend the top floor Japanese style rooms with in room onsen (hot spring). It has a private wooden tub at the balcony of the room, overlooking the beautiful Shirahama Beach. And the room facilities, decorations, amenities are upgraded quite a lot. If I'm coming again will just stay at the top floor only.

Room Tip: Top floor room with in room private Onsen
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank andykk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2016

Upon entry to the hotel, the carpet had water stains that have accumulated over the years. Overall the condition of the lobby was not grand, like laforet, if that is what you are after. Going to the room, the hall had wallpaper that was peeling and the air was very hot (no A/C on). Inside, the room was fine with a nice ocean facing view. The balcony wasn't very good because the paint was cracking and I guess hard to clean the floor there.

Access was fine to everywhere in Shirahama though.

Room Tip: high floor, room 10-16 better view.
  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2016 via mobile

It was my first time trying Japanese style hotel and it was very nice experience, i enjoyed my staying there, the stuff are super friendly and they make an effort to speak english, the room was comfortable and cool and i had a beach view which was just awesome. I will come back to this hotel in the future.

Stayed: May 2016
Thank Rip H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2016

- Private in-room hot spring (onsen) in all rooms located on the 9th floor, set right next to the windows, guests can enjoy the gorgeous beach view and the onsen at the same time
- Free parking
- Conveniently situated right across the beach
- A great variety of yukata for female guests staying on the 9th floor to choose from and wear within the hotel area
- Dinner served inside the room, very delicate and of good quality
- Friendly and helpful staff

Room Tip: The Modern or Retro type room on 9F got slightly bigger hot springs
  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Linuspapamama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2016

Absolutely loved this hotel. It is right opposite a beautiful beach with restaurants within walking distance. If you arrive outside of the free hotel shuttle bus, get the Meiko Bus from bay 2 to Hashiriyu bus stop. It is stop number S-16 and costs ¥400. It virtually stops right outside the hotel. Be prepared for a steep climb up the driveway though.
We had room 515 which had a lovely view of the water and was on the same floor as the restaurant. The room was large and had all the amenities needed.
We had booked a bed and breakfast package but in hindsight it might have been better to book a package with dinner as well. The first night we were a bit lost but soon found some good restaurants about a 10 minute walk away to the right as you come out of the hotel.
To the left is Fisherman's Wharf. Just follow the road around until you find it. Lunch there consists of choosing the seafood that delights you and having it cooked on the spot. Very reasonable prices.
The best thing of all is the hot baths in the hotel. They are on the 2nd floor and alternate daily between the two i.e. male and female switch each day so you get to experience both. This was our first experience of a public hot bath and we LOVED it. All included in the price of your hotel.
Staff were very friendly and helpful. We had an early train trip and they arranged a box breakfast for us. Wake up calls were spot on and taxis arranged. If you do need to take a taxi to the station it is under ¥2000. We paid ¥1780 I think. This hotel delivers the goods and is well worth staying at.

Room Tip: Higher floors have a better view but all have some view.
  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank geniegal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews