We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect stay, so peaceful and relaxing”
other travellers have booked this property
Castaway Ocean Lodge near Lockeport, Nova Scotia
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Castaway Ocean Lodge near Lockeport, Nova Scotia
Relax in the hot tub at Castaway Ocean Lodge Castaway Ocean Lodge near Lockeport, Nova Scotia
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
14 reviews
Castaway Ocean Lodge near Lockeport, Nova Scotia
Relax in the hot tub at Castaway Ocean Lodge
Castaway Ocean Lodge near Lockeport, Nova Scotia
Shed at Castaway Ocean Lodge
Relax on the deck at Castaway Ocean Lodge
Fire pit
Kitchen at Castaway Ocean Lodge
Kitchen at Castaway Ocean Lodge
Dining area at Castaway Ocean Lodge
Dining area at Castaway Ocean Lodge
Open concept living room, kitchen and dining area
Living room
Living room
Living room
Living room
Living room
Living room
Bedroom at Castaway Ocean Lodge featuring queen size bed and patio doors leading to deck
Bedroom at Castaway Ocean Lodge featuring queen size bed and patio doors leading to deck
Bedroom at Castaway Ocean Lodge featuring queen size bed and patio doors leading to deck
The shore at Castaway Ocean Lodge
The shore at Castaway Ocean Lodge
Kayaks are provided for kayaking the beautiful waters of West Green Harbour
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Lockeport, Southwest Nova Scotia, Nova Scotia

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 14 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
LRBwave
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Perfect stay, so peaceful and relaxing”
Reviewed 26 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015
5
people found this review helpful

We just had our second stay in this cabin and it was just as good as the first. We bought some friends along the second time, and they enjoyed the cabin and Nova Scotia as much as us.
The hot tub is fantastic and we were in it every day, they had upgraded it to a new one second time around, which was even better. There are robes provided in the cabin to make full use of it even when it’s a little chilly in the evenings. It’s so peaceful and quiet, with no neighbours overlooking you, a really good place to chill out. We made use of the fire pit outside and the kayaks to explore. The first time we went there were some seals we spotted in the water nearby while were kayaking.
We ended up travelling around in the good weather, up to the wineries in the Annapolis Valley, to Luneburg and beautiful nearby Shelburne (Charlotte Lane Cafe is worth checking out the food is amazing). On the rainy days we enjoyed relaxing in front of the log fire, cooking in the very well equipped kitchen and playing the many board games left for use in the cabin.
The cabin is really homely and comfortable; there is everything you could ever need. I can’t wait to go back again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Jul 2015
Thank you for your really nice review of Castaway Ocean Lodge. It really is a lovely spot. The best endorsement we can have is when people return to the cottage.
All the best,
Helen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vlynch5
South Bend, Indiana
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Terrific Getaway”
Reviewed 25 June 2014 for a stay in May 2014
5
people found this review helpful

We stayed at the Castaway Ocean Lodge for a week and had a wonderful time. The view from this venue was exceptional and its location was perfect for day trips to nearby towns. The cabin had everything we needed to make this vacation very relaxing.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Jul 2014
Thank you for your kind words. I am so pleased that you enjoyed yourself at Castaway Ocean Lodge.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SR C
Halifax, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Lovely and Quiet”
Reviewed 18 October 2013 for a stay in October 2013
4
people found this review helpful

We stayed at this rental for the Thanksgiving long weekend. It was a very nice spot and great weather over the weekend. We had originally chosen another rental but it became unavailable so Helen kindly sent us a list of other available properties. We chose this one because it had the hot tub. It overlooks the ocean and the property is very private so it was very comfortable. There is also a huge fire pit on the side of the house and lots of dry wood/branches around the property so it practically begs to have a bonfire.

The down side was that it was a little expensive for 3 nights. ($600) We have stayed at other similar properties in the area that were at a better price point. Also, I wasn't really keen on the fact that they charge you a non-refundable 'insurance fee.' They say it takes the place of a damage deposit, but honestly, I'd rather pay a $500 deposit that I'd get back than pay out an extra $45 on the off chance I might accidently break something. I think things like this should be included in the rental. We did decide at the last minute to go away so we just went with it.

The pictures are accurate. It has a very rustic wooden interior. We ran into a few glitches. Nothing major just annoying, like barely any stations on the satellite tv, a coffee maker that worked intermittently, some missing paper products...nothing serious but for the price being paid I made sure to let Helen know. She was appreciative of the feedback and I'm confident these inconveniences will be taken care of right away.
There is no basement access through the house so you do have to cart your laundry down the patio steps and around. There is no laundry basket so that would completely drive me nuts if I were there for more than a few days.

There is also a good sized baseball field and a small cemetery if you take a stroll up the road. Since we went strictly to relax...that's as far as we went...no touring around for us :-)

I'd definitely go again with friends or family. It would not only off set the cost but the house and property are spacious enough to accomodate a group comfortable without being in each other's pockets. It really is a great, quiet and private property.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The hot tub
Liked least: It was a bit pricey for 3 nights...
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gandbi
Brooklyn, New York
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Perfect for two couples”
Reviewed 5 September 2013 for a stay in August 2013
4
people found this review helpful

We stayed at Castaway Lodge with another couple and found the accommodations perfect. The bedrooms are on opposite sides of the large log house, each with its own sliding glass door onto a private portion of the deck. We had a lot of fun cooking together in the well-equipped kitchen, eating each meal on the spacious deck with a spectacular view of the bay.

We kayaked each day. (We brought our own kayaks, but our friends used and enjoyed the two single kayaks that come with the rental.) On a boating note, it's important to pay attention to the tide, and plan to return to the landing before the tide goes out any more than half way!

The lodge is beautiful inside and out and feels clean and comfortable, balancing convenience with rustic charm. The hot tub worked perfectly, and we were able to gaze at the full moon from its steamy comfort on a chilly August night. Magical!

Arrangements were easy to make, and the directions to the property were clear. A large binder in the lodge contains a lot of useful information about the area and the lodge itself.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The openness of the interior space, and the view of the bay
Liked least: mosquitoes!
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dzalvarez
New York City, New York
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fairytale Vacation”
Reviewed 9 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013
2
people found this review helpful

Staying at Castaway Ocean Lodge was a fairytale experience. The spacious luxurious log cabin has all the charm of a Hans Christian Anderson storybook tale with its wide view of the sea. A short stroll downhill brings you to another dreamy vista of islands rising from the mist. We never wanted to leave and mostly just made short trips to buy seafood for the grill and fire pit. The oceanfront kitchen is beautiful and thoughtfully stocked. The hot tub and bath towels were a treat. By far the most magical, romantic and private place we’ve ever rented anywhere.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The sea view and private location
Liked least: Just wish it were closer to NYC!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing