We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Absolutely wonderful place”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Boathouse

The Boathouse is set in the woods, above the Vale of Ffestiniog
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Boathouse is set in the woods, above the Vale of Ffestiniog
The Boathouse from the garden, with bonfire area. The sitting area with wood burning stove
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
59 reviews
The Boathouse is set in the woods, above the Vale of Ffestiniog
The Boathouse from the garden, with bonfire area.
The sitting area with wood burning stove
The kitchen and dining area viewed from the sitting area
The dining area with Welsh Dresser
Sitting area with kitchen/dining area behind
Master bedroom, door to landing and stairs on left, door to ensuite is to the right, out of picture.
Master bedroom, door to landing and stairs on right, door to ensuite to left (out of picture)
One of the two twin bedrooms downstairs, with window to terrace, garden, woods and steam trains
The other twin bedroom downstairs, door with window leading to woods and garden via side of house
The shower room downstairs, with sink to left, shower and heated towel-rail
The side of the house
The ffestiniog historic steam railway passes about 100 metres away, down a wooded slope
Plas Halt request stop on the ffestiniog railway, 15 minutes enchanting walk through the woods
The lake near the house
The lake, with the house just visible in mid-picture
Flowers at the side of the house
The house is deep in the Snowdonia National Park, you can walk out directly onto this woodland path
One of the ancient oaks in the woods around the house
Map of local walks
One of many walks direct from the house 10mins uphill to this view: Portmeirion, Harlech, Porthmadog
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Maentwrog, Gwynedd, North Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 59 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Russian first
Any
English first
Ambassado...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Absolutely wonderful place”
Reviewed 14 December 2016 for a stay in December 2016
2
people found this review helpful

The Boathouse is truly amazing, perfect in fact.....I would completely recommend anyone to visit and enjoy all of the beauty and charm it has to offer.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Accrington, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 November 2016 for a stay in November 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: Going home
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Pawel P
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“beautiful house in a perfect location”
Reviewed 4 October 2016 for a stay in September 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Where do I start?... After booking the Boathouse you receive a welcome pack on your e-mail address with directions how to find the house, instructions where to find shops, restaurants, pubs and local attractions. Finding the hose was very easy even after dark (we arrived at 10 pm as our car broke down with around 30 miles to go in a place where there was no mobile phone signal), just follow the directions given. So, there we are, tired, hungry and totally p....d of about the whole car thing, we drive through the gate (a little light outside the hose is visible from the fire road) and we see this house built out of stone, looked kind of small on the outside, but when we went inside we were amazed. Three good size bedrooms (one with double bed and two with two singles) and huge open plan living area kind of split into kitchen/diner and a sitting area with couches, armchairs, a telly and a wood burning stove (which was in use for the whole week). We put the fire on, sank in the couches and straight away forgot about the car, jobs, rent, bills and everything else. The interior is done up to good modern standard (including bathrooms and kitchen) although we struggled a bit with the oven, some buttons are broken and for some reason the gas just wouldn't stay on at times, but once you get it going it works fine. There's a good water pressure in the showers and the water is proper hot. No probs whatsoever with the washing machine and the dishwasher, The house would hugely benefit from a tumble drier though, if you're into any kind of outdoor activity you'll have a lot of dirty clothes to wash and dry, but we still managed alright and had clean, dry clothes every day to go walking, mountain biking and frying sausages over the fire afterwards (oh, did I mention there is a dedicated place for an open fire outside?). There are two swings hanging down from trees around the hose presumably made by guests, we haven't used them and-just like the owners-we wouldn't recommend using them, you just don't know how strong those ropes are. When you sit outside by the fire you can see the nearby lake and the tracks of the Ffestiniog rail and the trains go by every so often and train drivers and passengers wave at you :-) The Oakeley Arms pub/restaurant (5 minute drive or a 40 minute walk through the woods) has a selection of beers and ales, we haven't tried their food but the menu looks tempting. Supermarkets are within a 15 minute drive, you can buy wood for the stove in Tesco, for food we mostly used Lidl which is just around the corner from Tesco. You can access bridleways an footpaths right from outside the house. You're allowed to cycle on them as well, as long as you slow down and give way to walkers (there's very few). They are still quite fun to ride, so If you had a couple to many recovery pints the day before and not feeling like hitting anything bigger today you can still go out and ride the local woods. If you are planning an MTB holiday you have Coed y Brenin and Snowdon within 20 minute drive. There's a locked shed where you can put your bikes but I think I would feel comfortable enough to just leave them outside the house overnight if I had to-that's how remote it is.
All that for 400 quid for 7 nights. We're definitely going back.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AineMurph...
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Loved the Boathouse, planning next trip ... great with young kids.”
Reviewed 5 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Hi, I booked the Boathouse for a last minute 4 night stay over the bank holiday weekend in August. With 2 kids (9 & 5) finding something for everyone is challenging. The Boathouse has it all, loved the fire pit, log seats - bought a couple of disposable bbq's from Tesco's and enjoyed a few nights round the fire toasting marshmallows. The rope swings kept the kids occupied and a few torches to go hunting for fairies once it got dark made it thrilling for the kids. The Boathouse is well equipped, finished beautifully and really comfortable. Pay the extra to have linen and towels there on arrival, so much easier than packing it all into the car. Trips I would highly recommend when with young children, King Arthur's Labyrinth for all ages, the Heritage Railway in Porthmadog (kids get to drive a train & get certificate!) & Green Wood Forrest Park (expensive entrance fee - move away from the entrance as everything costs extra - further in there is more to do and not everything costs extra). Overall we loved this holiday so much that we hope to come back next year. Thank you Giles and Bethan for a lovely stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The Boathouse is beautifully finished and the outdoor fire pit was a joy.
Liked least: No Wifi!
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing