We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great location, Beautiful scenic views from cosy...”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
12 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Les Arcs, Bourg Saint Maurice, Savoie, Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Hayley_Lo...
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great location, Beautiful scenic views from cosy apartment”
Reviewed 7 February 2016 for a stay in January 2016

I recently stayed for a long ski weekend with my husband. The apartment is located in the heart of bourg st Maurice, a short walk from the train station. When we arrived at the apartment I was pleasantly surprised, very cosy and warm with lovely views looking out to the snowy mountains. The apartment had everything we needed, it was very clean and had a nice bed to collapse on after a day of skiing.
There is a bar beneath the apartment which serves breakfast and coffee if you fancy eating out in the morning, there is also a restaurant just round the corner.
The town is very picturesque and has everything you need, there is a super u supermarket at the edge of the town which is a few minutes drive or probably a 10 minute walk which literally has everything! There are lots of restaurants all within walking distance, we found a lovely restaurant as you come out of the apartment block across the road next to the stream which I would recommend to any cheese fondue lover!
All in all this is a great apartment which is extremely good value for money, we will definitely be returning. The owner is English and was really helpful when we asked her for further information. There is plenty of parking which is secure with a key fob gate for peace of mind.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Feb 2016
Thank you for your review. Your comments are appreciated and it is lovely to hear how much you enjoyed your stay. I look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Regards, Emma
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GWedd133
Norwich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Top spot in one of the best ski areas in the Alps”
Reviewed 26 January 2016 for a stay in January 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We took the ferry and drove using the instructions from the owner which brought us right to the door after a best part of 850 mile trip, nice. Loads of off-street parking to the rear with a door straight into the drying room area. This also happens to be on the same side as the funiculaire which takes you up the hill, handy. The funiculaire/train is a very short walk too.
The train station is also a minute away if you get the overnight ski train.

The apartment is cosy and well appointed. A double bed and large, or adult bunks in one bedroom with a sofa bed in the living area. My partner and I with our 2 children where fine in the bedroom and my brother and his partner came and stayed for a few days on the sofa bed. Kitchen is all there and suited our needs well however there are numerous restaurants all over the town and we were on holiday after all. We ate in a different one every time out. If you are food loving folk, at the roundabout just outside, take the first exit, (that is from the French side of the road). Walk up the hill about a quarter of a mile there is a restaurant on the left hand side of the road. It is the only one so you can't miss it. They only open maybe 3 nights of the week I think but well worth it. Some of the best food we have had anywhere and they loved the kids too!

The bathroom has a bath as well as a shower with a separate toilet which is needed when the kids are ages in the bathroom. There is a washing machine in there too which we found very useful. All in all everything we needed was on hand and supplied and linen is available if you need it.

There are bars and restaurants directly below the accommodation but as I said, there are many more if you take a stroll.
Out of the front door and left is Lidl, perhaps a 10 minute walk. Turn right and this is the main shopping area with sports shops, 2 more supermarkets and lots more. If you are driving, Tignes is this way too. The town also has a wonderful street market for cheeses, meats etc.

Regarding the internet comments I have read before......I have never paid this money for a small apartment and expected to be getting free internet, it's not a hotel or large catered chalet after all. We bought mobile bolt-ons and it added about £10 to the holiday.

We loved it and will be going again for sure. Thanks for a top trip

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Easy to find, centre of town, easy access to the slops
Liked least: Not a lot
Travelling group: Other
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Jan 2016
Thank you for your review. Great to hear you enjoyed your stay and I will look forward to welcoming you back in the future!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Travelwiz...
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Convenient location. Excellent value for money. Left in the 1990's”
Reviewed 19 January 2016 for a stay in January 2016
1
person found this review helpful

The apartment is owned by an English family. We booked at the last minute and communication was good - being British ourselves language was not a problem...... Didn't meet the owner but she was very pleasant on the phone and email. The apartment is maybe 200 metres from the TGV/Eurostar station and the coach station and relatively easy to find. Although an email map or photos would not go amiss along with the written description.

We arrived straight from a night of no sleep from the overnight Eurostar 'snow train' and had the codes and instructions how to get into the apartment at 7.00 in the morning. We were probably lucky that there had been nobody in on the change-over day. Otherwise we would have been stuck for 6 or 7 hours and totally wiped out from the terrible, horrible, torturous 'snow train' direct from St Pancras London. That is another review for another time....

The apartment is compact but was fine for 2 adult children & 1 parent as we were..

Everything was supplied for a comfortable stay. Fresh linen was provided and towels. Note that this is a separate request if required.

There is a proper bath - essential in my view if you are a middle aged inactive, going to seed, once per year skier like me. The kids didn't care... The galley kitchen is well equipped, if small, - but there is a large dining table that is close to hand, that doubles as a work surface if preparing meals for the family. But all this is no worse than any of the other notorious French skiing apartments I have been crammed into in the past, that euphemistically say they 'sleep 6 people' with one double bed and a sofa... This place could probably sleep 6, or 12 , at a real push - 2 bunk beds, 1 double and 1 small double sofabed.. but then you would need to operate a submarine system of hot-bedding. 6 ski and 6 sleep... In reality 4 adults would probably be the max you would want to accommodate for more that 48 hours. Or 2 adults and 4 youngish kids. The one thing that was missing for the 21st century was 'INTERNET' & No International Cable or UK TV (but that is not so much of a loss) . I guess we are spoilt in the UK with reasonably good internet access. However, anyone with a business to run or check-up on, whilst away, or with tech savvy kids (so virtually all British kids) , who are on their phones all the time - I suggest that you avoid this apartment unless you want to be seriously inconvenienced, or spend an arm & a leg on roaming charges. We found that the neon lit, atmosphere free, bar downstairs (on the corner) had wi-fi if you went through a pain in the a**e sign-up to free spam internet service every time you signed in.. So we did that twice and gave up. We then found a bar across the road from the railway station - 5 mins walk from the apartment - max - that was weirdly a ski-shop- cum bar -cum coffee shop -cum restaurant-cum internet cafe and they had free and quite fast (you had to also sign up for free spam but could opt out of the spam part...) but with download restrictions. It was good enough for emails for me and Insta-book and Face-gram for the girls.. It was also the hippest place in what was quite disappointingly a very dead little town. We arrived on the 2 January and stayed until the 8th - and the bars in the centre virtually all closed early. Places that remained open were like Diss on a Sunday night in a cold January (insert your own dead little market town here)......The only notable exception to the quiet & lack of nightlife was a bar called 'Black&White' positioned next to the main entrance to the apartment and 3 floors below the apartment.. This was an interesting place with an early evening, female clientele that seemed to attract men as the night went on.... and the beat & music became louder and woke everyone up. The apartment is also on a main road, of a working town, and so is noisy if you are not used to traffic noise or are a light sleeper. If you are a light sleeper then you are not skiing hard or long enough...

Directions and a welcome pack would have been nice. All there was, was a scrappy handwritten page torn from of a spiral note book instructing us how to turn on the water, heating electricity etc and how to turn it off again - and a pile of leaflets and brochures from previous seasons on the kitchen table. Directions to the supermarket would have been appreciated, tips for where to eat, where to buy specialist food etc also would have been good.
As it was we found out on our own and it didn't do us any harm. For your information there is a Lidl that serves very good bread and 'morning food' approx 10-15 minutes up from the station on the main road. There is a great Fromagerie and deli opposite the station & bus garage and if you turn right from the front door of the apartment and walk for 15 minutes then there are Dia, Intermarche, Super U supermarkets, 2 InterSport stores with great choice of cycling and skiing equipment, designer (not cheap) clothes stores & a Mc Donald's drive through...... so home-from-home really....

We didn't have a car and so did not 'discover' the out of town shopping place until that last few days and only after asking people if the Lidl was the only supermarket in town... All part of being away though ...

So in summary... Plus's : Perfectly nice and adequate apartment for a short summer or winter break. Good value for money. negatives : Needs updating and some TLC, can be noisy, but worst of all NO INTERNET ACCESS.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and value
Liked least: No Internet
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Jan 2016
Thank you for your review.

It is a shame your experience of the ski train doesn't sound like a good one however I have only heard positive things about it. You did explain to me that you had made a mistake and were having to travel back to the UK mid trip with one of your daughters therefore 2 trips in one week would have been challenging how ever good the service was.

I have noted your comments with regards to what you would have found helpful and I am in the process of putting these into place. This is the first year the apartment has been rented out so it helps to have feedback on what guests would find helpful. With regards the instructions I had actually sent a typed version to the caretakers pre season who were asked to laminate them and put them in the apartment for guests to use if asked to. This clearly has not been done so I will contact the caretakers regarding this. The instructions are there for guests in case they are unsure how to operate the heating and water etc. However it is relatively straightforward and is usually switched on for guests arrival by the caretaker. So no need for guests to deal with usually.

With regards to the apartment sleeping up to 6 persons this is not intended to be misleading in any way, it is simply stating that there are beds for 6 persons if required. It depends on the guests requirement and sometimes as is the case with my next guests they just want somewhere to sleep. It is a party of 6, students and teacher and the apartment suits there needs, somewhere that suits their budget and somewhere to get there heads down at night. It is the choice of each potential guest as to whether the apartment is adequate for their particular needs and the photographs clearly show the size of the apartment.

I think it is important I clarify the bar 3 storey's below the apartment is next to the main entrance door to the apartment block and not the entrance to the apartment itself. I'm a little concerned at what you may be implying about the staff and clientele but will leave that comment there! Again I appreciate your comments regarding noise however I have not received any comments from any other guests regarding any noise issues neither have I found it an issue when I have stayed at the apartment myself.

Finally with regards Internet Access although I am it would seem very much in the minority who can do without the internet for a few days I appreciate it is a very essential part of most peoples lives these days, I am therefore in the process of looking into how this can be installed, I have a 15 year old son who has his phone constantly in reach and pinging every second so I completely understand where you are coming from.

Again thank you for taking your time to review the apartment.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olly D
Oxford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Lovely and Comfy Flat within Bourg”
Reviewed 27 December 2015 for a stay in December 2015

A lovely stay it a really nice flat, everything that was needed was there and it is a fantastic to place to come back to after a hard days skiing. A 5 minute walk from the Funicular, 2 minute walk into town and if you have a hire car very quick drive to the supermarket too!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Jan 2016
Thank you for your review. Great to hear you enjoyed your stay!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MASSIOT S
1 review
Reviewed 28 January 2016 for a stay in December 2015
Google Translation

Travelling group: En famille avec adolescent(s)
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Jan 2016
Thank you for your review.

I have noted your comments regarding the sliding doors to the balcony and the cooker hood. Clearly this is a cleaner/caretaker issue and I will be contacting them to ask that the issues are rectified with immediate effect.

With regards your comments that I became litigious persistent and rude with regards the late departure I think it only fair I respond. You rented the apartment for 3 nights over the christmas period for £180. If you had informed me that you required a late departure then this would not have been a problem and would have been at no extra charge. The issue was not whether there were guests following you but the fact that the cleaner has to be pre booked to clean the apartment after the checkout time in order to get it ready for the guests who were to arrive the following day, otherwise as you must be aware this is a system which operates all over the world. As it was the cleaner arrived at approximately 11am and was not able to gain access so had to return the following day very early to clean the apartment I was however charged for the both visits which is normal procedure. As is was you had decided to leave at 4pm!!!! Luckily there were not guests following you on the day!

I don't see therefore how asking you to cover a the bill for the failed visit which amounted to 33 euros is being litigious, rude and persistent. I think this is unfair however you are of course entitled to your opinion.

I do hope however that you enjoyed your stay and again thank you for your review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing