We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A great house next to kruger”
other traveller has booked this property

Review of Milkwood

Zebra having a drink from the bird bath.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Zebra having a drink from the bird bath.
Covered veranada with comfortable deck furniture. Covered veranda with 8 seat dining set.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
7 reviews
Zebra having a drink from the bird bath.
Covered veranada with comfortable deck furniture.
Covered veranda with 8 seat dining set.
Dining room overlooking living room.
Open plan kitchen overlooking living and dining rooms.  With AC, fans and 12 volt lighting system.
Living room with DSTV, DVD/Blu-ray player.
Visiting zebra with the coolest strips outside kitchen.
Vervet monkey having a drink in the splash pool.
Kudu overlooking pool and elevated deck.
Common duiker pair during nightly visit.
Kudu bull coming for a head scratch on the Milkwood's gate.
Master bedroom sleeper pull out couch.
Double bedroom with AC, mosquito net and fan.
Single beds X 2 bedroom with AC, mosquito net and fan.
Purple crested lourie coming for a bath.
Mother Zebra and foal in driveway near single garage.
Splash pool overlooking over the 25sq m elevated deck.
Beautiful Milkwood tree outside of front door of the house.
Master bedroom en-suite bathroom with bathtub.
Main bathroom with large shower stall.
Kudu with pool and elevated deck.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Marloth Park, Mpumalanga

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 7 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
natanisr
Israel
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A great house next to kruger”
Reviewed 27 November 2017 for a stay in November 2017

A great and spacious house in Marloth Park.

The house is large and very well maintained. There are many animals wondering around, great fun for the kids.

We highly recommend this house

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kim F
2 reviews
“General Manager ”
Reviewed 20 December 2016 for a stay in November 2016

This is a beautiful place for a home away from home with the bonus of wildlife neighborly visitors. A great place for a couple or a family for any holiday. Very clean, updated and secure with wonderful South African flare. Can't wait to come back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Dec 2016
Thanks for your visit, we look forward to seeing you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dustin L
1 review
“Great place to experience the South African Bush!”
Reviewed 26 January 2016 for a stay in November 2015

We had a great time at this guesthouse. We loved that when relaxing around the house there were many animals that came right up to the deck fence every day we were there. We had groups of Kudu, Zebra, Bush Babies, Warthogs, Mongooses and many birds coming by. It was fun to feed the grass pellets that came with our stay to the animals as well. We used the Braai at the house often, we found all of the cooking supplies we needed to make our own meals. The Tin Shack and the Aamazing River View restaurants in Marloth Park were super close so we enjoyed the food when we did not feel like cooking ourselves. We also liked that it was only a 20 min drive to the entrance of Kruger National Park via Crocodile Bridge Gate because went into the national park many times over our stay at this house.

Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Jan 2016
So glad you enjoyed your visit. You were excellent guests and we welcome you back anytime.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ingrid O
Lethbridge, Canada
1 review
“A beautiful vacation rental bordering Kruger National Park”
Reviewed 17 December 2015 for a stay in November 2015

Milkwood in Marloth Park offered us a wonderful African vacation. Marloth Park borders Kruger National Park and is approximately 15 minutes from Crocodile Bridge Gate and about a half hour from Malelane Gate. We enjoyed several days of game drives and sighted the Big 5. We also saw some of the Small 5 and the Ugly 5. Lionspruitt is a private reserve belonging to Marloth Park and minutes away from the house. Being so near was a nice afternoon outing for a game drive and we saw the three rhino that reside here and many other animals.
The house is a modern and beautiful home with all the amenities (a/c, dishwasher, washer/dryer) in a fantastic bush setting. The neighboring homes are set up so that everyone has the privacy of being in the wild but the safety of the secure park area.
The owners took extra steps to ensure we had a great time. Good instructions for the house and yard as well as firestarter, wood, feed and birdseed for when we arrived so that we could enjoy the braai and wildlife on our first day.
The special treat is being able to sit on the deck and enjoy the animals coming to us.
Zebras, kudu, impalas, warthogs, and even the shy duiker! What a great experience!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Dec 2015
Thank you, we are very happy you enjoyed your stay!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison A
Nairn, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic house, loved it!”
Reviewed 21 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We stayed for a week in August with 3 children aged 15, 12 and 2.5. Everyone loved the house and the area. The animal sightings from the veranda were brilliant. It is such a thrill to see a real live zebra in your back garden! The house was lovely really comfy, loads of space to relax and has everything you can imagine you would need, including some very useful books on wildlife. The house is right on the boarder to Kruger National park so we had a quite few fabulous excursions into the park seeing elephants, hippos and lions as the highlights. We also loved the splash pool and most of all the veranda where you could watch the local wildlife without having to go anywhere. The kids can't stop raving about the place and we will certainly be back again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Watching animals from the veranda
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Oct 2015
Thanks so much, we love sharing our home with guests that enjoy it as much as we do.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing