We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderfull deck and view on kruger”
other travellers have booked this property
Relax on our deck and watch the animals of Kruger Park come down to the river. Best view in Marloth
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Relax on our deck and watch the animals of Kruger Park come down to the river. Best view in Marloth
The large deck overlooking Crocodile river and Kruger Park. The best view in the whole park
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
19 reviews
Relax on our deck and watch the animals of Kruger Park come down to the river. Best view in Marloth
The large deck overlooking Crocodile river and Kruger Park. The best view in the whole park
Spend the day relaxing while still game viewing. Others must drive for a look at Kruger. You don't
Probably the best breakfast bar in the world
The fold away doors from the living area open out to the great deck. Guests have seen Big 5 here
Living room
Twin bedroom
Living area downstairs leading to a fully equipped kitchen
Fully equipped kitchen with everything you need.
Downstairs shower
The house in full. This is all your to rent. No sharing.
The house at night. So close to the river you hear all the great African sounds of the night.
Expect regular visitors in the garden.
You will see plenty of visitors in the garden to give you a real safari bush experience
The splash pool to cool down during the hot day
With its position, not only overlooking Kruger but in line for magnificant sunset every night
The house in the African bush
The view from the deck over Kruger Park. One of the best views in Africa.
The house surrounded by the African bush
Double bedroom.
Live like a South African and enjoy barbques at night
Sunset from the deck. An amazing experience
Every morning, grab a coffee and have a look to see whats at the river
More visitors in thew garden
More of the view from the house
Spotted from the deck regu
The garage in the park. Shops too not you are not too isolated.
You will get very close to the game. Closer than in most parks
Lion hunt photographed from the deck April 2012 - Part 1
Lion hunt photographed from the deck April 2012 - Part 2
Lion hunt photographed from the deck April - Part 3
Lion hunt photographed from the deck April 2012 - Part 4
Lion hunt photographed from deck April 2012 - Part 5
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Marloth Park, Mpumalanga

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 19 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
RolandD12...
1 review
“Wonderfull deck and view on kruger”
Reviewed 9 December 2017 for a stay in November 2017

The deck is the greatest asset. We enjoyed our time here. The watertub was also very refresshing on the hot day we had. On the downside were the mouse that eat on my clothes. For us this was a whole new experience but we adjusted to the bush in a day or 2. Very covienent for a visit to kruger. Would do it again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve R
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
253 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
“Excellent location, wonderful deck - let down by management”
Reviewed 2 February 2016 for a stay in January 2016
2
people found this review helpful

Let me start by saying we really enjoyed our time at Marloth Park and that Majuli River Lodge is in a fantastic location whch the raised deck takes advantage of. If the Lodge is brought up to a decent standard - as we were told by the local manager it is going to be - then it will be a great place to stay.

However, we were disappointed that the local manager could not be contacted until after we arrived (we tried for several hours on the phone number we had been given) and did not come to the house until the next day. In addition, while the house has most facilities you need - such as fridge, freezer, oven and bedroom aircon - it badly needs some TLC. The downstairs shower room in particular was covered in mould so not pleasant to use.

The house is cheap to rent - which is why we still give it 3 stars - but had we known about the poor state of maintenance we would have looked at other properties in Marloth Park and paid more if necessary.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Bathroom
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Feb 2016
Steve

Sorry about what happened with your stay and thanks for getting in touch. It's a very special holiday home that I rent out so while all the previous reviews have been very favorable we may have taken our eyes off the ball. I will certainly address why there was nobody to meet you and why the house was not cleaned properly. Something slipped but I will ensure this does not happen again.

We are taking nearly a month from bookings later this month to totally open up the living area upstairs with the outside decking. We are also extending the decking area with couches to have a larger seating area and maybe an outside bar to take in the spectacular views. We will also be painting and freshening up the place so if you do decide to visit again we can promise the experience will be 5 star like previous guests experienced.

Again apologies and thanks for taking the time to get in touch.

Regards

Derrick
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mollyshan...
Detroit, Michigan
1 review
“Out of Africa”
Reviewed 26 December 2015 for a stay in December 2015

Loved the place. Got the bush feel but with good security and conveniences.
Wonderful river views and game sightings.
The grocery stores in Marloth Park were actually cheaper than outside big stores. Very friendly afrikaan owners. Security and gate staff were great. Met personally with Heilga.What a doll! Answered all our questions and arranged tours.
Just plan on spending time with binoculars on the deck. You'll be thrilled. Use the brai. So much fun.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views
Liked least: GPS sent us to first gate(terrible road). Suggest second gate so people know to use it.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Dec 2015
Thanks a million for staying with us and take for taking the time to review. We look forward to seeing you again.

Regards

Derrick
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mineke79
Goes, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautifull house in great surroundings”
Reviewed 28 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015

The guesthouse looks great, standing in a fantastic location in Marloth Park., right at the Olifantsriver looking over Kruger Park.
The interior is a bit dated, house (especially the kitchen) needed a good clean up.
We think the house didn't have visitors for quite a while.
After getting settled (house keeper was very nice by the way, was available for questions etc at anytime) we sat down on the upper deck and we were amazed by the great view.
We spotted elephant, hippo, croc, birds and lots more within the hour.
We had great fun watching the view and have quality time with the family.
Kruger Park gate is 20 min. drive away, but even without visiting Kruger you really get the feeling of being part of the African Bush.
At night you can make a fire at the fire pit downstairs and enjoy the african nights while having a drink around the fire.

Overall the house is really worth visiting, but, we think if it's maintained better it will be an even greater experiece for the guests visiting Marloth Park.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view, the location
Liked least: kitchen could have been cleaner
Travelling group: Kleine kinderen
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Sep 2015
Thanks for your booking and review.

We are surprised that you felt the house is a little dated as we recently spent to update all the bedrooms. However we are excited as planning a complete re-vamp of the complete house to make it closer to 5 star.

Thanks again,

Derrick
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simone F
Greater Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A brilliant stay”
Reviewed 6 May 2015 for a stay in February 2015

I recently travelled with friends to visit Kruger NP and we stayed in Majuli Lodge and we had a truly brilliant stay. The lodge was perfect for us. It had an elevated balcony that was just perfect to sit and eat and enjoy an afternoon drink while we relaxed and enjoyed the scenery. There is a river running in front of the property and we were lucky enough to watch a herd of elephants playing in the water!!!
There is also a plunge pool to cool off at the end of a hot day game viewing in Kruger.
There are some great local restaurants that we dined at in Marloth Park but we were also able to visit the supermarket and cook at home because the kitchen was fully stocked with everything we needed.
We had two bathrooms and we also had air conditioning in both the bedrooms.
Our only regret was that we didn't stay longer. We were extremely comfortable in the lodge and very relaxed and we were certainly not ready to leave.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Dec 2015
Apologies about the delay in responding. As its our second home we might not be as professional as a hotel in these things :)
Thanks a million for staying with us and take for taking the time to review. We look forward to seeing you again.

Regards

Derrick
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing