We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Relaxing getaway”
other travellers have booked this property
Pretty as a picture and off road parking to boot.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Pretty as a picture and off road parking to boot.
Mind your head on those 19th Century beams. Inglenook fireplace with wood burning stove.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
26 reviews
Pretty as a picture and off road parking to boot.
Mind your head on those 19th Century beams.
Inglenook fireplace with wood burning stove.
Yep - she always hogs the fire!
42' Smart TV for cosy nights in and window seat to watch the world go by.
Kitchen diner with room for 4 round the table.
Small but perfectly formed with integrated fridge, dishwasher & washer-dryer.
King bed with feather duvet and Egyptian cotton bed linen.
The bedroom is open plan with stone walls and vaulted ceilings.
Large walk-in shower and great water pressure.
Some great walks along the river just 200m from our front door.  Keep an eye open for the herons.
Sycamore Gap on Hadrian's Wall
Hadrian's Wall
River North Tyne
Spring in Wark
Look closely and you'll see the Heron
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Wark, Northumberland, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 26 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Leah P
1 review
“Relaxing getaway”
Reviewed 27 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

The cottage was ideal for a relaxing break and set in an idyllic village location with a great walk along the river. Shame it was summer as I would have loved to have used the log burner. Great facilities and very comfy and cosy bed.
Would definitely recommend.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Sep 2016
Thank you for the lovely comments Leah - so pleased you enjoyed your stay and we'd love to welcome you back in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Megan Y
1 review
“Beautifully decorated cottage-fab stay.”
Reviewed 6 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We have had a wonderful stay at Hexham House Cottage. The cottage has everything you would require and is finished to a very high standard. Loved it!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Aug 2016
Megan, thank you for your lovely comments. We're delighted you like the cottage as much as we do! Hope to see you back in Northumberland in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert O
Dolgellau, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“1st visit to Northumberland”
Reviewed 14 July 2016 for a stay in June 2016
1
person found this review helpful

This was an ideal little cottage that enabled us to relax and enjoy our stay in Wark. Everything that you needed was available in the property and the large walk in shower at the end of a hard day's walking/cycling was ideal. The only draw back from our perspective was the lack of any outside space to relax and enjoy the decent weather that we had. Nonetheless, the local river was not too far away and there was ample seating to enable you to chill at the end of the day.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The internal facilities of the property
Liked least: The lack of any outdoor space
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Aug 2016
Robert I'm so pleased you enjoyed your stay. We're very fortunate to have such lovely walks on our doorstep and we too like to sit by the river and watch the world go by. I hope we get the opportunity to welcome you back.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
davidkeer...
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fabulous cottage, lovely village, nice people.”
Reviewed 3 July 2016 for a stay in June 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Hexham House is a great little cottage in Wark. It has everything you could want. Quality fixtures and fittings, an easy to use woodburner and a host of lovely little extras that delight you. Nice village with three good pubs. Lovely walks from the door. One of the best we have stayed in. Smashing!!!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Jul 2016
Thank you so much for the lovely comments. We're always thrilled to hear that visitors love the place as much as we do. We hope you'll come back again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter L
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Ideal property for two”
Reviewed 26 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

We originally booked this cottage for a long weekend and are so glad we extended it to a week.

A small stone cottage that has been extensively refurbished retaining the original features with some exposed stone walls and beams, while incorporating modern facilities. A well equipped kitchen with slightly retro kitchen units give it a traditional feel. Electric heaters in all of the rooms or a log burner if you prefer. Snug but spacious accommodation for two.

Located in the middle of a small but very friendly village, with a butchers and village shop opposite and two good pubs/restaurants nearby. An ideal location for visiting Hadrians Wall and the tyne Valley to the south or the Borders to the north with good local walking. If the weather is bad then a snug cottage to come back to.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Smart bedroom and snug lounge
Liked least: No outside garden to sit in, although open spaces in village
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Jun 2016
Peter, I'm so pleased you enjoyed your stay. Do come and visit us again - I'm sure you'll agree that there is plenty to see and do in Northumberland.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing