We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1 363)
Filter reviews
1 365 results
Traveller rating
960
298
67
32
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
960
298
67
32
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews taster menu homemade biscuits hadrian's wall green credentials bowl of fruit walled garden luxury lodge jacuzzi bath home grown building work travelzoo deal dark sky walk in shower local walks beef cheeks local produce evening meal
Filter
Updating list...
32 - 37 of 1 365 reviews
Reviewed 15 October 2018

Stayed here for two nights and it was great lovely staff the bar and restaurant area is immaculate and so are the rooms. there are tea and coffee facilities in the room also biscuits and fresh fruit every day. They grow most if not all of there vegetables and fruits, there is also home made jams and marmalade and yoghurt and much much more. Will definitely return.

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 240gabby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2018

We stayed here because it was near Hadrian's Wall and were impressed by everything about the hotel. We booked a standard room overlooking the garden and above the veranda. It was large with two sofas and plenty of space to sit. There was a large bar with plenty of seating and four local real ales plus local cider. the first night we had the tasting menu which was sourced locally, was very interesting and had good size portions unlike some tasting menus where the portions are minute.We felt too full to have the cheese course and were offered to carry this over to the next night where we had the A la Carte menu. There was a good choice and all the dishes were beautifully presented and cooked. The staff were delightful and although most seemed to come from Europe their colloquial english and charm was impressive. The restaurant is tastefully decorated but there is also the choice of eating out in the double glazed veranda and this is a particularly attractive option for breakfast. There was a good choice of cereals and fruit for breakfast and a wide choice of hot dishes including omelettes and smoked local fish.
This hotel succeeds in the difficult mix between being a pub and a high quality restaurant. There was nothing not to like and the overall impression is of a very well run and friendly place. We will definitely go again.

Room tip: We had room 9.Not too keen on the grey wallpaper but lots else to like.
Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2018

We have always enjoyed stopping off at the Battlesteads en route to our daughter's house near Edinburgh because it is very comfortable and the food has always been excellent. There appeared to be not so many smiles and happy faces when we arrived this time ( just an impression) and we had to wait in reception until someone appeared to check us in. The room as always was very good and we looked forward to our evening meal. The starters were tasty but what happened to the cheesy dressing with the figs? The main courses were very disappointing and we even questioned if the main chef was actually there that night. Also a little incident while serving our wines - not our night. Not like the quality we were accustomed to. In fairness the manageress came in to see us and dealt with the problem with an apology. Disappointing and if it had been our first visit we maybe would not have returned but we will most likely visit again in the hope of service and food as normal. Breakfast was good.

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Greecophile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
magus84, General Manager at Battlesteads Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2018

Thank you for your feedback, we are aware of the issues you encountered with your main meals, as we came to talk these issues through with you on the evening of your stay with us.

We are though, a little disappointed to see that you have not mentioned that when we came to talk with you, to apologise for the issues we instantly refunded the meals in question from your bill. And that we also send out an accommodation voucher towards a future stay, as you have had many enjoyable stays with us over the years, and we would love this to continue.

As we always strive to deliver the highest level of service to customers visiting us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2018

Dog friendly lodge was fabulous the room was large with a superb bathroom with bath and walk in shower. It was more like a suite. There was a small outside seating area. Breakfast and evening meal were lovely. The only fly in the ointment was they got our bill wrong this seems to happen whenever we stay at a hotel!

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank _linda_hicks1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2018

We stayed in a lodge for 3 nights on a Travelzoo deal including a 8 course tasting menu. The lodges are really nice, very spacious including a huge bathroom and (very comfy) bed.

The food in the restaurant was very good and the staff were so friendly - Morag, Denisa George & Ryan all made our stay and extremely enjoyable one.

We also loved the location, ideal for the Northumberland National Park, which we thought was wonderful.

Room tip: We were in Lodge No. 18, which was ideal.
Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Barry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews