We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (498)
Filter reviews
498 results
Traveller rating
331
120
22
16
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
331
120
22
16
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the pub excellent food dog owners porridge friendly atmosphere burger coastal path evening meal dog friendly pub full english short break pudding wet room fish and chips lynton and lynmouth warm welcome dog lovers
Filter
Updating list...
31 - 36 of 498 reviews
Reviewed 26 June 2018

We booked here as it was pet friendly. The service from booking to checking out was excellent. The rooms are well equipped and very clean. The pub is on the main A39 but this is not a busy road, our room was at the front but the room was quiet. Very dog friendly, dogs allowed at breakfast and evening meals which is great when you are travelling with them. A good choice of beers are available, the food is extremely good, a number of daily specials which were freshly cooked and well presented. The staff reserved a table on the first night and asked us to confirm when we checked in which was a lot better than having to try and reserve on arrival. Staff were friendly and helpful, would recommend and look forward to staying here again.

Fabulous moorland/countryside walks surrounding the inn. We will be back again for longer next time. Thank you to all the staff who are very welcoming and friendly.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank 66AMS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2018

Pub lunch for two with huge portions and one person with major allergy issues? No problem. The bar staff could not have been more helpful and the meals were delicious. Thickly sliced ham with crispy chips and two fried eggs went down a treat and the ribs of pork in a BBQ sauce were massive - one whole rib was surreptitiously wrapped in a napkin and taken home to enjoy later. We were too full to try the delicious sounding desserts. Good table service from a pleasant young man. The Blue Ball is spotlessly clean - full marks to whoever does the housekeeping. There is so much atmosphere it doesn't really need the piped music but no points deducted as some must like it. A large car park on the opposite side of the road - thankfully traffic was light. We have driven past many times and glad we stopped as we will certainly visit again.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Biselygal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2018 via mobile

Just what pub grub should be. Small main menu of home cooked with daily fresh specials.
We had falafel burger and vegetarian chilli even though we aren't vegetarians just because they looked fresh and tasty, as they turned out to be.
Homemade cakes looked very tempting but we were too full.
Would definitely come here again

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Wildroamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2018

Went for a meal on Sunday the 3rd of June as it was my husband's birthday we went with our niece and her partner and 4 springer spaniels we had the steak and ale pie with roast potatoes,cauliflower cheese, carrots, broccoli gravy and roast parsnips. The pie was full of lovely steak and ale really juicy. Our plates were full. Absolutely fantastic food would go again

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank gaylardstephen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2018

We booked at the last minute for a one night stay but ended up staying for 2 as our first night was so lovely. The Inn came highly recommended by family & friends & they weren't wrong. We arrived late but a table had been saved for us in the restaurant & we were made very welcome. Our room was above the bar & hotel entrance but it was very quiet & had a beautiful view across the hillside opposite. It was very spacious with a lovely en-suite bathroom & was cosy & comfortable. The Inn welcomes dogs but we'd left ours behind as we'd been visiting family but it felt very odd as we were the only guests without dogs. Everyone's dogs were extremely well behaved & the Inn is so clean & well kept that you'd never think that so many 4 legged friends were there. It is obviously down to the hard work & attention to detail of the owners & staff that make it such a lovely place to stay. Next time we visit we shall be taking our own dogs too as we wouldn't want them to miss out on the lovely treat.
There is only one very tiny criticism & that is the water pressure in the bathroom, made showering or running a bath a bit of an 'experience' but guess this is due to the age of the building & pipe work so would not stop us coming back. Everything else was lovely & so nice to have proper size mugs & fresh bottled water on the tea/coffee tray. Thank you to all at the Blue Ball Inn.

Room Tip: If you prefer a shower to a bath make sure you ask for a room specifically with a shower.
  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank js13Hertfordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mollymooDevon, Owner at Blue Ball Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2018

Thank you very much for your kind review. It is really appreciated and we would love to see you again. All the best, Phil

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews