We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely stay”
other travellers have booked this property
Outside view of the property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Outside view of the property
Front of the house
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
59 reviews
Outside view of the property
Front of the house
Back of house including yard
Green Tourism Silver Award
Kitchen
Main bedroom
Main bedroom
Middle bedroom
Downstairs bathroom
The Mourne Mountains
Guests in the kitchen
Guests visiting Finnis Southerraine
James on the quad
Florence the donkey
Marty the bull
The cattle
Lagananny Dolman
Way to travel at Grove Fort
Over the Rib on a snowy day showing the potato drills from Potato famine fame
Scarva Canal walk,
Fort Road - Great place for a walk!
Outside of the house from an alternative side
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Dromore, County Down, Northern Ireland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 59 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Extraordi...
1 review
“Lovely stay”
Reviewed 11 December 2018 for a stay in December 2018

We stayed at Grove Fort in the summer and had such a nice trip we booked while we were there for a pre Christmas family visit.
The cottage is very clean, comfortable and spacious. Annette and Ivan are very welcoming (even providing home made scones on arrival) and encourage you to let them know if they can do anything to make your stay even better.
We intend to stay at least once and possibly more in 2019.
Merry Christmas Annette and Ivan and thank you for your kind hospitality.

Date of stay: December 2018
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
25 Dec 2018
Thank you Elizabeth for your kind review, it was great to have you stay!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
msajphill...
Essex, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Amazing”
Reviewed 27 October 2018 for a stay in October 2018

This is our 2nd stay here and we just love it. Immaculately clean very cosy and annette and ivan are very friendly. We are comimg back soon. Highly reccommend. Thanks again X

Date of stay: October 2018
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
28 Oct 2018
Thank you Sheryl for taking the time to give us a review. It is very much appreciated. We look forward to seeing you again. Annette and Ivan.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda H
Ballymoney, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Lovely stay at Grovefort.”
Reviewed 21 August 2018 for a stay in August 2018

We really enjoyed our weekend at Grove fort. The house was lovely and spacious with everything you need provided. Very friendly hosts too. We will be back!

Date of stay: August 2018
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
4 Sep 2018
Thank you Amanda. You will be very welcome!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jill T
1 review
“Best stay of our trip!”
Reviewed 18 July 2018 for a stay in July 2018

During our two week vacation to Ireland, Northern Ireland, and Scotland we stayed in 5 different homes, and this one was definitely our best stay. We had a very specific purpose for visiting Dromara, to see the place where our ancestors were born. Meeting Annette and staying at Grove Fort means we have reason to return to Dromara. The photos do not do justice to how clean and comfortable this house is. We were a family of 6 (two grandparents, two parents, and two grandchildren) and we had plenty of room. We rarely needed to use the second bathroom, but it was nice to have it if we needed it.

My kids loved meeting the donkey, swinging on the swings, and bouncing on the trampoline. Annette was so responsive to our needs, supporting us in making local connections around our ancestry, providing extra clothespins, and even picking up a bouncy ball for my kids to play with. I couldn't have asked for a better stay.

We regret we never made it to the nearby Mourne Mountains, or the dolman nearby. We could easily have stayed a week, and I wish we had. I suspect we'll be back when our kids are older.

Date of stay: July 2018
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
20 Jul 2018
Thank you Jill. It was lovely having you and your family to visit!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
patrick_c...
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent roomy accomodation, tastefully furnished”
Reviewed 24 February 2018 for a stay in February 2018

Good proximity to Mourne mountains and other natural amenities. Excellent value, especially off season. Owners live next door and could not have been more helpful.
Very much recommended

Date of stay: February 2018
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
25 Feb 2018
Thank you very much for your kind review.We appreciate it very much.
You and your family were great guests!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in South Africa. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.