We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Inspiring tuition and stunning area”
Exterior view
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Exterior view
Dining area and kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
16 reviews
Exterior view
Dining area and kitchen
Patio area
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Cucugnan, Aude, Occitanie

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 16 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Carolann2...
Rouen, France
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Inspiring tuition and stunning area”
Reviewed 16 April 2014 for a stay in March 2014

My husband and I spent a fortnight at Claire's, with ten three hour french lessons. We stayed in her accommodation which was clean, very comfortable and more than adequate. We found Claire to be inspiring, friendly and approachable, able to put us both at ease. The lessons were supplemented by information on the culture and history of the French, together with an introduction to some french music and some delicious biscuits and cakes! Claire succeeded, where so many have failed before, in getting my husband to speak in sentences!
The surrounding area is magnificent, and each day we thought the scenery just couldn't get any better, and yet it did!
Thank you Claire for a very enjoyable and informative fortnight. We hope to return.

How easy was it to book the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Apr 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post this. I felt that the two weeks were both useful and fun, and both are important !
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard78...
Beziers, France
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Excellent french language course!”
Reviewed 14 September 2013 for a stay in September 2013

We have just returned from a really productive and rewarding week of french language study. We are British and live in France but despite trying all the usual methods such as CD's, group lessons etc our french has not markedly improved. Claire Campbell proved to be a first rate teacher whose experience and clear joy of her subject shone through. The course was really enjoyable and including reading, writing, translation and speech and even an appreciation of french music. Plus Cucugnan itself is a lovely village with good restaurants and plenty to occupy the visitor with close access to the cathar castles. If you need to improve your french, you won't be disappointed.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: French tuition
Liked least: Nothing really
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Sep 2013
Thank you for such a positive and detailed review; I too found it a satisfying week, from the pleasure of sharing your "lightbulb moments", and seeing your understanding improve.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RedSquirr...
London
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful Teacher and Learning Environment”
Reviewed 10 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013
1
person found this review helpful


I had 3 two-hour French lessons in my four day stay with Claire in the beautiful, sleepy village of Cucugnan after an excellent recommendation by a friend. I am a cyclist who loves France, its culture and especially the high mountains of the Pyrenees. I am determined to persevere and overcome the usual difficulties and frustrations despite starting to learn a second language later in adult life. Like everyone else I feel very self conscious in a group environment and was also equally apprehensive about a one to one learning situation but Claire put me at ease. At no stage did I feel silly, self conscious or stupid and much preferred this than a classroom or group situation. Feeling comfortable after my first lesson which was also fun I looked forward to the remaining two I had with Claire and I certainly would want to book them again on a future visit to the area.

Her B&B is homely and comfortable with wifi and located in a beautiful area of France with a vide variety of things to do, from visiting medieval fortresses, swimming holes, wineries and dramatic gorges to the usual good local restaurants and boulangeries.So for anyone wanting to mix a holiday in a fantastic area with learning French with a bit of French culture and history thrown in which enhances the whole learning process then Claire Campbell is perfect for you.Claire of course, throws in great advice on nice things to do whilst you are in the area.

Gill
Clapham, London.U.K.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: teaching, village and location
Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peacefulr...
Boulder, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Magnifique”
Reviewed 13 April 2012 for a stay in April 2012
2
people found this review helpful

A lovely setting, a lovely village,.an absolutely lovely hostess and teacher. The perfect vacation experience if you are looking for quaint villages, beautiful scenery, amazing Cathar castles to explore, excellent hiking, food, wine...and the opportunity to learn the French language. Accommodation has everything you need including a well equiped kitchen. Apartment is on the top level of owners home, so no private entrance. This presented no problem to me, and felt very private. Great access ro village, trails, and an hour to the Med. You may rent without the French instruction, but Claire is a wonderful teacher and gives you so much more than language lessons...a little music, literature, history.....so highly recommend her services. Perfect for one to two people. I will be back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Hostess and setting
Liked least: Parking
Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$128
/
Night
Week
Month
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing