We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect view”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Carraig Donn

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
11 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Downings, County Donegal

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 11 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
claire m
tyrone
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Perfect view”
Reviewed 17 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

We had a great time staying at Carraig Donn and would recommend it to anyone who wants to explore this part of Donegal. The house was comfortable, had reliable wifi which was essential for our son and was spacious enough for 6 adults. The view is the best part of the property and it was easy to spend hours looking across the bay. We were lucky as we had mostly good weather when we stayed but even in winter this would be a lovely place to visit. Our host Marietta lived just down the lane which was handy and she welcomed us with some homemade bread, scones and jam which was thoughtful. Overall we enjoyed our week very much and would recommend a stay here without any reservation.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Sep 2017
Thank you for your very nice review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paul753
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Beautiful house, Beautiful views.”
Reviewed 10 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

We stayed here 1st week July. Upon arrival we were treated to homemade bread , jam and cakes which were lovely after a long drive. Thanks Marrietta.
House itself is beautifully decorated,spacious, and all fitted with high spec amenities. With breath taking views over sheephaven bay and muckish mountains. Plenty of activites all near hand ,And only a short distance to downings village (3/4 mins drive). Would definitely stay here again !.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Jul 2017
Thank you for your kind remarks. Delighted you enjoyed your stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mj H
County Mayo, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Enjoyable week in Donegal”
Reviewed 1 June 2017 for a stay in May 2017

First visit to Donegal, enjoyed excellent accommodation in pleasant surroundings, property was ideally located to explore north Donegal, modern, comfortable and provided everything required for our stay, owner most helpful and welcoming. Weather was extremely good for the most part and enhanced our stay in this beautiful part of our Island, highly recommended.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Jul 2017
Delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay and thank you for reviewing Carraig Donn.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Explorer4...
1 review
“Great stay. We really enjoyed it.”
Reviewed 18 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

We had a fantastic week in this house. The house was very clean and comofortable and well equipped. There was nothing to miss about.

The views were fantastic. We often enjoyed our tea outside at the bench. We were also lucky to enjoy the full moon and the stars.

Carraig donn is a perfect stay. There is a lot to explore. We really enjoyed the walks at Ards Friary.

The next bigger supermarket in Carrigart is only about 5 minutes away.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: relaxing, very quiet, clean, comfortable, nice owner
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Sep 2017
Thank you
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julia N
Petersfield, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful house in a beautiful setting.”
Reviewed 11 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We had a wonderful stay here recently with our families. Upon arrival we were greeted by Marietta and a very welcome selection of goodies! The house is very comfortable and has all the facilites you need for your stay. The location and views are stunning, and the area has lots to offer including some fanatstic beaches.
Hoping to come back here for our holidays again!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Views and location
Liked least: having to go home
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Aug 2016
Thank you for your kind comments. Delighted you enjoyed your stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing