We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Just Perfect.... and dog friendly too.”
other travellers have booked this property
Your relaxing weekend starts here, welcome to the Long House at Goosey Wick
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Your relaxing weekend starts here, welcome to the Long House at Goosey Wick
King size comfy beds in both bedrooms Relax and unwind in our copper bathroom with a bath big enough for 2!
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
44 reviews
Your relaxing weekend starts here, welcome to the Long House at Goosey Wick
King size comfy beds in both bedrooms
Relax and unwind in our copper bathroom with a bath big enough for 2!
King size comfy beds in both bedrooms
Play some old fashioned games and unwind with the help of our honesty gin bar
Nothing better to do quiz
Remember home cooking, entertain using our Aga and fully equipped kitchen
Enjoy a real fire with our log burner and supply of logs
Ensuites to both bedrooms
Enjoy our creature comforts
Our courtyard and bbq offer privacy to unwind and to dine alfresco
Our wild garden for butterflies and bees
Wild garden
View from the mile long drive, not a car in sight
Nearby White Horse Hill for lovely walk and picnic
Please come again, at any time of the year
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
2 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Charney Bassett, Oxfordshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 44 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Fizzyflow...
Derbyshire
1 review
“Just Perfect.... and dog friendly too.”
Reviewed 14 December 2016 for a stay in December 2016

The long house is absolutely gorgeous, everything you could wish for the perfect break, and Lesley is the perfect holiday cottage owner. The wood burner was alight ready for our arrival so the house was lovely and warm and toasty and the candles were glowing to greet us.
Lots of lovely touches throughout the house to make you feel cared for.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Dec 2016
Thank you for taking the time to post your lovely review and we are glad you enjoyed your stay at The Long House. Kind regards Lesley
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lesley L
1 review
“thoroughly relaxing and cosy winter getaway”
Reviewed 23 November 2016 for a stay in November 2016

Andy and I absolutely loved our stay at The Long House recently. From the warm welcome we received from Lesley (and the wonderful welcome hamper and cake) to the gin honesty bar (just perfect after a long country walk), to the stylish and interesting furnishings with everything once might need, thought of.

We also enjoyed trying our hand at cooking on the Aga - the best baked potatoes ever!

It was wonderfully cosy for a cold Winter weekend, with great walks from the door, plus the Vale of the White Horse, and Valley of the Racehorse nearby. We would definitely love to come back in the spring/summer to do some more exploring and cycling.

Thank you so much Lesley for letting us stay in your lovely property - a real home-from-home.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything!
Liked least: Nothing.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Nov 2016
Thank you Lesley for your comprehensive review including discovering the local area, we look forward to welcoming you again. Regards Lesley
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rosie976
Cumbria, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fascinating”
Reviewed 30 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

We spent a relaxing family weekend in the extremely comfortable and welcoming Long House. The attention to detail is excellent. All of us were intrigued by the many antiques and loved the Arts and Crafts examples. The industrial bathroom was a big hit too.. There are great walks from the door and interesting local pubs serving good food.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Oct 2016
Lovely review thank you Rosie. We are going to try your recommendation of The Star pub. So glad you had a lovely family break. Regards Lesley
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mrsh891
Reading, United Kingdom
1 review
“An extraordinary property!”
Reviewed 16 October 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We took my elderly parents to the Long House for a weekend of rest and relaxation in the country. We couldn't have picked a more perfect place; in a quiet and peaceful rural setting with all the luxuries of a 5* hotel and packed full of interesting finds and antiquities. A really wonderful and unique property.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Oct 2016
Thank you for your wonderful comments. We're glad you had such a nice time with your parents. Regards Lesley
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan H
Maidstone
2 reviews
“Mrs”
Reviewed 10 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

The long house is fantastic. We had a great time, so much so have rebooked for early next year.
The are so many lovely touches..from the excellent Gin honestly bar, welcome pack with a yummy homemade cake that we throughly appreciated to all the extras.... such as robes, luxury toiletries and the fun quiz.
The location was so peaceful yet with lovely walks from the doorstep and a stroll across the field to the local pub. All rooms are tastefully furnished and have lots of unusual extras, which are so cool. It's a very relaxing place.
I can say that Lesley has thought of everything!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Oct 2016
Thank you for the lovely review Susan, we're thrilled that you want to return and look forward to seeing you again in 2017.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing