We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“First Topsail Vacation”
other travellers have booked this property
Simply go up these 6 steps, turn left, and it's the first door on the left...to the right is beach!
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Simply go up these 6 steps, turn left, and it's the first door on the left...to the right is beach!
Taken during a walk in January 2011 during a beautiful off-season 40 degree day. Gotta have those chairs on the beach....these stay on the balcony please!
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Average
7 reviews
Simply go up these 6 steps, turn left, and it's the first door on the left...to the right is beach!
Taken during a walk in January 2011 during a beautiful off-season 40 degree day.
Gotta have those chairs on the beach....these stay on the balcony please!
Cozy full bathroom with shower/bath, sink, toilet, and linen/supply closet.
Hall Bunks - 2 single/twin size beds
Private bedroom - ideal for couples with kids who need a space to be alone!
Priviate bedroom view from bed - TV with cable and DVD player in bedroom.
View of Beach and Ocean From Balcony!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
North Topsail Beach, Topsail Island, North Carolina

Reviews from our community

Average - based on 7 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Amanda B
Kentucky
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“First Topsail Vacation”
Reviewed 21 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017
1
person found this review helpful

This Condo was amazing for our little family of 4. VERY CLEAN, AND VERY WELL ORGANIZED. The owner was always quick to respond to our questions, or anything we needed. VERY WELL managed. If your looking to UNWIND, and Relax, look no further. The Sweet Escape will be your next escape to just getaway.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
40jdw2015
Akron, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A relaxing 40th anniversary get away”
Reviewed 16 July 2015 for a stay in May 2015
2
people found this review helpful

We so enjoyed the sweet escape as we celebrated our 40th anniversary. Even though we came in during a tropical storm, even that was enjoyable as we were able to watch the ferocious ocean. We collected many large shells and shark teeth. Enjoyed the nice accommodations. The location right on the beach was heavenly. The weather was perfect. We will certainly plan another trip in the future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa J
Greensboro, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Adorable, no-fuss getaway”
Reviewed 12 January 2015 for a stay in April 2014
7
people found this review helpful

If you are the type of vacationer who expects champagne accommodations on a Boone's Farm budget, just take yourself to a resort, pay the extra $$, and keep your negativity to yourself. The previous review was ridiculous and way off base.

But if you, like us, are looking for a cozy, cute, out-of-the-way, place that is clean, reasonably priced, with easy access to the beach for a "do-it-yourself" getaway, Sweet Escape is the way to go. We LOVED the living room's ocean view, with a small balcony and a couple of chairs. We don't have kids, but were impressed that Emily had a stash of beach-toys available for those who do. We did not use the couch's sleeper/aerobed, but the couch itself was just fine.

We did not come to the beach to sit around and watch TV or play on the internet (even when the weather was not great, we wanted to be out-and-around). Again, if a hundred channels and free wi-fi are what you're looking for, go to a hotel. (But, the TV worked fine, in case that's important to you.)

The ONLY thing I might remotely improve is the kitchen--the stove is showing its age a bit; the cabinets and drawers might need some decluttering; and some of the provided utensils maybe could have used a refresh. But here's the thing: we knew we wanted to do our own cooking so we brought some of our own kitchen stuff. It's not complicated! We had no problem using the kitchen whatsoever. It was so much fun to buy some fresh local seafood at the market nearby, come back and cook it, and eat dinner on the balcony with the ocean view!

The bathroom was very clean and everything worked the way it's supposed to. The bedroom was clean and comfortable. (We did not try the TV in the bedroom).

Emily was fantastic to work with and very responsive. It's an older unit, not a luxury unit, but it has been well maintained. It's an excellent value for those of us who do not want to spend thousands of dollars on a nice beach trip. We have talked about making this a regular vacation accommodation. We have no qualms about recommending this unit whatsoever.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location, ease of beach access, and coziness of the unit.
Liked least: Again, the only MINOR negative was the kitchen, but it really was not a problem!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beckley, West Virginia
Reviewed 19 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014
3
people found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The beach and the ocean
Liked least: The whole unitl
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
25 Aug 2014
I'm sorry you had such an unpleasant stay at The Sweet Escape. Our repair technician has verified that the toilet is functional and simply may need the user to hold down the flush a tiny bit longer than usual, but to contact him if any additional problems come up as always. We had the toilet serviced during your stay within 6 hours of your complaint. So sorry about the couch, it's been wonderful for our guests for many years, and I'm thankful you brought it to my attention that it was broken. We have a new couch scheduled for delivery 9/4. As always I take pride in being as responsive as I can to each of my guests concerns and responding promptly to concerns just as many reviews have given me since I started renting The Sweet Escape the fall of 2007.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
JustTraci...
Raleigh, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Go ahead and book it - perfect location !”
Reviewed 20 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014
3
people found this review helpful

We had a last minute chance to get away for a weekend and wanted something right on the beach. We didn't think there would be anything so close at the last minute - This was perfect for us. !There were only 2 adults, 2 Eleven year old boys. If you want something new and fancy, with all the bells and whistles, this might not be what you are looking for, but for us, it was just what we needed. The location and access to the beach COULDN'T HAVE BEEN BETTER ! Everyone on the beach and in this condo complex was friendly and respectful of everyone - no obnoxious, loud groups, very low-key. Very nice part of the beach - we saw Dolphins playing all morning. Since these photos were taken, the interior has been upgraded - new paint, new carpet and a brand new fridge. Even a new queen mattress in the bedroom. The inflatable mattress in the LR was easy to operate and very comfy! Plenty of hot water and to my surprise, a Speakman showerhead! (you will enjoy a wonderful shower after a perfect day on the beach!) Emily was very quick to respond via Email and very easy to communicate with. If you are considering this one, just go ahead and do it. It's affordable, and the location is worth it.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: Location and beach acccess. And, ease of booking with Emily
Liked least: The blinds at the sliding doors, which Emily tells me will be replaced very soon :)
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing