We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
R 1 093
No prepayment needed
Priceline
R 1 093
Agoda.com
R 1 093
No fees just great deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (448)
Filter reviews
448 results
Traveller rating
248
128
45
12
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
248
128
45
12
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sea view lagoon cottage beach vibe sean walks
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 448 reviews
Reviewed 3 March 2023 via mobile

Do not go there! View is good, but the rest is just disgusting: dirty apartment, smelly towels, dead rat in the pool!! We fled after one night, the manager refused to speak with us. Do yourself (and your family) a favour and go to another place in the area.

Date of stay: March 2023
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Christian1730
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 19 January 2023

Excellent accommodation for all age groups. Easy access to lagoon and beach. Great facilities and a good spot for photography and birding. Our hosts were very friendly and obliging. We enjoyed the excellent meal provided in the dining room for New Years Eve. We will definitely book there again in future.

Date of stay: December 2022
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank kengH8618CW
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 21 June 2022

We stayed at Buccaneers for our sardine run trip. The place is very homey with amazing people running it. Sean and his family and team are very nice and helpful. They helped us with arranging our safari trip at Addo Park when our flight got canceled and we had extra day. The food were great and homey. We really love our stay and had a great time.

Date of stay: June 2022
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Bank Thainchai P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 28 February 2022

Buccaneers has a variety of accommodation options on offer. We stayed in the sea view cottages for 2 and it was perfect for us. We needed a halfway stop from KZN to the Garden Route.
The meal options for breakfast, lunch and dinner were great and good value for money. It takes a lot of hassle out of the equation when passing through.
The staff were friendly and helpful.
The cottage was neat & clean and had everything we needed for a stop-over.
We could take long walks and go for a swim in the ocean or pool. The beach offers pristine views.
We contemplated meeting up with our family at this spot as it could be halfway for all. But there was just one issue... on the Saturday night visitors to the bar were very loud and rowdy. Not sure if they were staying guests. We couldn't get much sleep as we had to get up early to travel further. So just make sure you don't book a cottage close to the bar when you need to go to sleep early.
But our stay was delightful. And we rested well in this beautiful area.
Thank you Buccs Team.

Room tip: Sea view cottages are lovely. Just make sure you don't book close to the bar when you need to get some sleep for an early departure.
Date of stay: February 2022
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank LindaP5031
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 13 September 2021

What a fantastic place, my family and I were towing a car from East London to KZN, ended up getting "stuck" at Buccs because our towbar bent.
We were welcomed with open hearts and arms by every individual of such a united and happy team/family from Buccaneers!

From the Groundsman, to the wonderful souls that cooked the amazing food that is on offer to everyone, to the owner who offered his hands on help to assist us with our 'car issues'

Thank you for all the love and energy that was shared with us.

I am already planning my return trip!

Date of stay: September 2021
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank RicheyKidd
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sal Price, Owner at Buccaneers Lodge & Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2021

wonderful and thanks for the great review. we are all looking forward to seeing you again in the near future and welcoming you back as one of the buccs family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews