We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotels.com
Booking.com
Priceline
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Linda P
Hoekwil, South Africa
Perfect setting, great vibe and friendly staff
4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 28 Feb 2022
Buccaneers has a variety of accommodation options on offer. We stayed in the sea view cottages for 2 and it was perfect for us. We needed a halfway stop from KZN to the Garden Route.
The meal options for breakfast, lunch and dinner were great and good value for money. It takes a lot of hassle out of the equation when passing through.
The staff were friendly and helpful.
The cottage was neat & clean and had everything we needed for a stop-over.
We could take long walks and go for a swim in the ocean or pool. The beach offers pristine views.
We contemplated meeting up with our family at this spot as it could be halfway for all. But there was just one issue... on the Saturday night visitors to the bar were very loud and rowdy. Not sure if they were staying guests. We couldn't get much sleep as we had to get up early to travel further. So just make sure you don't book a cottage close to the bar when you need to go to sleep early.
But our stay was delightful. And we rested well in this beautiful area.
Thank you Buccs Team.
Date of stay: February 2022
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    R 4 151
  • Priceline
1.3 km from Buccaneers Lodge & Backpackers
Free Wifi
Free parking
Lol.travel
  • Agoda.com
  • ZenHotels.com
1.3 km from Buccaneers Lodge & Backpackers
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Agoda.com
0.9 km from Buccaneers Lodge & Backpackers
Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
  • Agoda.com
2.3 km from Buccaneers Lodge & Backpackers
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Agoda.com
0.7 km from Buccaneers Lodge & Backpackers
eDreams
  • Lol.travel
1.3 km from Buccaneers Lodge & Backpackers
Rondene Accommodation
Booking.com
    1.5 km from Buccaneers Lodge & Backpackers
    Booking.com
    • Agoda.com
    • Vio.com
    1.8 km from Buccaneers Lodge & Backpackers
    Hotels.com
    Get rewarded with One Key
    • Lol.travel
    • Expedia.com
    2.1 km from Buccaneers Lodge & Backpackers
    View more hotels in Chintsa
    Reviews (449)
    Filter reviews
    449 results
    Traveller rating
    248
    128
    45
    12
    16
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    More languages
    Traveller rating
    248
    128
    45
    12
    16
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviews sea view lagoon cottage beach vibe sean walks
    Selected filters
    Filter
    Updating list...
    6 - 11 of 449 reviews
    Reviewed 13 September 2021

    What a fantastic place, my family and I were towing a car from East London to KZN, ended up getting "stuck" at Buccs because our towbar bent.
    We were welcomed with open hearts and arms by every individual of such a united and happy team/family from Buccaneers!

    From the Groundsman, to the wonderful souls that cooked the amazing food that is on offer to everyone, to the owner who offered his hands on help to assist us with our 'car issues'

    Thank you for all the love and energy that was shared with us.

    I am already planning my return trip!

    Date of stay: September 2021
      • Location
      • Rooms
      • Service
    Thank RicheyKidd
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Sal Price, Owner at Buccaneers Lodge & Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2021

    wonderful and thanks for the great review. we are all looking forward to seeing you again in the near future and welcoming you back as one of the buccs family

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 12 January 2021 via mobile

    It is always great to stay at Buccaneers. Friendly people/comfortable accommodation and good food! Due to a cancellation I was upgraded without asking to a deluxe unit for free! What service!

    Lots of activities for young and old. The beautiful scenery never tires!

    Date of stay: January 2021
    Trip type: Travelled solo
    Thank Jstapel
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Sal Price, Owner at Buccaneers Lodge & Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2021

    So glad that you had a great experience with us and looking forward to seeing you again the near future.
    much love from the buccs family

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 10 November 2020 via mobile

    My friends and I stayed here for a quick detour to the beach before heading back to Jhb.

    Buccaneers is so beautiful, and the views are to die for. The rooms are clean and pleasantly decorated. And the beach just a short stroll away. Everything you could want for a beachside getaway.

    The price was very reasonable too.

    Date of stay: November 2020
    Trip type: Travelled with friends
    Thank AnnieM2849
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Sal Price, Owner at Buccaneers Lodge & Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2021

    thanks Annie. looking forward to seeing you back at Buccs soon
    much love from the Buccs family

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 17 March 2020

    We had the most beautiful view from our room we had in South-Africa. Our room had sea view, was new and very comfortable. The staff was friendly and very helpful. We had a good meal in the restaurant. There are just natural noises, such as bird and the waves from the sea. We made a nice walk along the beach, but even in January I found it to cold to swim in the sea. The fact that fishermen on the beach were fishing for sharks, did not encourage me to go into the water either. The surrounding is nice green.

    Room tip: Ask for a room in the new block
    Date of stay: January 2020
      • Value
      • Location
      • Service
    Thank Haelen
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Sal Price, Owner at Buccaneers Lodge & Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2021

    Buccs is a vert beautiful place and we are so pleased you enjoyed all the natural beauty that buccs has to offer. See you again in the future

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 8 March 2020

    I have frequented Buccaneers many times over many years and have stayed in each of the different types of accommodation and every one was great value. We stayed in one of the new options and it was awesome. The entire experience was one of complete bliss. From the great view, the fantastic wild beach, the backpackers fantastic staff. All of these make it easy to recommend Buccaneers to any age, tourist, traveler, or holiday maker. Oh and the food is amazing, super tasty, healthy and good value! Thanks for a wonderful holiday!!! :)

    Date of stay: February 2020
    Thank Alan S
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Sal Price, Owner at Buccaneers Lodge & Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2021

    thanks Alan
    come again soon! its been too long!

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    View more reviews