We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
R 1 093
No prepayment needed
Priceline
Agoda.com
R 1 093
No fees just great deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (448)
Filter reviews
448 results
Traveller rating
248
128
45
12
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
248
128
45
12
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sea view lagoon cottage beach vibe sean walks
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 448 reviews
Reviewed 8 March 2020

I have frequented Buccaneers many times over many years and have stayed in each of the different types of accommodation and every one was great value. We stayed in one of the new options and it was awesome. The entire experience was one of complete bliss. From the great view, the fantastic wild beach, the backpackers fantastic staff. All of these make it easy to recommend Buccaneers to any age, tourist, traveler, or holiday maker. Oh and the food is amazing, super tasty, healthy and good value! Thanks for a wonderful holiday!!! :)

Date of stay: February 2020
Thank Alan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sal Price, Owner at Buccaneers Lodge & Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2021

thanks Alan
come again soon! its been too long!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2020 via mobile

Down a dusty unpaved road Buccaneers accomodation hides between green foliage. Pick up a paddle at reception and take a canoe for free to paddle in the river estuary on the doorstep. Walk for 10 minutes along the river or through it to a seemingly endless wild and untouched beach that stretches to the horizon. You can sign up for surf lessons or horse riding.
They run a communal evening meal where you can meet other travellers and have a chat. Conversations continue over a few beers in the bar afterwards. I wish I could have stayed longer.

Date of stay: January 2020
1  Thank idiotwind
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Trip33354871011, Owner at Buccaneers Lodge & Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2020

wonderful-- we wish you could have too, come back soon!
love form the chintsa family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2019

Our family group of 12 rented out the whole of Tree House for our 6-night stay. This comprises 6 bright, airy and modern en-suite rooms with private balconies, four of which have great sea-views. There is also a large kitchen dining room and outside deck. Obviously this is shared with other users if you don't book out all 6 rooms as we did. The property was spotlessly clean. It is highly recommended - ideal for a large group like ours. The rooms all have modern art works on the wall - these weren't to our taste, but that's a very minor nit-pick. Other accommodation on site includes tents, chalets, dormitories and a camp and caravan site.
Buccaneers is set in a large area of coastal bush, and was pretty quiet for most of our stay. The beautiful beach is a 5-minute walk along the edge of the lagoon to the nearest point - but you can keep walking as far as you want. It was a further 20-minute walk to a tidal pool, which we enjoyed too. Boogie boards are available free of charge, which was great fun in the warm Indian Ocean. I also recommend taking one of the free canoes up the river that leads to the lagoon - very peaceful, and a great way to see birds. Note that the three canoes are not all equally easy to steer!
There is a grocery shop 10 minutes walk away on the other side of the lagoon, while some curios can be bought at reception. There is a restaurant on site for communal evening meals, and a cafe for lunches and breakfast. We mainly self-catered, but the cafe was fine. The outdoor pool under palm trees and weaver bird nests was still a bit cool when we were there in early October, but that didn't put off our kids from making good use of it.
Every Wednesday there is a trip to a local primary school available. I highly recommend this - you get to meet local kids and the staff, and they put on a wonderful half-hour of Xhosa singing. At the end, a donation is expected to the school via Buccaneers - you will not need much persuading to be generous with this!
Other activities which we didn't get round to include visiting a soup kitchen, and surf lessons. Our kids did enjoy the beach horse-riding, which was very reasonable.
The site is set on a slope, and is a short but steep walk from the lower end by the lagoon up to the cafe and reception. This wasn't a problem for us, but might be for others.
My understanding is that having begun 40 years ago as a family holiday location, Buccaneers then changed tack to the student / backpacker market in the 90s. They seem now to have returned to being very well geared towards families, while still retaining some backpacker clientele.
This was the second part of our family holiday from the UK to South Africa. As with our first stop, It exceeded our expectations. it's just a shame that this part of the country is not better known to UK tourists - they don't know what they're missing.

Room tip: The sea-view rooms in the Tree House are hard to beat, especially the room called Mgwenya.
Date of stay: October 2019
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 29 September 2019

My family of four stayed at this backpackers in August. We absolutely loved it. The views were spectacular and we felt spoiled with the large cottage at an excellent price. We loved the freedom to borrow the SUP's and Boogie boards at any time and for free! Buffet meals were delicious. It was a very relaxed and comfortable environment with friendly, welcoming staff. We also loved the opportunities to do things around the community including working with Temie in the local Khosa village by helping her make soup for 70 kids. It was a rewarding experience that my kids will never forget. Thank you Buccaneers for giving us a wonderful South African experience.

Date of stay: August 2019
Thank Dana B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Trip33354871011, Owner at Buccaneers Lodge & Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2019

thank you Dana for the lovely review..we hope to see you again soon in the future
much love the buccs family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2019 via mobile

We fully recommend Buccs to relax and unwind in a place like a tropical forrest with sea view .The room had self catering but we ate at the restuarant .Excellent value a real paradise 2 minutes from the best beach . Great walks and actibities offered .Equipped for all ages International guests .Great for families . A place to completely relax .

Date of stay: September 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Copperdd
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews