We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
Booking.com
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
idiotwind
Ireland
1410
Slice of paradise
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 26 Jan 2020via mobile
Down a dusty unpaved road Buccaneers accomodation hides between green foliage. Pick up a paddle at reception and take a canoe for free to paddle in the river estuary on the doorstep. Walk for 10 minutes along the river or through it to a seemingly endless wild and untouched beach that stretches to the horizon. You can sign up for surf lessons or horse riding.
They run a communal evening meal where you can meet other travellers and have a chat. Conversations continue over a few beers in the bar afterwards. I wish I could have stayed longer.
Date of stay: January 2020
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    R 5 376
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
1.3 km from Buccaneers Lodge & Backpackers
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Agoda.com
0.9 km from Buccaneers Lodge & Backpackers
ZenHotels.com
  • Agoda.com
  • Lol.travel
1.3 km from Buccaneers Lodge & Backpackers
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • eDreams
  • Agoda.com
  • Vio.com
1.5 km from Buccaneers Lodge & Backpackers
Beachfront
Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
  • Agoda.com
2.3 km from Buccaneers Lodge & Backpackers
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Agoda.com
0.7 km from Buccaneers Lodge & Backpackers
eDreams
  • Lol.travel
1.3 km from Buccaneers Lodge & Backpackers
Rondene Accommodation
Booking.com
    1.5 km from Buccaneers Lodge & Backpackers
    Booking.com
    • Agoda.com
    • Vio.com
    1.8 km from Buccaneers Lodge & Backpackers
    Expedia.com
    Get rewarded with One Key
    • Hotels.com
    • Lol.travel
    2.1 km from Buccaneers Lodge & Backpackers
    View more hotels in Chintsa
    Reviews (448)
    Filter reviews
    448 results
    Traveller rating
    248
    128
    45
    12
    15
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    More languages
    Traveller rating
    248
    128
    45
    12
    15
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviews sea view lagoon cottage beach vibe sean walks
    Selected filters
    Filter
    Updating list...
    11 - 16 of 448 reviews
    Reviewed 5 November 2019

    Our family group of 12 rented out the whole of Tree House for our 6-night stay. This comprises 6 bright, airy and modern en-suite rooms with private balconies, four of which have great sea-views. There is also a large kitchen dining room and outside deck. Obviously this is shared with other users if you don't book out all 6 rooms as we did. The property was spotlessly clean. It is highly recommended - ideal for a large group like ours. The rooms all have modern art works on the wall - these weren't to our taste, but that's a very minor nit-pick. Other accommodation on site includes tents, chalets, dormitories and a camp and caravan site.
    Buccaneers is set in a large area of coastal bush, and was pretty quiet for most of our stay. The beautiful beach is a 5-minute walk along the edge of the lagoon to the nearest point - but you can keep walking as far as you want. It was a further 20-minute walk to a tidal pool, which we enjoyed too. Boogie boards are available free of charge, which was great fun in the warm Indian Ocean. I also recommend taking one of the free canoes up the river that leads to the lagoon - very peaceful, and a great way to see birds. Note that the three canoes are not all equally easy to steer!
    There is a grocery shop 10 minutes walk away on the other side of the lagoon, while some curios can be bought at reception. There is a restaurant on site for communal evening meals, and a cafe for lunches and breakfast. We mainly self-catered, but the cafe was fine. The outdoor pool under palm trees and weaver bird nests was still a bit cool when we were there in early October, but that didn't put off our kids from making good use of it.
    Every Wednesday there is a trip to a local primary school available. I highly recommend this - you get to meet local kids and the staff, and they put on a wonderful half-hour of Xhosa singing. At the end, a donation is expected to the school via Buccaneers - you will not need much persuading to be generous with this!
    Other activities which we didn't get round to include visiting a soup kitchen, and surf lessons. Our kids did enjoy the beach horse-riding, which was very reasonable.
    The site is set on a slope, and is a short but steep walk from the lower end by the lagoon up to the cafe and reception. This wasn't a problem for us, but might be for others.
    My understanding is that having begun 40 years ago as a family holiday location, Buccaneers then changed tack to the student / backpacker market in the 90s. They seem now to have returned to being very well geared towards families, while still retaining some backpacker clientele.
    This was the second part of our family holiday from the UK to South Africa. As with our first stop, It exceeded our expectations. it's just a shame that this part of the country is not better known to UK tourists - they don't know what they're missing.

    Room tip: The sea-view rooms in the Tree House are hard to beat, especially the room called Mgwenya.
    Date of stay: October 2019
      • Rooms
      • Service
    1  Thank Mark M
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 29 September 2019

    My family of four stayed at this backpackers in August. We absolutely loved it. The views were spectacular and we felt spoiled with the large cottage at an excellent price. We loved the freedom to borrow the SUP's and Boogie boards at any time and for free! Buffet meals were delicious. It was a very relaxed and comfortable environment with friendly, welcoming staff. We also loved the opportunities to do things around the community including working with Temie in the local Khosa village by helping her make soup for 70 kids. It was a rewarding experience that my kids will never forget. Thank you Buccaneers for giving us a wonderful South African experience.

    Date of stay: August 2019
    Thank Dana B
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Trip33354871011, Owner at Buccaneers Lodge & Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2019

    thank you Dana for the lovely review..we hope to see you again soon in the future
    much love the buccs family

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 15 September 2019 via mobile

    We fully recommend Buccs to relax and unwind in a place like a tropical forrest with sea view .The room had self catering but we ate at the restuarant .Excellent value a real paradise 2 minutes from the best beach . Great walks and actibities offered .Equipped for all ages International guests .Great for families . A place to completely relax .

    Date of stay: September 2019
    Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    Thank Copperdd
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 2 September 2019

    Beautiful surrounds with lovely views. We stayed in Kei Apple room. A modern section with around 5 rooms all en suite with a communal kitchen and braai. Beautifully appointed and spotless. Rooms modern and very clean . Wi Fi not available as a way from reception. Option to self cater or eat supplied meals which were excellent. Plenty of attractions of beach, paddling- free 😁 horse riding and local areas to see including golf course. A really awesome stay. Noted not a wheelchair friendly resort

    Room tip: Variety of options from tents to deluxe. Best to phone or google for options. Our block very quiet.
    Date of stay: September 2019
      • Location
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    1  Thank karin_marwick
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 25 August 2019 via mobile

    This was perhaps one of my 2 favourite hostels in SA (the other beings Dijembes in Storms River).

    Stunning location, overlooks the sea and river with truly amazing views. Tonnes of activities (they even have kayaks and SUPs you can just take out for free in the lagoon), and the beach is only a short walk away. They do a very reasonably priced family style meal in the evenings which is a great way to meet people, and then their bar in the evening is great fun.

    I stayed in a dorm on my own and in a tent with my girlfriend for a bit. The dorms are really good although could do with more plugs, and the tent was great but a little bit of a walk to the bathrooms. They have private rooms however they were really pricey so we didn’t stay there, only advice to them would be to do cheaper basic private rooms.

    Date of stay: August 2019
    Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    Thank timnugent123
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Trip33354871011, Owner at Buccaneers Lodge & Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2019

    hi thats such a great review!... thanks for taking the time to post...next time you need to book a little suite looking right over the lagoon and bay! so let us know when you are heading back this way and we will look forward to seeing you again.
    enjoy the rest of your travels

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    View more reviews