We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
R 1 093
No prepayment needed
Priceline
R 1 093
Vio.com
R 481
Fully refundable before Sun, 17 Mar
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (448)
Filter reviews
448 results
Traveller rating
248
128
45
12
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
248
128
45
12
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sea view lagoon cottage beach vibe sean walks
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 448 reviews
Reviewed 29 September 2019

My family of four stayed at this backpackers in August. We absolutely loved it. The views were spectacular and we felt spoiled with the large cottage at an excellent price. We loved the freedom to borrow the SUP's and Boogie boards at any time and for free! Buffet meals were delicious. It was a very relaxed and comfortable environment with friendly, welcoming staff. We also loved the opportunities to do things around the community including working with Temie in the local Khosa village by helping her make soup for 70 kids. It was a rewarding experience that my kids will never forget. Thank you Buccaneers for giving us a wonderful South African experience.

Date of stay: August 2019
Thank Dana B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Trip33354871011, Owner at Buccaneers Lodge & Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2019

thank you Dana for the lovely review..we hope to see you again soon in the future
much love the buccs family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2019 via mobile

We fully recommend Buccs to relax and unwind in a place like a tropical forrest with sea view .The room had self catering but we ate at the restuarant .Excellent value a real paradise 2 minutes from the best beach . Great walks and actibities offered .Equipped for all ages International guests .Great for families . A place to completely relax .

Date of stay: September 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Copperdd
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 2 September 2019

Beautiful surrounds with lovely views. We stayed in Kei Apple room. A modern section with around 5 rooms all en suite with a communal kitchen and braai. Beautifully appointed and spotless. Rooms modern and very clean . Wi Fi not available as a way from reception. Option to self cater or eat supplied meals which were excellent. Plenty of attractions of beach, paddling- free 😁 horse riding and local areas to see including golf course. A really awesome stay. Noted not a wheelchair friendly resort

Room tip: Variety of options from tents to deluxe. Best to phone or google for options. Our block very quiet.
Date of stay: September 2019
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank karin_marwick
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 25 August 2019 via mobile

This was perhaps one of my 2 favourite hostels in SA (the other beings Dijembes in Storms River).

Stunning location, overlooks the sea and river with truly amazing views. Tonnes of activities (they even have kayaks and SUPs you can just take out for free in the lagoon), and the beach is only a short walk away. They do a very reasonably priced family style meal in the evenings which is a great way to meet people, and then their bar in the evening is great fun.

I stayed in a dorm on my own and in a tent with my girlfriend for a bit. The dorms are really good although could do with more plugs, and the tent was great but a little bit of a walk to the bathrooms. They have private rooms however they were really pricey so we didn’t stay there, only advice to them would be to do cheaper basic private rooms.

Date of stay: August 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank timnugent123
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Trip33354871011, Owner at Buccaneers Lodge & Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2019

hi thats such a great review!... thanks for taking the time to post...next time you need to book a little suite looking right over the lagoon and bay! so let us know when you are heading back this way and we will look forward to seeing you again.
enjoy the rest of your travels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2019

Perfect location, nice people, nice weather and nice cleaning. Love the staff and the food, will be back! Recommend the pink bicycle to the local kindergarden. Had also a massage, that was great. Stayed in the suites - and they are very nice!

Date of stay: July 2019
Thank O5912EHidab
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Trip33354871011, Owner at Buccaneers Lodge & Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2019

hello! thanks for much for enjoying your stay and we hope to meet you again in the future
love from the buccs family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews