We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Mr”
other travellers have booked this property
Mezzanine Area
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Mezzanine Area
Front of Cottage Lounge area to relax and watch TV
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
30 reviews
Mezzanine Area
Front of Cottage
Lounge area to relax and watch TV
Lounge area looking towards french doors
Dining & Kitchen area
Kitchen
Highchair available on request
Bedroom
Cot available on request
Upper lounge area
Bedroom
Staircase
Shower
Bathroom
Balcony area
Garden view from balcony
Private Stoned terrace
Private stoned terrace
View to private terrace
View to balcony and steps leading to parking area
Secluded garden
Secluded garden looking towards stream and pond
Snowy scene
View over Kirkby towards Black Combe
View over Kirkby Moor
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Kirkby in Furness, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 30 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
peter t
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Mr”
Reviewed 28 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

This is a great place. So peaceful. Comfy beds. Massive towels. Friendly welcome. Lots of little extras that make the stay better.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Aug 2017
Thanks for taking the time to send your kind review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nina B
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing”
Reviewed 23 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

This cottage is in a beautiful location surrounded by idyllic countryside, with the coast nearby and visible en route. It has a very homely look outside, and inside it was just stunning - the perfect cosy, quiet, romantic retreat. It was just how we had imagined staying in a countryside cottage would be and more - frankly, we were shocked at how luxurious it was considering the very, very reasonable price!
Warm and comfortable inside with all the amenities you need, and with an amazing view from the kitchen window of the hills and woods ascending behind the house. There was even a balcony with deck chairs for when the weather is nice! We could see a little family of horses on the hill most days, along with sheep and cows, which was lovely. There was no unpleasant smell associated with their presence either.
Nearby villages and towns are within an easy distance for driving or walking (though I would be wary of walking along those narrow country roads!) and the food to be found therein was of extremely good quality. The people were very friendly and the views driving to and from various locations surrounding the cottage and beyond were incredible. Would recommend to anyone!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Aug 2017
We are glad you had a great time and thanks for the excellent review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
davesuege...
Chester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect cottage for a couple wanting a peaceful break but near the Cumbria attractions”
Reviewed 31 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

The cottage was perfect for a couple wanting a peaceful break. The cottage itself was beautifully furnished and the lay out made the most of the space available. It is situated not far away from some great hiking and walking, attractions and sightseeing of Cumbria. Chris and Mike are lovely people and left some goodies to add to the enjoyment of our stay. I would not hesitate in recommending this cottage.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Aug 2017
Thank you very much for your really kind review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ajhardy12...
Greater London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Lovely cottage”
Reviewed 30 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

We really enjoyed our stay in this beautiful cottage. It had everything we needed for our family. Chris and Mike provided everything we needed plus a bottle of prosecco and key essential (milk, bread etc...). We definitely recommend staying for a great base to explore the South Lakes.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 May 2017
Thank you so much for your lovely comments, they are very much appreciated and we are really glad you enjoyed your visit.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
123BigEye...
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Retreat”
Reviewed 4 October 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Summer nights at The Cottage Bankwood House In Kirkby-in-Furness was the most stunning time of the year. Another of our favourite 4 nights retreat. The stunning beauty and stillness of the night was de-stressing, we both felt restored and revitalised.
Everything you ever need to feel at home was provided (an Booths bread was very tasty).
Have your shoes at ready, you won't be short of the beauty Lake District offers.
We very much enjoyed our stay, Chris an Mike were very kind an friendly!
Would recommend Bankwood Cottage to anyone looking to unwind an relax!
You won't be disappointed.
Thanks again Chris an Mike for sharing your beautiful home!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Oct 2016
Thanks for taking time to review our cottage.
It makes us really happy to know that our guests have had a memorable experience.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$179
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing