We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“brilliant”
other travellers have booked this property
Mezzanine Area
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Mezzanine Area
Front of Cottage Lounge area to relax and watch TV
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
30 reviews
Mezzanine Area
Front of Cottage
Lounge area to relax and watch TV
Lounge area looking towards french doors
Dining & Kitchen area
Kitchen
Highchair available on request
Bedroom
Cot available on request
Upper lounge area
Bedroom
Staircase
Shower
Bathroom
Balcony area
Garden view from balcony
Private Stoned terrace
Private stoned terrace
View to private terrace
View to balcony and steps leading to parking area
Secluded garden
Secluded garden looking towards stream and pond
Snowy scene
View over Kirkby towards Black Combe
View over Kirkby Moor
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Kirkby in Furness, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 30 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
vicg642
Bolton, United Kingdom
1 review
“brilliant”
Reviewed 7 February 2015 for a stay in January 2015

just been back for second time. Cottage is gorgeous .can ask for anything more, every thing you need is there. Beautiful location. Highly recommend.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Feb 2015
Thank you for your kind comments. It is especially important to know that our returning guests enjoy their visit just as much as their first. Hope to see you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vanessapa
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Just lovely!”
Reviewed 4 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014

I am hoping on returning soon, maybe in the spring time.

Chris and Mike were extremely helpful. The cottage was clean and modern but still held all the charm of a traditional cottage. A very beautiful and well maintained property with everything you may need. Chris and Mike were happy to help anytime with any advice or additional items we needed.

We were a few minutes drive from Lakeside and 45mins drive from Ambleside.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Jan 2015
Thank you for your kind review. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
iainlinds...
glasgow
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“what a way to see in the new year..”
Reviewed 3 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014

all the reviews about this lovely cottage is spot on.. My sat nav which is a few years old found us to the cottage easily, and when we got inside the cottage was spotless. was very impressed by the standard Chris & Mike have kept it too. And the little essentials that was left for us was a welcome gift. It's a really kind gesture.

Cottage is well equipped and has everything you need.

the only downside we had was the weather which was torrential rain and wind but was still good to be indoors just chilling out.

My only other comment is maybe room for another armchair in the lounge as the sofa is comfy for 2 to sit on but as i like to lie on the sofa my poor friend vanessa was bound to the floor so maybe a small armchair would just finish the lounge off. Bar that i will deffo be back this year..
thanks again chris & Mike for all your help.

iain

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the location as its in the middle of nowhere
Liked least: Just having one 2 seater sofa.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Jan 2015
Thanks for your kind review unfortunately we have no control on the weather but try really hard to make our guests stay as enjoyable as possible. We do not think there is enough room for a chair but take notice of comments and try to come up with a solution.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David T
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Cosy Cottage”
Reviewed 30 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014

We have just returned from a lovely 4 night stay in this lovely cottage, Chris and Mike were most welcoming when we arrived and left us to get on with our break. The cottage is really nice with everything you need, the welcome pack was a special touch. It was so nice to sit out on the terrace with a nice glass of wine just listening to the birds singing. I recommend a trip out to Muncaster Castle to view the owls they are amusing to watch.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Jun 2014
We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KylieKill...
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Absolute Perfection!”
Reviewed 11 May 2014 for a stay in April 2014

I stayed here with my husband for the Easter long-weekend. The hosts Chris and Mike are absolutely lovely and the house is perfection. Beautifully decorated, every little detail has been carefully considered. I'd strongly recommend this cottage!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 May 2014
Thank you for your kind comments. It is very important to us that our guests enjoy their stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$178
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing