We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1 057)
Filter reviews
1 057 results
Traveller rating
376
277
198
123
83
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
376
277
198
123
83
Show reviews that mention
All reviews girls night in package relaxation room afternoon tea leisure facilities sauna and steam room spa pool wedding venue health club bar prices food was lovely couldn't do enough restaurant staff wedding reception changing rooms course evening meal following morning the barn
Filter
Updating list...
87 - 92 of 1 057 reviews
Reviewed 18 March 2018 via mobile

Well I must say that the start of our spa day did not get off well as the hotel was having a new boiler installed and the temporary boiler was not keeping the pool to a good temperature for swimming, but the sauna and the spa rooms were very good. The treatment and relaxing area after treatment was very good. Whilst our disappointment about the pool was still in our minds, David the General Manager came to meet with us in the bar apologised, also offered us Day passes to use the pool and spa areas when the boilers had been fixed, he understood our frustration and helped as much as he could. The hotel itself is very, very clean, the food is excellent and
The staff were good especially Jade and Charlotte who served our evening meal. In the morning again we were not disappointed in the food, there was everything one could want to eat, and the gem on hand to help you was a lady called Wendy. Wendy was the final part which turned a possible disaster into one of the most enjoyable stats we have had in any hotel. Thank you and we will be seeing you again.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with friends
Thank Lesley W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 21 March 2018

Hi Lesley W

Thank you for leaving your 4* review after your Spa day & Overnight stay.

We were having a lot of issues, that were way beyond our control with the heating & new boilers installation but with every cloud there are Silver linings ! The Leisure Club is almost back up to speed ( 2 more days and we should have cracked it !!)

As a GM, its really pleasing to hear that so many Team Players have been mentioned in your review - as its the Team that make any business and l have too say l front a great Team here at Hellaby Hall.

We all look forward to seeing you soon either in the Leisure Club or in the Hotel

Kind regards

Dave R
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2018

some rooms weren't cleaned towels not changed. lots of dirt under the beds. bed sheets were not changed or clean. food was disgusting no real sense of taste. when they did make the beds they just folded it round and one of the rooms had the door handle hanging off.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Dan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 17 March 2018

Hi Dan H

Thank you for leaving your review

If l may ask you to contact me directly at the Hotel l can go through your experiences on a 1-2-1 basis. I believe you were staying here on the Apprenticeship Scheme, where you do have the facility to speak to myself & any member of the team, any time during your stay but l do not see any requests from you to do this. I will speak to your Training Provider so that we can resolve any further issues in the future.

Thank you for bringing these issues to my attention and l look forward to speaking to you

Kind regards

Dave R
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2018

We would like to thank all the staff especially Wendy the waitress who looked after us at breakfast. All the staff were helpful and attentive.
The room was warm, clean, quiet, and fit for purpose, good shower modern bathroom.
Bed was large and comfortable.
Leisure facilities are being updated with minimum disruption
We will not hesitate in a return visit.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank fredaStokeOnTrent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 16 March 2018

Hi fredaStokeOnTrent

Thank you for leaving your review after your short Wedding Anniversary break

We are in the process of upgrading all departments of the Hotel as well as our Leisure Club which will hopefully improve our Guest experiences. I am pleased too hear that you appreciated the all aspects of the stay and more importantly that Wendy looked after you at breakfast which she does with all of the guests with aplomb.

I hope you keep to your word and will not hesitate to come back soon when we will look forward to seeing you again

Kind regards

Dave R
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2018

From our arrival until departure the staff we met were friendly and professional.
Our room was spacious and spotlessly clean with all amenities e.g, shower stuff etc
The food at the Ball was very good and the services of the hotel management were excellent,
Although we did not go for breakfast until later our breakfast was hot and tasty and although we had to order fruit salad and more dishes Wendy was helpful and promptly organised these.

Room Tip: We were in room 14 on the ground floor which is handy and quiet
Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank rowat1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 15 March 2018

Hi rowat1

Thank you for leaving your 4* review after you attended the Rotherham Hospice Ball

It is very pleasing to hear that you enjoyed all aspects of the Hotel from your arrival to your departure. This is the 2nd year that we have had the pleasure of hosting the Rotherham Hospice Ball and all the positive comments that we have received since Saturday have been amazing. I am happy too hear also, that Wendy managed to look after you when you came in for breakfast in her normal caring self.

I hope we haven't got to wait another year to see you and that we can welcome you back very soon

Kind regards

Dave R
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2018 via mobile

Bright, clean bedroom. Staff friendly enough. Food not great (don't order the Hellaby burger. Ghastly. Seriously thinking about inducing some vomiting). Good gym. But they have a strange attachment to overly-loud piped music. A little naïve of them perhaps.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled on business
Thank Fearless658367
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 15 March 2018

Hi

Thank you for leaving your review and l apologise that l cannot use your name in my correspondence

I am sorry that you did not enjoy your Hellaby Burger and that you found the music not to your taste however i am pleased that you thought our bedrooms were clean & bright, the staff were friendly enough and the Gym was to your liking.

We hope that you may return soon

Kind regards

Dave R
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews