We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Absolutely wonderful !!!!”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Ship Inn

External
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
External
Main Lounge Kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
52 reviews
External
Main Lounge
Kitchen
2nd Lounge
Pool Table
Dormitory Room
Dining Room
Dinning Room View 2
Sample Bathroom
Sample Bathroom 2
Sample Bathroom 3
Bedroom 2
Bedroom 3
Bedroom 5
Bedroom 6
Bedroom 7
Bedroom 8
Bedroom 9
Bedroom 10
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
12 Bedrooms, 7 Bathrooms, Sleeps 34
Old Colwyn, Conwy County, North Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 52 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Lynn R
1 review
“Absolutely wonderful !!!!”
Reviewed 7 July 2016 for a stay in May 2016

What an amazing stay we had here. The building is huge, plenty of room to fit our children, grandchildren and a couple of their friends into (26 of us from 3 to 60). Even though there where so many of us it never felt crowded.....its huge!!!

The owner couldn't of been more helpful and patient with all my questions (he responds very quickly to phone calls and emails).

There was everything you could need in the house. We never once looked for something we needed and not find it. The kitchen and dining area was great, plenty of room with everything you need. The 2 dishwashers, 2 freezers and 2 fridges came in very handy with there being so many of us. Big utility room for those who needed to wash and dry clothes.

The bunk room.....what a brilliant idea for kids, the room had lots of toys already in it, our kids loved it and didn't even grumble when it was time for bed. The parents in the group loved it to!

Plenty of bathrooms/shower rooms/toilets so no waiting around to get ready.

The downstairs lounge had everything needed to keep us entertained, giant screen to watch films and tv on, plenty of seating. Lovely touch having comfort blankets if needed and books, games and toys.

The first floor lounge seemed to become a chill out area, very comfortable. Over our stay I found a few people asleep in there, it was that comfortable!

We loved the patio area, its a real sun trap. 2 bbq's, plenty of seating and table space. A big plus is the private car park belonging to the building, no struggling to find parking spaces.

Everything is right on the doorstep, beautiful walks through woodland/parks, the beach, shops ect.

Book it, you wont be sorry !!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything, so much thought had gone into providing everything you could need.
Liked least: Leaving !!!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Jul 2016
Lynn, thank you - you are too kind. Hope to welcome you back at some point!
All the best
Mark and the team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evelyn H
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great house for large groups and suits all age groups”
Reviewed 25 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

This was our second time at the Ship Inn .staying for a long weekend .we had 25 in our groups .ranging from age 4 to 76 and 1 dog .it is a home from home and had everything we needed .the local shops are on the doorstep .and the butcher and chandler were very friendly .there are 2 parks within walking distance and the beach is only a 10 minute walk away .and Rhos On Sea was an hours walk or a 10 minute drive .the bus to Llandudno stops right outside the house so it is central to all the local sea side towns .the owner Mark is really quick at replying to emails and is always extremely helpful and Eleanor and the staff at the house are also very helpful and keep the large house in immaculate condition .

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Apr 2016
Evelyn, thanks as ever for your support and we look forward to welcoming you back next May.
Mark and the team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
angies070
Greasby, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing”
Reviewed 6 March 2016 for a stay in February 2016

What an amazing place. Stayed here for a week for my 50th birthday with family rangeing from 18 month to 70 years old. Could not fault anything. Had the best time. Everything you need is in the house. Pool table and full sky tv was a big hit. Kids loved all the games and toys. Location is brilliant shops and pubs less than a minute away. We ordered are shopping from tesco before we went and had it delivered to ship inn. Most comfortable beds ever bedrooms lovely. Would highly recommend the ship inn and will definitely be going back.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Mar 2016
Thank you so much for your kind words, they really do mean the world to us! Hope to see you back at The Ship or Mountain View in the future!
mark and the team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hayley P
Greater London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent - well deserved 5*”
Reviewed 20 February 2016 for a stay in January 2016

We shared this house with 25 of us '30 somethings' in january 2016, we were a mix of couples and singles with no children. It has easy access to the activities of snowdonia and is linked to really convenient train and road network so we could all travel in from all over the country. The large carpark really made things easy too. It was perfect, great layout in the rooms and communal areas, loads of bathrooms and a well stocked kitchen equipment wise. I will definitely be going back and Mark (the guy I was in touch with about bookings) was more than helpful and replied incredibly quickly - a very honest, down to earth guy, it seemed he very genuinely just wants you to enjoy your time there and doesn't mess you around. Hope you enjoy yourself as much as we did.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Mar 2016
Hayley,
You are a superstar. Thank you so much for your kind words. Hope to see you again at The Ship or Mountain View soon!
Mark
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chris a
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great house and location”
Reviewed 14 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016

This is the second time I've stayed at The Ship now and loved it both times. First time was a family trip with about 25 of us and a dog, second time was a stag for for 12. Both times the house was perfect!
SkySports on the projector is a great afternoon in watching the football.
The rooms are good, bed duvets VERY thick, pool table good, kitchen area brilliant and comfy sofas in the living room.
All in all, a great place.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Bedrooms
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Feb 2016
Thanks Chris and I beleive we will be welcoming you back in Oct?
Thanks for your kind words.
mark and the team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing