We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 10:00 - 17:30
Save
Review Highlights
Plenty to see

We took the walk along the Spit. It is quite deceptive. It is said to be a mile and a half, but... read more

Reviewed yesterday
TauntonBob
,
West Parley, United Kingdom
Still enjoyable despite the closure of many areas

On a glorious summer’s day we thoroughly enjoyed our visit, taking the Keyhaven ferry both ways... read more

Reviewed 3 days ago
Googly2010
,
Tonbridge, United Kingdom
Read all 1 321 reviews
  
Reviews (1 321)
Filter reviews
1 321 results
Traveller rating
611
517
144
30
19
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
611
517
144
30
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviews henry viii long walk small ferry isle of wight english heritage ferry ride small cafe car park interesting history shingle spit fascinating place entrance fee nooks and crannies great place to visit lovely walk per adult second world war
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
262 - 267 of 1 321 reviews
Reviewed 22 September 2018

Unhelpful lady on the entrance. We didn't have time for a full visit, but I wanted to use the toilet, but was turned away. I would have been happy to make a donation but wasn't given a chance. We were going to return the following day, but we will give it a miss.

Date of experience: September 2018
1  Thank JVS0987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thelewisgang, Manager at Hurst Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2018

Sorry to hear that you thought the lady on the entrance was unhelpful. Our toilets are for our paying visitors only so hope you can appreciate this.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2018 via mobile

Hurst Castle was an amazing experience. Full of history and heritage.
Recommend this place but best to take a packed lunch and the cafe is rather expensive.

Date of experience: July 2018
2  Thank Tegwen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thelewisgang, Manager at Hurst Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2018

So good to hear you enjoyed visit, hope to see you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2018 via mobile

We walked from the car park up to the castle...we didn't intend to enter the castle itself as it was nearing closing time, we went for the walk. You walk about 2 miles along shingle which is a little hard going, just like walking on the beach. So go prepared with decent shoes and you'll be fine! I guess you need to be relatively fit ish to do it! I thinkit took us about 45 minutes each way. The actual castle isrun by English Heritage and was £5 entry for non members. We will make the effort to go back one day as it looked like it was worth going in. There are toilets and a tea shop inside. We saw a small ferry boat to use to bypass the walk up but I don't know where to catch it from. We prefer to walk anyway.

Date of experience: September 2018
3  Thank angiehanlon2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thelewisgang, Manager at Hurst Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2018

Thanks for your review and we hope you visit the castle next time. You're right in saying that you need sturdy shoes to walk the Spit as it's shingle underneath, but there is a ferry from Keyhaven if you don't fancy walking next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2018 via mobile

First of all they need to improve the signs, we didn’t even see a sign until we were almost there. We parked in the pay and display car park and put 4 hours on, which I would suggest is about right. There is a long, fairly difficult walk along a, what I can only think to describe as a sea defence mound made of shingle.

On arrival we received the most rude “welcome” we’ve ever experienced at an English Heritage property with just a grunt and a hand wave as we produced our membership cards. The site itself is poorly maintained with many trip hazards on the footpaths. It mostly consists of empty rooms, and the few exhibits they have are very poor. Attention to detail is also poor - they had a mannequin with a WWII no.2 dress uniform on, the jacket showed he was Royal Engineers but the cap badge was Royal Artillery!

The toilets are very basic, but in keeping with the environment, so be warned!

The cafe is expensive for what it is, and is again staffed by rude and unfriendly people. There were some cakes on show which looked like they had been there for some time, definitely not fresh. We ordered the soup of the day (tomato) at £4 each. I was expecting something out of a tin so was surprised to find it was homemade. Unfortunately it had been made by someone who has no idea how to make soup! They’d just blitzed some tomatoes and chucked a load of pepper in it. Not good!

The views are fantastic, but to be fair they’re just as good from the beach so there’s no need to go in the castle. If we weren’t members I would’ve felt very cheated by the entrance fee.

This isn’t a place I would recommend, and if you have any mobility issues it’s definitely one to avoid.

Date of experience: September 2018
1  Thank Fester80pg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thelewisgang, Manager at Hurst Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2018

So sorry to hear you were disappointed by your visit, your comments have been taken on board and dealt with separately. Hope you give us another chance next time you visit the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2018

Wow! What an amazing place. It echoed with the ghosts of hundreds of poor soldiers over the ages who put up with the miserable conditions. We shared this to some extent in the tea shop which produced the most indifferent cup of tea on record. Hardly a proper comparison but next time we will pass by,,,thank you.
The long walk there was worth it. Lets hope the "Fiends" keep it going,

Date of experience: September 2018
2  Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thelewisgang, Manager at Hurst Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2018

Sorry to hear the tea wasn't up to scratch but you enjoyed your visit despite this. The "Friends of Hurst Castle" will definitely keep the castle going, we're all about preserving this castle for future generations to enjoy.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews