We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Multi views

This is a fine walk in that to the right is the sea, and to the left marshes with channels. There... read more

Reviewed 3 weeks ago
amux
,
London, United Kingdom
Great walk on a sunny day

We walked the 1.5 miles shingle spit to the lighthouse and Hurst castle. A beautiful walk on a... read more

Reviewed 22 October 2020
IsabelleD875
,
London, United Kingdom
via mobile
Read all 126 reviews
  
Reviews (126)
Filter reviews
126 results
Traveller rating
66
52
7
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
66
52
7
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews great walk isle of wight hard work sunny day long walk refreshing walk fantastic views fresh air entrance fee shingle spit wind needles sea castle bank bridge ferry
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
31 - 36 of 126 reviews
Reviewed 12 June 2019 via mobile

My wife and I were staying in the area and decided to walk along the Hurst Spit. We parked in Keyhaven and followed the coastal path around the bay. The view of Hawkers Lake and Keyhaven Lake was stunning, especially as the day was sunny.

We walked towards Milford on Sea on the path until we reached the gravel path that leads to Hurst Castle. The path to Hurst Castle is not that easy underfoot, it can be difficult walking if you are unsteady on your feet, this is due to the gravel.

The walk towards Hurst Castle is well with the effort - with great views out to the Isle of White and the Needles. When you eventually reach Hurst Castle you can really appreciate how impressive it is. We had visited the Castle on another day which is really recommended.

In summary this is a great walk with superb views.

Date of experience: June 2019
Thank P6083XSanthonyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2019

Great beach for sight seeing or picnics/barbecues. Not much sand as it is a pebble beach so not good for the kids but great for those who don't want to get covered in sand

Date of experience: June 2019
Thank stephenalbert2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2019

the spit links the front at faros greek restaurant to hurst castle.
its about 1 and a half miles long, really nice walk if the weather is good. hard walking at times as there is loose shingle underfoot. lots of wildlife to see en route to the castle and we even got to see some planes for the Portsmouth d day celebrations. there is a café and wc at the castle but you have to pay to enter to use the facilities.

Date of experience: June 2019
Thank markgO445QW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2019

My wife and I, both in our 70’s walked from Milford to Hurst Castle in a gale . Great going, as the wind was in our backs, as for the return - exhilarating!

Date of experience: May 2019
Thank Gxgerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2019 via mobile

The family really enjoyed it our time at Milford On Sea,we did visited a lot of places in the village,went for walk at the beach and the kids had fun exploring.A lovely community.

Date of experience: April 2019
Thank 354franciso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews