We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Easy tea”
Review of The Sparking Clog

The Sparking Clog
Ranked #24 of 34 Restaurants in Radcliffe
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

Been for a few meals here and have always been average,not bad just nothing specail.,but today was very different,service by emma and becca was very pleasant they chatted but not over fussy,looked at menus and there was one doing a specail till 5 but stated not bank holidays but was then told we could have this,2 courses 5.35 so ordered that then discovered we could add a sweet for another £ so they let us add on,even better.yes it was pub grub but very enjoyable and hot,how they do this for 6.35 is brilliant,just enough time left between courses,got to say other than parents letting their kids run around the place we cant fault it.two very happy and full customers

Thank maggiedubbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hannah C, General Manager at The Sparking Clog, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2018

Thanks for taking time to give us your feedback. Hope to see you soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (259)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

21 - 25 of 259 reviews

Reviewed 19 March 2018 via mobile

Visited here to see what it’s like since refurbished. Served by a very friendly bar guy called Brandon who helped choose from a large variety of gins. The new pizza oven is great but could have done with a little bit more cheese.
Refurbished look is really nice. Well done Hannah.

Thank Bubbaswire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hannah C, General Manager at The Sparking Clog, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2018

Thanks for the response!
Even more gins have appeared now.. Will work on the cheese!!

Hope to see you soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2018

Recently went into the Clog to meet with a friend. I understand that this is a family pub and there will be children, but what I dont expect are the parents letting their kids run riot while they are getting hammered. There were kids there well after 9.00pm (I thought there was a rule for this??) The place was dirty, tables/toilets. Food was not up to much either. Staff were lovely. I want be going in there again.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank 281elsie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hannah C, General Manager at The Sparking Clog, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2018

Hi

Thanks for the feedback.
There isn't a rule stopping children past a certain time. It just depends on the licensing laws for the property. We allow children in until closing. If there are any children acting up near where you are sitting informing a member of staff then allows us to address this issue with their parents.
I hope you brought any issues to the staff at the time of visit as they would have happily resolved any issues you had. If a table has not been wiped after another party has left a member of staff will happily come and clean it for you if asked.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2018

We felt quite optimistic when we saw the new pizza oven. When our pizzas came they were on lovely well baked crusts. My veggie option was ok but my husband's pulled pork pizza was smothered in a thick sweet barbecue sauce. The waitress did not bring any knives and forks or serviettes. We had to go find these ourselves. The pizzas did come with pizza cutters but these were dirty. Come on clog you can do better than this!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Karel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hannah C, General Manager at The Sparking Clog, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2018

Thanks for the feedback.
Really sorry you're table wasn't set as it should have been.
The pulled pork pizza is all pre mixed with chilli too in the sauce so unfortunately we cannot seperate it!
All the points will be addressed ASAP and this won't happen again.

Hope you give us another chance

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2018

We visited the sparking clog on the 14th of February the first day it opened after a refit the staff where great the food however not the best I could say is that it was hot it will be a while before we go back

Thank steve l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hannah C, General Manager at The Sparking Clog, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2018

Thanks for the feedback. We hope you told staff at the time you weren't happy with your food as we could have rectified any issues, especially as it was our first day opening so any feedback at the time of visit can only help us keep on improving!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Sparking Clog also viewed

Cheadle, Greater Manchester
Radcliffe, Bury
 

Been to The Sparking Clog? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing