We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 12:00 - 00:00
Save
Review Highlights
Great place: helpful staff

We has just walked the Wirral Way from West Kirby (I know it's not that far, but we were Geocaching... read more

Reviewed 9 August 2017
stuwhite2015
,
Bromley, United Kingdom
Early Christmas meal.

Make sure you can eat plenty of food if you order three course Christmas meal.Some of party hah... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
John N
,
West Kirby, United Kingdom
Read all 28 reviews
  
Reviews (28)
Filter reviews
28 results
Traveller rating
13
8
0
1
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
13
8
0
1
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews curry night several times nice bar staff pub dee beer
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 28 reviews
Reviewed 17 January 2017

Went to this pub only to have a bike stolen from outside or so we thought!! The thief (a well known local) had cut the chain and put the bike in his van parked in the pub car park 10 yards from where it was locked up. When we went into the pub to ask who's van it was The landlord basically told us to do one.
Once we eventually got the bike back the thief went back to the end of the bar and sat with his scummy friends and carried on drinking as if nothing had happened.
This used to be a cracking place to go but obviously attracts the low end now as it has become very run down.
There are far better places to eat and drink in Heswall so save yourself the hassle and disappointment.

Date of experience: January 2017
3  Thank MMAHx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2016 via mobile

The pub itself is very nice for people under 6ft. That's actually a lie, it's cramped, stinks and some of the "regulars" are interesting to say the least. The one redeeming feature is the bar staff who on the whole are friendly and efficient

Date of experience: October 2016
2  Thank 339frasers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2016 via mobile

Proper local- great people great service fabulous views from terrace-varied menu better than normal pub grub

Date of experience: June 2016
Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2016

Visited it with friends for the first time and found it to be outstanding, locals very friendly, staff very good and beer very well kept I would recommend it without doubt.

Date of experience: May 2016
Thank Sarin22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2016

This pub is getting better and better, it was good to go back, and see the changes for the better, Darren still an excellent Chef and keeps a good beer, or wine in my case, bar staff friendly, and attentive. Thanks for a great night.

Date of experience: April 2016
1  Thank Johnandpauline2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews