We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (396)
Filter reviews
396 results
Traveller rating
230
109
43
8
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
230
109
43
8
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews coach house main building courtroom suite superior room comfortable hotel scallops one night stay leather sofas busy road cooked to perfection sunday lunch booked a table port isaac lovely garden breakfast was excellent poached eggs lovely location
Filter
Updating list...
106 - 111 of 396 reviews
Reviewed 30 August 2016

Four of us went for a nice end of weekend dinner and decided to go three courses with cocktails, and 2 bottles of fine wine. The two young ladies (Imogen and Rachel) deserve a big pat on the back for aiding the cuisines encouragement to return once again for another great meal. And we will return when we are next in the vicinity.

Room tip: Don't know we only had dinner there but I would highly recommend that.
Date of stay: August 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank mykanaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2016

Room needs updating with its furniture and its overall decorating, poor un even mattress,reception lady polite and pleasant, breakfast nice but not a lot of it in a nice room but breakfast was minimal.

Date of stay: August 2016
1  Thank ndstewart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2016

Stayed here for one night, our room was excellent, nicely furnished with very comfy bed and bedding, dinner and breakfast was amazing, staff and service was fantastic, the lounges were comfortable, plenty of car parking

Date of stay: August 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank dimarie2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2016

First of many visits I hope! We stayed in the Fowey room on the ground floor of the annexe. Very happy with the room, comfortable bed, good quality pillows and bedlinen, lovely fluffy towels and good quality toiletries. TV and WiFi.
We were warmly welcomed by the owner who was a mine of information regarding the local area. We slept very well, never heard any sounds from the room above or traffic noise despite being at the front so am puzzled about another reviewer's comment about traffic noise. It is not on a busy road and is set back from the road anyway.
Breakfast was a delight. The staff were very attentive and there was plenty of choice and food was nicely served and presented. The food came out hot and really tasted as good as it looked. We had the vegetarian breakfast and it surpassed our expectations.
We were out all day and all evening so are unable to comment on dinner or the swimming pool which really did look inviting!
All in all a very nice two night stay. We loved so much we have booked their suite for a two night stay in January. Can't wait!

Room tip: I would prefer an upstairs room just in case the people above aren't as quiet as the ones we had!
Date of stay: July 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank 22Robin1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2016

We stayed here a year ago, and would have definitely scored it as "5". We came back because of that, but were not so impressed this time.

As you'll gather from other reviews, it's a bit quirky, and therefore splits opinions. The room we had on both visits was very good, and the staff were friendly and helpful. What made it special last year was the food. The best we've had this side of the channel in years. Excellent menu, brilliantly cooked and presented. Well worth its AA rosette.

I'm afraid this time was not up to those standards. Last year's chef had moved on. The intent was there, but it fell short in too many details. A long way from awful (I don't want to sound whingy), but not what we expected. Some examples of what I mean are....... Plates not anything like warm enough. Not enough vegetable content, not enough sauce. Identical menu 2 days running. We suspect it will struggle to hang on to that rosette.

We might go back again, but only after checking out the reviews to see whether the food's back on track.

Date of stay: August 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank BD987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TrehellasHouse, Owner at Trehellas House, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2016

It is sometimes difficult to comment as the review overall isn't bad. I think you are being unfair to the new chef because last year the menu hardly changed throughout the year.
Simon has made changes and generally they have gone down very well as you will note on this website and sites like Booking.com.

Your comment regarding our rating is again unfair as Simon has just received a 1 Rosette Award for food excellence from the AA and was not too far away from a 2 R award which i think he will get next time.

From AA report 30th June 2016

A pleasure to visit Trehellas House Hotel & Restaurant for this overnight inspection which generally found all areas of the hotel to be performing well. Hospitality and service proved a considerable strength with a positive and guest orientated approach displayed by all members of staff throughout the course of the visit - this has impacted well upon overall scoring. Bedrooms and bathrooms are generally well decorated, continual maintenance ensures good levels of quality and comfort. Housekeeping displayed sound attention to detail throughout the hotel. All public areas appeared in very good order with the well decorated and furnished bar / lounge areas being very comfortable. Both dinner and breakfast offered a good selection of well cooked and presented items - One AA Rosette remains appropriate and deserved. Overall, a grading as a Three Star Hotel continues to be appropriate with an increase in the Merit score to 77% now achieved.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews