We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely gardens and a great day out.”

Castle Ashby Gardens
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Castle Ashby Gardens is home to Parkland designed by Capability Brown, Formal Italian Gardens, an Arboretum, and a small Animal Menagerie. The Gardens are extremely well maintained and are among the best in the county. There is something here for everyone.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Food available for purchase, Bathroom facilities
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Visited with the grandchildren at Easter, and unfortunately they had sold out of Easter Egg Hunt tickets. However, despite the very cold weather, and hordes of people, it was lovely to walk round the gardens and visit the small animal farm. It would be great to return in the summer and have a better look at the beautiful gardens.

1  Thank Jan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark B, General Manager at Castle Ashby Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Jan, thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review. We are so pleased you enjoyed the gardens even though you didn't have tickets for our very popular Easter Egg hunt. We do a Pumpkin hunt in October so make sure you book nice and early for tickets as this too sells out pretty quick. We look forward to welcoming you back during the summer when the gardens are at the peak.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (455)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"play area"
in 45 reviews
"well maintained gardens"
in 6 reviews
"tea room"
in 26 reviews
"garden centre"
in 13 reviews
"formal gardens"
in 15 reviews
"craft fair"
in 7 reviews
"nature trail"
in 6 reviews
"dogs are allowed"
in 5 reviews
"national trust"
in 6 reviews
"sunny day"
in 16 reviews
"tea shop"
in 9 reviews
"walk around"
in 9 reviews
"guinea pigs"
in 6 reviews
"afternoon tea"
in 17 reviews
"cakes"
in 17 reviews
"nice cafe"
in 10 reviews
"lovely place"
in 13 reviews
Filter

4 - 8 of 455 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Beautiful and quite uncrowded garden. Here you can walking around and enjoy the very good keep old garden. Most surprised the wild corner of garden. But tiny zoo made us to smile.

1  Thank AntraL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark B, General Manager at Castle Ashby Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Antra, we are so glad you enjoyed your visit and our lovely animals brought a smile to your face. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2018

Lovely gardens even in this wintry weather,bit of a winter wonderland ,although it is so much more pleasant to wander aimlessly along amongst these beautiful shrubbery and decorative trees.

Thank Brian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark B, General Manager at Castle Ashby Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2018

Brian, thank you for your review and we agree every season has its own beautiful traits. We look forward to seeing you over the coming months and seeing the seasons blossom.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2018

We had a lovely time walking round the gardens very peaceful and very beautiful place well worth a visit.

1  Thank 832coco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark B, General Manager at Castle Ashby Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2018

So glad you enjoyed our gardens and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 3 March 2018

A typical english estate formal garden with added small animal section, giving a very enjoyable and peaceful walk (out of school holiday time). Worth exploring with the bonus of a good cafe at the end.

1  Thank David O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark B, General Manager at Castle Ashby Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2018

David, many thanks for your review we are so pleased you enjoyed your visit and our lovely cafe. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Castle Ashby Gardens also viewed

Northampton, Northamptonshire
Northampton, Northamptonshire
 
Northampton, Northamptonshire
Northampton, Northamptonshire
 

Been to Castle Ashby Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing