We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A lovely place to relax and a good base to visit...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Albion Cottage

House on the beach
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
House on the beach
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
14 reviews
House on the beach
Living room with stove
Living room
Living room with wood burning stove
Dining room leading to private rear garden
Kitchen
Kitchen
Beach in summer
Master bedroom with sea views
Master bedroom with sea view
Master bedroom
Top floor room
Top bedroom with sea views
Top floor twin bedded room
Second twin bedded room
First floor bathroom
Second floor shower room
On the beach
Barbecue in the front garden
Ground floor floorplan
First floor floorplan
Second floor floorplan
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Sandgate, Folkestone, Kent, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 14 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
whadders5...
France
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A lovely place to relax and a good base to visit Kent and London”
Reviewed 2 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We really enjoyed our stay at Albion Cottage. The house is roomy enough for eight people with all we needed for a comfortable stay. A stones flick from the beach making it relaxing to fall asleep to the sounds of the sea. Short walking distance from the high street with its coffee shops, pubs and restaurants. Great! Also in a good place to visit further afield. We went to London and Canterbury with no real travel problems. Nice place that we would use again in the future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness
Liked best: the location. (beach, pubs etc). Always found somewhere to park
Liked least: nothing to add
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Douglas R
Kendal, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Location & friendly relaxing atmosphere”
Reviewed 23 July 2014 for a stay in March 2014

We stayed with some friends in March and had a lovely time. It has a great location right on the beach which made it great to wake up to the sound of the waves. It's easy to find as Sandgate's a nice small village and the house is right on the seafront. Remembering my time there gives me a warm glow!
It's a comfortable 1/2 hour walk into Folkestone and we used it as a base to explore the coast as well. However most people wanted to just sit in the front garden and watch the sea or be on the beach.
The property was clean and homely - not antiseptic like many rental properties. It made us all feel welcome and 'at home'. All necessary items were there and we had no problems with anything. The kitchen was a little small but as I seemed to be left to do the cooking & pouring while everyone else disappeared to the beach, I can say that it was well appointed and easy to use. There's good food locally with a good pub/restaurant next door & next time we'll try 'the Sandgate Hotel's' menu.
Everything there's comfortable and great for a group to relax in, especially when coming back from a dip. Yes I would recommend it as a great base to explore or just to lounge comfortably right next to the sea.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and comfort
Liked least: Nothing, really
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie R
Folkestone, United Kingdom
1 review
“A real home from home, perfect for a family holiday”
Reviewed 12 July 2014 for a stay in June 2014

The property was full of character, we felt at home from the moment we got there, the kitchen had everything we needed to cook for 8, large bedrooms for all the luggage,3 bathroom were a huge asset.the morning of my son's wedding.(Lympne castle) My 80 year old mother can not get about much anymore,this cottage was perfect,being right on the beach give her the joy of seeing everything that went on, sat in the front patio, with views across the Chanel. Also The old fashion high st, was on one level and had a little shop that sold everything and a great fish shop, supermarkets were 3 mins drive away! The walks in to Hythe and Folkestone were both peaceful and beautiful along the seafront,both places are on the local bus route, if you walk to far! catch the bus back , bus stop is right round the corner from the cottage! Thank you for a stress free and amazing week at Albion cottage ! at an extremely reasonable price.
On reading your questions below, We did not need wifi so do not know, also dogs are not allowed on the beach between May and Sept.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Homely Antiques and It was not hilly so easy for my 80 year old mother to walk around.
Liked least: Nothing.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
victomal
Newbury, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great location but the house needs a lot of maintenance”
Reviewed 25 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014
2
people found this review helpful

The showers did not work properly
French door locking system was faulty
Garden door lower bolt and lock did not work
Most of the cooking utensils were not fit for purpose
TV did not work
The house was full of junk.
Not enough comfortable seating

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Jul 2014
Albion Cottage is a period property and its seafront location is lovely but also means it demands a lot of maintenance, especially that we have had such a harsh winter to contend with. Hence we are continually maintaining it and hence minor defects can occur. In response to the specific points, one TVof the showers is electric and works perfectly and we are sending a plumber in to look at the other two. The doors are minor problems that no one has mentioned before. Similarly the TV is a minor issue that just needs the freeview box restarted. With regards to the kitchen, all the appliances (washing machine, cooker, fridge, microwave and dishwasher) are quite new. There are few personal items around the place but it is after all a family house. Generally we have found that most guests like the house a great deal.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenny B
London, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic location, accommodation and facilities - would go again in an instant”
Reviewed 19 November 2013 for a stay in September 2013

It was a real adventure going to Sandgate for the first time, and we were lucky to find Albion cottage in a prime location right on the beach and just off the main shopping street. Next door there is a fantastic fish restaurant, so you don't need to go far to eat well, and also one of the best chip shops I've ever been to just round the corner. I went for a weekend away with friends and our four five year olds. We visited Port Lympne for the day (20 minutes in the car), walked into Folkstone along the beach and had a whale of a time flying kites on the beach (well some of us did, some of us tried very hard). There's plenty of space in the cottage with a well equipped kitchen, dining room with table and living room at the front with a lovely little room overlooking the beachfront, which the kids sat and played in for hours, - when they weren't on the beach of course. It's worth mentioning that the bedrooms are enormous really and there is a bath or shower on each floor, so no need to queue. Great place, great company, amazing location - get it on your bucket list!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the location and the space
Liked least: nothing!
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Nov 2013
thanks for the review Jen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing