We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (296)
Filter reviews
296 results
Traveller rating
169
83
28
5
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
169
83
28
5
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the pub booked a table main road steak sea bass huge bathroom great shower robes and slippers cooked to perfection amazing food little things comfortable bed lovely room tempura prawns bus stop right following morning young staff
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 296 reviews
Reviewed 18 June 2018 via mobile

A bit over priced as drinks were extra but a reasonable breakfast well presented. Would have liked drinks included or more than one slice of toast each. Pleasant surrounds good service free WiFi. Would I return...probably not at that price.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Mick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2018 via mobile

Visited with friends last month and everyone’s food was great, mine wasn’t great, flaccid bacon served on top of a piece of hake that was over cooked and soapy in texture. The manager was superb, offering an alternative option and then giving us complimentary cheese boards and port! Top work and we will be back to eat at The Northey again.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Alex S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2018

We joined friends for a weekday lunch here. The restaurant area was clean and welcoming and we were greeted and shown to our seats by a pleasant member of staff. However, he was a little too eager and asked what we wanted to drink before we had taken our coats off or sat down. We asked him to return in a few minutes, which he did, after leaving us menus to make our meal choices. The food was delivered promptly, but the service by a younger member of staff was disappointing. We had to ask him twice for a jug of water, specifically request the chips that should have been served with the steak but had been left in the kitchen, and the Italian chocolate cake came without the cherries in liqueur which should have accompanied it. We were also approached by the same young man as we were finishing our main courses to ask if we had ordered the bowls of soup that he was carrying! Perhaps he was new or needed a little more training, but we felt that, although the food was nicely presented and well cooked, the service was not as good as we had expected based on other reviews.

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Winner2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2018

Arranged to stay at this five star inn with friends who lived in south Devon so about half way journeys for us both. What a great establishment. Room 2 was a delight and the bathroom layout was akin to a 5 star hotel. Very clean and very well serviced, a lot of thought went into the design of these rooms and it shows. The evening meal and the staff were excellent so can wholeheartedly recommend.

Room Tip: Rooms 2 or 4 are just great, don't know about the rest but i bet all are excellent
  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Racingrod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2018

Elegant restaurant. Good, clean, smart with friendly yet professional staff. Delicious menu...will return to try more dishes!
Well worth waiting for food, beer was excellent also. Lots of events happening and a happy hour on fridays!

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with friends
Thank KA632
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews