We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not quite as good as last time”

Haskins Garden Centre
Ranked #6 of 7 Restaurants in Angmering
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Reviewed 2 April 2018

We had coffee and hot cross buns when we arrived and later soup and bread for lunch. The hot cross bun was obviously not a mass produced one and was huge, but it was rather dry. We both had soup and white bread for lunch. The roasted tomato soup and the pea and ham soup were both thick and tasty. However last time we had soup at the cafe the bread was soft, doughy and delicious. This time is was rather dry and tasteless - so overall sadly the experience didn't live up to our expectation.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank JofNinfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haskins_GC, Customer Services at Haskins Garden Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2018

Thank you your review. We are sorry that both the hot cross bun and bread were dry and your comments have been passed on to our Catering Department to look into further.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (307)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

20 - 24 of 307 reviews

Reviewed 2 April 2018

Lovely place to visit for a coffee or to eat if your so inclined. Smashing if the weathers good as you can sit outside looking at the wonderful range plants.

Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haskins_GC, Customer Services at Haskins Garden Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2018

Thank you for your wonderful review, we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2018

Stopped in the snow for a late lunch. Food was uninspiring and all looked like it had been cooked hours earlier. Decided on fish and chips and it tasted like it had been cooked that morning and stored on a hot plate, dry and tasteless. The counter service wasnt great either. I can only deduce that it isnt a great place to be as the staff looked thoroughly miserable.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Containsnuts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haskins_GC, Customer Services at Haskins Garden Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2018

Thank you for your review. We are sorry that you had a ad experience and your comments regarding our restaurant have been passed on to our Catering Department.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2018 via mobile

Second visit to this lovely garden centre.
Huge variety of meals- fresh salads, roasts, sandwiches, curries etc. The gourmet pizzas were really nice.

Hand made in front of you and a huge menu of toppings. My partner asked for the vegetarian feast and asked if it had mushrooms which we were told it did, but when we looked at the receipt afterwards we had been charged an extra £1 for mushrooms

The pizzas were lovely, crispy and nicely seasoned and cooked.

The tables needed tidying up and cleaning but apart from that it was a nice experience

The rest of the garden centre was lovely.
The spring garden display was beautiful and all of the plants were well tended to.

Inside there is a great selection of homeware, furniture and candles, soaps, bath bombs, rugs, blankets and a selection of local food items.

Ample parking and access to Mountain Warehouse, Hobby Craft and a well stocked aquatics centre

Thank beirutboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haskins_GC, Customer Services at Haskins Garden Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2018

Thank you for your lovely review, we are pleased that you enjoyed your pizza in our restaurant and your comments will be passed on to our Management Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2018

I brought my Mum along and I fancied a Roast It was about 1.30 pm so not that late the place was busy. It was a choice of Turkey or Gammon but they were both shrivelled up ends of joints Not keen on Gammon so I asked if there was another Turkey joint and was told sorry only Gammon. They then removed Turkey from the hot counter. So I had Cottage pie instead and asked for veg I chose cauliflower (nice) and red cabbage but the red cabbage was inedible in my view So sweet it was more like a dessert and the leaves were cut into big squares and not sliced as is usual. Used to be one of my favourite places for a 'comfort eat' but don't think I will bother again it's been going downhill for a while now but today was dreadful.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Vivienne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Haskins Garden Centre also viewed

Angmering, Littlehampton
Angmering, Littlehampton
 
Angmering, Littlehampton
Angmering, Littlehampton
 
Littlehampton, Arun District
Littlehampton, Arun District
 

Been to Haskins Garden Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing