We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (699)
Filter reviews
700 results
Traveller rating
223
229
100
63
85
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
223
229
100
63
85
Show reviews that mention
All reviews steak pie real ale the pub wet room own micro brewery lovely meal main building overlooking ullswater full english lick of paint large party lake district an evening meal excellent food lovely view enjoyable stay roaring fire
Filter
Updating list...
60 - 65 of 700 reviews
Reviewed 28 June 2018 via mobile

Don’t bother.

Staff don’t care, they clearly rely on the fact they’re the only thing for miles around.

We were treated very rudely and when we told the manager we were leaving because we’d been treated so badly, his exact words were ‘thanks for that. I’ll take no notice’.

Enter at your peril...

Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
4  Thank Sarah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2018 via mobile

Very disappointing. Poor service. Kept waiting to check in, order food or drinks etc. Poor food. Much of the menu was unavailable. Fawlty Towers!! We will not be visiting again! They need to employ more staff and improve customer service.

Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
4  Thank Gillian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2018

Price paid £85 for b&b
Good points: Quiet, good location, good beer (Aira Force), easy parking, slept well.
Bad points: Restaurant food was of poorly executed supermarket re-heat dinner quality at £15.95 easily the worst value meal I have ever had.
Had to run the shower for five minutes to start to get any hot water. 40 minute wait (it was not busy... now I know why) for a lukewarm tasteless haddock and an overcooked poached egg, no explanations or apology.

Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2018 via mobile

I was so looking forward to a stay here after booking in the new year and looking at the great reviews on Trip advisor.
However, my excitement was short lived on arrival. Rude, unhelpful staff who made us feel like an inconvenience. My heart sank further on entering our accommodation; tatty, damp, dated and dirty. We didn’t hang around to sample any further inhospitable treatment! Dare to say I wont be returning or recommending this property. Such a shame as it’s in a stunning location and with the right staff and management it would be a gold mine.

Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
3  Thank Helen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2018 via mobile

This is a lovely place to stay with very friendly helpful staff. Food was superb and I had the most spectacular fish finger sandwich that far exceeded my expectations. The view from the inn is breath taking. A return visit is booked in August.

Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank mallyclarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews